Grasslands National Park of Canada

Management Plan for Grasslands National Park has been tabled in Parliament

Val Marie, Saskatchewan, June 17, 2010 – The management plan for Grasslands National Park of Canada has been tabled in Parliament. The plan will guide strategic management decisions at the park and will serve as a basis for reporting to the Canadian public on progress in achieving our desired vision for Grasslands National Park.

Building on the success of Grassland National Park's first management plan from 2003 and following consultation with Canadians at the local and regional levels, the 2010 management plan continues to deliver on Parks Canada's mandate – to protect heritage resources, facilitate visitor experiences and educate through public outreach.

Throughout 2008 and 2009, Parks Canada consulted with the park's advisory committee, members of the public and stakeholders to develop the Grasslands National Park management plan. In response to the feedback received, more than twenty objectives and one hundred twenty five actions were identified in the management plan to achieve the park vision, improve and monitor the state of the park and contribute to Parks Canada corporate performance expectations.

Highlights of the new park management plan include Parks Canada's commitment to the following:

  • To improve the basic visitor service offer in both the East and West blocks of Grasslands National Park;
  • To explore new market segments for the park, and their needs and expectations in order to guide development of visitor experience opportunities;
  • To continue ecological restoration and species reintroduction programs in the park and engage Canadians in these programs through education and participation; and
  • To take renewed steps in protecting and presenting the cultural and paleontological heritage of the park in collaboration with partners.

Grasslands National Park, located in southwestern Saskatchewan, is Canada's first national park established to represent the mixed-grass prairie. Only a small portion of this ecosystem remains, making Grasslands National Park and surrounding lands the most significant representation of the Prairie Grasslands Natural Region. The park is one of the few places in Canada where people are able to discover the land and biodiversity of the mixed-grass prairie ecosystem – rich in its natural, cultural and palaeontological heritage.

The Grasslands National Park Management Plan is available on the Parks Canada website.

Information:

Katherine Patterson
Superintendent, South Saskatchewan Field Unit
Parks Canada
(306) 298-2257

Parc national du Canada des Prairies

Plan directeur du parc national du Canada des Prairies déposé au Parlement

Val Marie (Saskatchewan), le 17 juin 2010 – On a déposé le plan directeur du parc national du Canada des Prairies au Parlement. Le plan directeur orientera les décisions stratégiques des gestionnaires et balisera la communication au public canadien des progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre de la vision souhaitée pour le parc.

Grâce au succès du premier plan directeur du parc national du Canada des Prairies de 2003 et à la suite de consultations auprès des Canadiens à l'échelle locale et régionale, le plan directeur de 2010 continue à remplir le mandat de Parcs Canada, soit de protéger les ressources patrimoniales, de faciliter l'expérience du visiteur et de mener une action éducative auprès du public.

Tout au long de 2008 et de 2009, Parcs Canada a consulté le comité consultatif du parc, des membres du public et des parties concernées en vue de dresser le plan directeur du parc national du Canada des Prairies. En réaction aux commentaires reçus, on a cerné plus de vingt objectifs et cent vingt-cinq mesures dans le plan directeur pour réaliser la vision du parc, améliorer et surveiller l'état du parc national des Prairies et appuyer les attentes de Parcs Canada en matière de rendement.

Les éléments essentiels du nouveau plan directeur du parc comprennent l'engagement de la part de Parcs Canada à :

  • améliorer l'offre de base aux visiteurs dans les deux blocs (Est et Ouest) du parc national des Prairies;
  • explorer de nouveaux segments de marché au profit du parc, ainsi que les besoins et attentes de cette clientèle afin d'orienter l'élaboration de possibilités d'expérience pour les visiteurs;
  • poursuivre les programmes de restauration écologique et de réintroduction d'espèces dans le parc et faire participer les Canadiens à ces programmes en les informant et en les incitant à y jouer un rôle; et
  • prendre de nouvelles mesures pour protéger et mettre en valeur le patrimoine culturel et paléontologique du parc en collaboration avec les partenaires.

Situé dans le Sud-Ouest de la Saskatchewan, le parc national des Prairies est le tout premier parc national du Canada créé pour mettre en valeur la prairie mixte. Seule une petite partie de cet écosystème subsiste, ce qui fait du parc national des Prairies et des terres avoisinantes la représentation la plus significative de la région naturelle des Prairies. Le parc national des Prairies est également l'un des rares endroits au Canada qui permet aux gens, de découvrir le paysage et la biodiversité de la prairie mixte, qui constitue un riche patrimoine naturel, culturel et paléontologique.

Vous pouvez consulter le plan directeur du parc national du Canada des Prairies sur le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Renseignements :

Katherine Patterson
Directrice, Unité de gestion du Sud de la Saskatchewan
Parcs Canada
306-298-2257