Common menu bar links

Grasslands National Park of Canada

Geology and Paleontology

Events and Activities

Fossil Fever

Got the Fever? Fossil Fever? Dig for a day with McGill University Paleontologists as they retrieve 65.5 million year old fossils in search of the secret to dinosaur demise. An exclusive opportunity to experience paleontology with world renowned palaeontologists.
August 14 – 18, East Block.

Enhanced fees apply, please pre-register at the McGowan Visitor Centre (East Block) Space is limited.

Badlands Blast Weekend

Dig into an extravaganza of fossil fun for all and hop on the wagon to view the badlands! Hear the adventures of the paleontological masters of the past and the present. Enjoy a delicious supper rubbing shoulders with a paleo crew, before kicking up your heels at a Rock Creek hoe down. End the evening relaxing by the embers of the campfire.
August 16 - 4:00pm, East Block.

Special Event Fees apply. Don’t miss Fireside Chats, Stories and S’more on Friday evening and A Walk in the Park on Sunday morning. Register at the McGowan Visitor Centre (East Block).

Contact us at 1-306-476-2018 for more information
Email:
grasslands.info@pc.gc.ca


Geological and Paleontological History

The impressive 70 Mile Butte lightly dusted by snow.  It is one of the highest points in the West Block of Grasslands
The impressive 70 Mile Butte lightly dusted by snow. It is one of the highest points in the West Block of Grasslands.
© Parks Canada / James R. Page, 2001 / 08.81.03.10(65)

The Frenchman River Valley is the canvas upon which the park's West Block is painted. This glacial meltwater channel features deeply dissected plateaux, coulees, and the conspicuous 70 mile Butte which rewards the adventurous with an impressive view.

Nearly barren of vegetation, the Killdeer Badlands expose the subtle colours of their soil layers
Nearly barren of vegetation, the Killdeer Badlands expose the subtle colours of their soil layers.
© Parks Canada / James R. Page, 2001

The park's East Block features the Killdeer "Badlands" of the Rock Creek area and is representative of the Wood Mountain Uplands. The landscape is characterised by the exposed layers of Bearpaw, Eastend, Whitemud, Frenchman and Ravenscrag formations. The Killdeer badlands untouched by glaciation, reveal the multicoloured hues representing 60,000,000 years of eroded strata.

Inoceramus shell fossils from the last intercontinental seaway 70-80 million years ago
Inoceramus shell fossils from the last intercontinental seaway 70-80 million years ago.
© Parks Canada / Colette Schmidt, 2001

This striking geological landscape with hundreds of metres of exposed sedimentary rock has opened a window to the brief interval of geological time representing the extinction of dinosaurs. Indeed, the revealing landscape of the Killdeer Badlands led to the first recorded find of dinosaur remains in Western Canada in 1874, by Sir George Mercer Dawson, a geologist and naturalist to Her Majesty's North American Boundary Commission.

Parc national du Canada des Prairies

Géologie et Paléontologie

Événements et activités

La fièvre des fossiles

Vous avez la fièvre des fossiles? Passez la journée à creuser avec des paléontologues de l’Université McGill : ils déterreront des fossiles datant de 65,5 millions d’années à la recherche du secret de la disparition des dinosaures. Il s’agit d’une occasion exceptionnelle de voir de près la paléontologie aux côtés des paléontologues de renommée internationale.
Du 14 au 18 août, bloc Est.

Un tarif supérieur s’applique. Veuillez vous inscrire au centre d’accueil McGowan (bloc Est); le nombre de places est limité.

Bouffée d'air frais dans les badlands

Creusez dans le fin fond à la recherche de fossiles et faites une balade en charrette pour voir les badlands! Écoutez les récits des aventures des maîtres paléontologues du passé et du présent. Dégustez un repas savoureux entouré d’une équipe de paléontologie avant d’aller faire la fête au camping du Ruisseau-Rock. Terminez la soirée près d’un feu de camp.
Le 16 août, à 16 h, bloc Est.

Des droits pour les activités spéciales sont exigés. Ne manquez pas les causeries près du feu, récits et S’mores le vendredi soir; et une promenade dans le parc le dimanche matin. Inscrivez-vous au centre d’accueil McGowan (bloc Est).

Appelez-nous au 1.306.476.2018 pour plus d’information
Adresse électronique :
grasslands.info@pc.gc.ca


Histoire géologique et paléontologique

L'impressionnante butte 70-Mile légèrement parsemée de neige. Ceci est un des plus hauts points du bloc Ouest des prairies
L’impressionnante butte 70-Mile légèrement parsemée de neige. Ceci est un des plus hauts points du bloc Ouest des prairies.
© Parcs Canada / James R. Page, 2001 / 08.81.03.10(65)

La vallée de la rivière Frenchman est la toile de fond du bloc ouest du parc. L'écoulement des eaux de fusion glaciaire a laissé des plateaux profondément accidentés, des coulées et l'étonnante butte 70-Mile, qui réjouit d'un panorama imprenable les amateurs d'escalade.

Presque dénudés de végétation, les badlands de Killdeer révèlent  les couleurs multiples de leurs couches du sol
Presque dénudés de végétation, les badlands de Killdeer révèlent les couleurs multiples de leurs couches du sol.
© Parcs Canada / James R. Page, 2001

Quant au bloc est du parc, il est dominé par les badlands Killdeer de la région du ruisseau Rock et est représentatif des hautes terres de Wood Mountain. Le paysage est caractérisé par les couches dénudées des formations Bearpaw, Eastend, Whitemud, Frenchman et Ravenscrag. Les badlands Killdeer, qui n'ont pas subi la glaciation, renferment des strates érodées aux couleurs multiples vieilles de 60 000 000 ans.

Des fossiles des coquillages ''inoceramus'' du dernier passage de mer intercontinental datant de 70-80 millions d'années.
Des fossiles des coquillages «inoceramus» du dernier passage de mer intercontinental datant de 70-80 millions d’années.
© Parcs Canada / Colette Schmidt, 2001

Le parc présente un paysage géologique frappant, où des centaines de mètres carrés de roche sédimentaire sont exposés. Il constitue une fenêtre sur la brève période géologique correspondant à l'extinction des dinosaures. En fait, c'est dans ce paysage révélateur des badlands Killdeer que sir George Mercer Dawson, géologue et naturaliste de la North American Boundary Commission de Sa Majesté, a fait en 1874 la première découverte documentée de fossiles de dinosaures dans l"ouest du Canada.