Common menu bar links

Grasslands National Park

Introduction

Aven - Benoite
A Three-Flowered Aven is a prairie wildflower that blooms from May to June.
© Parks Canada

Did you know… Grasslands National Park is the only national park in all of Canada to protect the mixed-grass prairie ecosystem?

With over 70 different species of grass and over 50 different species of wildflowers, Grasslands has an important role in protecting the prairie ecosystem! We often hear about problems in the rainforest, but we don’t realize that one of the most endangered ecosystems is right in our backyard – the native prairies! At least 80% of our native prairie has been lost.  In our southwest corner of Saskatchewan, Grasslands National Park contains the most intact and greatest example of the remaining native prairie in Canada.

The grasses are the heart and soul of the prairies and without them, there wouldn’t be a home for such unique animals! This is one place in Canada where you can see the Buffalo roam and the Deer and the Antelope play. Grasslands is home to the Black-footed Ferret – often considered North America’s most endangered mammal! Also, the park is the only place in Canada where you can see Black-tailed Prairie Dogs in the native habitat!

Grasslands National Park also tells the amazing history of the prairie! A story of survival and persistence! Ancient teepee rings and bison drive lanes a just a few remnants of the First Nations people who once called the prairie wilderness home. Old corrals using river willow fenceposts and remnants of early ranching homesteads dot the landscape to remind us of the end of the ‘wild west’ and the transition to settlement.

 

Pronghorn Antelope are the fastest land animal in North America! Pronghorn Antelope are the fastest land animal in North America!
© Parks Canada

The history at Grasslands is a story going back millions of years – to the Dinosaurs! The thousands of fossils found in the park tell us that both land and aquatic dinosaurs once roamed here! The prairie landscape has been a sea, a tropical jungle and has survived the glaciers! And all of these influence what the prairies look like today.

Grasslands is a national park that provides enjoyment and significant for all Canadians. Full of biodiversity, culture and history, Canadians are invited to visit Grasslands National Park and experience one of the last remaining sections of native prairie! Welcome!

 

The Belza Homestead is found in the Frenchman River Valley. The Belza Homestead is found in the Frenchman River Valley.
© Parks Canada

Introduction

Aven - Benoite
La benoîte à trois fleurs est une plante sauvage de la prairie qui fleurit de mai à juin.
© Parcs Canada

Le saviez-vous?… Le parc national du Canada des Prairies est le seul parc national au Canada qui protège l’écosystème de la prairie mixte?

Le parc national des Prairies contient plus de 70 différentes espèces d’herbes et plus de 50 différentes espèces de fleurs sauvages; il joue donc un rôle important dans la protection de l’écosystème de la prairie. On entend souvent parler de problèmes dans la forêt tropicale humide, mais on ne se rend pas compte qu’un des écosystèmes les plus menacés se trouve tout près de chez nous : les prairies indigènes. Au moins 80 % de nos prairies indigènes ont été détruites. Le parc national des Prairies, situé dans la région sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, est le meilleur exemple et l’exemple le plus intact de ce qui reste des prairies indigènes au Canada.

Les herbes sont à la fois le cœur et l’âme des Prairies et sans elles, les animaux uniques qui y habitent n’auraient pas de milieu bien à eux. Cet endroit est un des seuls au Canada où l’on peut observer les bisons, les chevreuils et les antilocapres. Le parc national des Prairies est l’habitat du putois d’Amérique, souvent considéré comme le mammifère le plus menacé d’extinction en Amérique du Nord. De plus, c’est le seul endroit au Canada où l’on peut voir le chien-de-prairie à queue noire dans son habitat naturel.

Le parc national du Canada des Prairies raconte la fascinante histoire de la prairie, une histoire de survie et de persévérance! D’anciens cercles de tipis et des couloirs de rabattage du bison sont quelques-uns des vestiges laissés par les Premières nations qui vivaient autrefois dans ces étendues sauvages. Le paysage parsemé de vieilles clôtures d’enclos fabriquées de saules de rivière nous rappelle la fin de l’époque du Far West et la transition vers l’établissement de colonies.

Pronghorn Antilope - Antilocapre

Au parc national des Prairies, l’histoire remonte à des millions d’années, jusqu’aux dinosaures! La découverte de milliers de fossiles dans le parc révèle que des dinosaures terrestres et aquatiques ont vécu ici! À différentes époques, les prairies ont été recouvertes d’une mer, puis d’une jungle tropicale; elles ont même survécu à la période glaciaire. Tous ces facteurs ont exercé une influence sur le paysage physique des prairies.

Le parc national des Prairies est un lieu d’importance dont tous les Canadiens peuvent profiter. Tous sont invités à visiter ce parc, riche en biodiversité, en culture et en histoire, et à découvrir l’une des dernières sections de la prairie indigène. Bienvenue!

Belza Homestead Belza