Grasslands National Park

Endangered Species and Spaces

Eastern Yellow-bellied Racer / Couleuvre agile à ventre jaune de l'Est
This is the only place in Canada where Eastern Yellow-bellied Racers can be found in the wild.
© Wayne Lynch

In less than one century the native grasslands have become one of the most endangered biomes in the world. Changes to the prairie due to settlement, brought about the extirpation of the Bison, Prairie Wolf, Plains Grizzly, Elk, Wolverine, Swift Fox, Black-footed Ferrets, Greater Prairie Chicken and the near extinction of the Pronghorn Antelope.

Plains bison / Le bison des plaines
Plains bison graze the prairie grasses.
© Nigel Finney

Grasslands National Park is home to a unique blend of prairie-adapted common and endangered species from the Pronghorn Antelope, Sage Grouse, Burrowing Owl, and Ferruginous Hawk to the Prairie Rattlesnake and Greater Short-horned Lizard. Grasslands and the area immediately around the park are the only places in Canada where Black-tailed Prairie Dogs and Black-footed Ferrets exist in their native habitat.

Greater Short-horned Lizard / Grand iguane à petites cornes
In Canada, the Greater Short-horned Lizard exists in less than 10 scattered locations that are severely fragmented.
© Betsy Rosenwald

The park has a proven track record of effective recovery for species at risk. Parks Canada is a leader in ecological management and restoration. Grasslands has been very successful in developing and delivering prairie conservation actions that are effective, efficient and truly engage Canadians. Through collaborative efforts with partners and stakeholders, Grasslands protects and monitors a fairly complete range of prairie flora and fauna. Here you can find a yellow-bellied blue-racer coiled under the lavender-blue blossoms of slender beardtongue or observe the vulnerable ferruginous hawk swooping over the rare black-tailed prairie dog.

Burrowing Owl / La chevêche des terriers
The endangered Burrowing Owl will use abandoned Prairie Dog burrows for a nest.
© Wendy Michael

More reading:

Parc national des Prairies

Espèces et espaces menacés

Eastern Yellow-bellied Racer / Couleuvre agile à ventre jaune de l'Est
Cet endroit est le seul au Canada où on peut trouver la Couleuvre agile à ventre jaune de l'Est dans son habitat sauvage.
© Wayne Lynch

Dans moins d’un siècle, les prairies indigènes sont devenues parmi les biomes les plus menacés dans le monde. Les changements qui ont touché les Prairies par suite de la colonisation ont entraîné la disparition du bison, du coyote, du grizzly des plaines, du wapiti, du carcajou, du renard véloce, du putois d'Amérique et de la grande poule-des-Prairies; quant à l'antilope d'Amérique, elle était près de l'extinction.

Plains bison / Le bison des plaines
Le bison des plaines broute les herbes de la prairie.
© Nigel Finney

Le parc national des Prairies abrite un mélange exceptionnel d’espèces communes adaptées à la prairie ainsi que des espèces en voie de disparition, dont l’antilocapre, le tétras des armoises, la chevêche des terriers, la buse rouilleuse, la crotale des Prairies et le grand iguane à petites cornes. Le parc des Prairies et la région avoisinante sont les seuls endroits au Canada où le chien de prairie à queue noire et le putois d’Amérique existent encore dans leur habitat d’origine.

Greater Short-horned Lizard / Grand iguane à petites cornes
Au Canada, le Grand iguane à petites cornes est présente dans moins de 10 localités gravement fragmentées.
© Betsy Rosenwald

Le parc a fait ses preuves en matière de rétablissement des espèces en péril. Parcs Canada est un chef de file dans la gestion et la restauration des écosystèmes. De plus, le parc national des Prairies a réussi à développer et à mettre en œuvre des initiatives de conservation concrètes, efficaces qui incitent vraiment les Canadiens à s’engager à protéger la nature. En collaboration avec des partenaires et des intervenants, le parc national des Prairies protège et surveille une gamme complète de faune et de flore dans les prairies. Vous pourrez donc encore surprendre une couleuvre agile à ventre jaune sous les fleurs lavande du penstémon grêle ou apercevoir une buse rouilleuse foncer sur l'un des trop rares chiens de Prairies qui restent.

Burrowing Owl / La chevêche des terriers
La chevêche des terriers, espèce menacée, utilise les terriers abandonnés des chiens de prairie pour se fabriquer un nid.
© Wendy Michael

En apprendre davantage: