Grasslands National Park

The Darkest Dark Sky Preserve in Canada

Grasslands National Park of Canada, a protected place of national significance, inspires discovery of its unique prairie species and ecosystems, captivating viewscapes and the amazing adaptations of plants, animals and people to its challenging environment. This vast open landscape holds above it some of the darkest skies in Canada. It is only fitting that during the International Year of Astronomy, the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada has declared Grasslands National Park a Dark Sky Preserve (2009).

The proposed boundary of the park is in two blocks (West Block and East Block) that covers more the 921 square kilometers. Currently, more than 571 square kilometers has been acquired by Parks Canada. Over these are the skies, which – with the support of the surrounding communities and landowners – will form Canada's darkest Dark Sky Preserve.

Dark Sky 
Grasslands National Park is pleased to receive the designation of a Dark Sky Preserve.
 © Patrick McManus

Grasslands National Park of Canada worked in partnership with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada - Saskatoon - Saskatchewan centre for the park’s designation as a Dark Sky Preserve. The Dark Sky preserve designation is awarded by the national office of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. Parks Canada and the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada recognize the importance of Grassland National Park’s rich natural and cultural heritage associated with dark skies. As well, Parks Canada recognizes the importance of regional conservation of the dark sky resource and supports the creation of opportunities for Canadians and international visitors to experience the night skies at their best.

Grasslands National Park will follow best practices for its facilities as outlined in Best Practices and Specifications for Outdoor Lighting at Parks Canada, Real Property and Ecological Integrity Branches, Parks Canada, March 2009. The guidelines are tailored to protect ecosystems, reduce energy consumption and maintain dark skies. Preserving the dark sky will also preserve the billion-year old natural day-night cycle for the flora and fauna of the park, preserving healthy natural hunting, foraging and reproductive behaviors.

Black-Footed Ferret 
Nocturnal animals such as the Black-footed ferret are susceptible to light pollution. 
© Paul Knaga

All wildlife from insects to mammals require both daylight and darkness for normal biological functioning. Natural cycles of light and temperature are required for wildlife to navigate, migrate and even to mate. Native prairie plants are well adapted to natural light cycles. They depend on light cues for germination and normal functioning.

Nocturnal animals are especially susceptible to light pollution. The black-footed ferret is North America’s rarest mammal and is a nocturnal species found in Grasslands National Park. Ferrets require true darkness to hunt at night and bats and birds are sensitive to brighter lights, as they require the stars and moon to navigate at night.

Parc national des Prairies

La plus étoilée des réserves de ciel étoilé du Canada

Le parc national du Canada des Prairies, une aire protégée d’importance nationale, invite les visiteurs à découvrir les espèces, les écosystèmes et les paysages captivants de la prairie ainsi que les moyens d’adaptation fascinants qui permettent aux plantes, aux animaux et aux humains de vivre dans cet environnement hostile. Ce vaste paysage dégagé est dominé par un ciel qui figure parmi les moins touchés par la pollution lumineuse au Canada. Il est donc tout à fait indiqué, à l’occasion de l’Année mondiale de l’astronomie, que la Société royale d'astronomie en ait fait une réserve de ciel étoilé (2009).

Les terres se trouvant à l’intérieur des limites proposées du parc se divisent en deux secteurs (bloc ouest et bloc est) qui couvrent plus de 921 km2. À l’heure actuelle, Parcs Canada est propriétaire de plus de 571 km2 de ce territoire. Avec l’appui des collectivités et des propriétaires fonciers voisins, le ciel se trouvant au-dessus de ces terres formera l’une des réserves de ciel étoilé les plus vastes et les plus intactes du pays.

Ciel Étoilé 
Le parc national du Canada des Prairies est fier de recevoir la désignation de réserve de ciel étoilé.
© Patrick McManus

Parcs Canada a travaillé en partenariat avec la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada, bureau de Saskatoon (Saskatchewan), afin de faire inscrire le parc comme réserve de ciel étoilé. Le statut de réserve de ciel étoilé est conféré par le bureau national de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada. La Société et Parcs Canada reconnaissent la grande valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel associé au ciel étoilé du parc national des Prairies. De plus, Parcs Canada est bien conscient de l’importance de conserver ce ciel étoilé à l’échelle régionale, et il appuie le développement de possibilités offertes aux visiteurs du Canada et de l’étranger désireux de découvrir un ciel nocturne dans toute sa splendeur.

Le parc national des Prairies gérera ses installations en suivant les consignes établies dans les Pratiques exemplaires et spécifications en matière d’éclairage extérieur à Parcs Canada (Direction des biens immobiliers et Direction de l’intégrité écologique, Parcs Canada, mars 2009). Ces lignes directrices sont conçues afin de protéger les écosystèmes, de réduire la consommation d’énergie et de prévenir la pollution lumineuse du ciel étoilé. En préservant le ciel nocturne, le cycle naturel d’alternance du jour et de la nuit sera protégé. Ce cycle régit la flore et la faune du parc depuis des milliards d’années, ainsi que les comportements naturels de chasse, de recherche de nourriture et de reproduction qui contribuent à la santé des espèces sauvages.

Putois d'Amérique 
Les animaux nocturnes, comme le Putois d'Amérique, sont particulièrement sensibles à la pollution lumineuse.
© Paul Knaga

La faune, des insectes aux mammifères, a besoin à la fois de la lumière du jour et de l’obscurité de la nuit pour assurer son fonctionnement biologique normal. Les cycles naturels de la lumière et de la température sont nécessaires pour permettre à la faune de se déplacer, de migrer, voire de s’accoupler. Les plantes indigènes des prairies sont bien adaptées aux cycles de la lumière naturelle. Elles dépendent de la lumière pour germer et évoluer normalement.

Les animaux nocturnes sont particulièrement sensibles à la pollution lumineuse. Le mammifère le plus rare d’Amérique du Nord, le putois d’Amérique, est une espèce nocturne que l’on trouve au parc national du Canada des Prairies. Les furets, ainsi que les chauves-souris et les oiseaux, sont sensibles à l’éclairage trop puissant vu qu’ils ont besoin des étoiles et de la lune pour se déplacer la nuit.