Common menu bar links

Grasslands National Park

Black-footed Ferret

Frequently Asked Questions


Two ferrets
The black-footed ferret is the only native ferret known to North America
© Mike Lockhart / US Fish and Wildlife

What is a black-footed ferret?
The black-footed ferret is the only native ferret known to North America and is listed as one of North America's most endangered mammals. They prey almost exclusively upon prairie dogs and inhabit prairie dog burrows. These ferrets
can be identified by their black feet, face mask and tail.

Why did this species become extirpated from Canada?
The Canadian wild population of the black-footed ferret disappeared from Alberta and Saskatchewan in the early 20th century. Researchers are still unsure of the reasons for their dramatic decline but some of the contributing factors for extinction include habitat loss, prairie dog and ground squirrel poisoning, and drought. Many prairie species experience an increased population risk due to being at their most northern edge of their geographic distribution

How did the black-footed ferret begin the process of recovery?
The black-footed ferret was thought to be extinct until a small population was rediscovered in Wyoming in the 1980's. Between 1985 and 1987, 18 ferrets were brought into captivity for the purpose of setting up a captive breeding and reintroduction program to save the species. To date, 7,100 kits (young) have been born in captive-breeding facilities, with the majority being released into the wild at 17 sites in the western United States and one in Mexico.

How many black-footed ferrets are now in the wild?
There are now approximately 700 ferrets (as of fall 2012) in the wild in the USA and Mexico. This figure represents 20% of the numbers required to meet recovery plan goals. On October 2, 2009, there will be 35 ferrets released into Grasslands National Park of Canada. This will be the first of a series of annual releases.

Why is it important to release black-footed ferrets back into the wild prairie within Grasslands National Park (GNP)?
The overall black-footed ferret recovery goal is to re-establish sustainable populations of black-footed ferrets within their historical range. Releases have occurred in the U.S. and Mexico. The Black-footed ferret was once an integral part of the prairie dog habitat present in the West Block of Grasslands National Park. This habitat and the species within it are part of our national heritage. The return of this extirpated species is a source of pride to every Canadian.

Why is Grasslands National Park such a good release site for the black-footed ferrets in Canada?
In addition to offering prairie dog habitat, Grasslands National Park has the potential to be a managed release site. This exploratory re-introduction will involve frequent monitoring to allay threats and bolster the populations when necessary.

What is the current status of black-footed ferrets in Grasslands National Park?
In the fall of 2012, 3 new litters of wild born kits were discovered, as well as confirming a minimum of 12 individual ferrets.  A highlight was the discovery of a Canadian wild born ferret (born 2011), captured with her own litter of wild born kits in 2012! This second generation of wild born ferrets in Canada is another important benchmark in the recovery of the species.  In addition, there are still 3 ferrets from the original 2009 release, surviving and reproducing.  On average, ferrets only live for 3 years in the wild.

What happens after they are released?
After the ferrets are released into GNP and prairie dog towns, the ferrets disperse within their habitat. The population will require intense monitoring until the effects of ferrets on their ecosystem, and their survival rates can be understood. Monitoring will also be conducted to ensure that other species at risk populations are not adversely affected. Recovery of species at risk is a long-term commitment and will require multiple releases and monitoring efforts to ensure the greatest chance of success.

Where will the released ferrets come from?
The ferrets to be released will have been born at the Toronto Zoo and other participating Species Survival Plan (SSP) facilities. The Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) Black-footed Ferret SSP is comprised of six breeding facilities: Toronto Zoo, The National Zoo/Conservation & Research Centre, Louisville Zoo, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Phoenix Zoo, and the U.S. Fish & Wildlife National Black-footed Ferret Conservation Breeding Centre in Fort Collins, Colorado.

How are black-footed ferrets preconditioned for release?
Preconditioning significantly increases the chances for captive born black-footed ferrets to survive in the wild. Captive born ferrets are sent to a special boot camp at the U.S. Fish & Wildlife National Black-footed Ferret Conservation Breeding Centre in Fort Collins, Colorado. Here they are taught how to co-exist with wild ferrets and to hunt prairie dogs.

What organizations and partners are involved in the reintroduction?
The organizations include the Government of Canada through Parks Canada, the Toronto Zoo which is the only captive breeding facility in Canada, the Calgary Zoo which is conducting extensive habitat research, the Black-footed Ferret Recovery Implementation Team, the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation (PFRA) - Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Saskatchewan Environment, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS), the WWF US Northern Great Plains Program, Environment Canada and private stakeholders.

The black-footed ferret is the only native ferret known to North America.
One of North America's most endangered mammals
© Johane Janelle / Parks Canada

Black-footed Ferret Statistics:

Latin Name: Mustela nigripes

Description:

  • Black feet, face mask and tail tip.
  • Yellow-buff coat with a paler underside.
  • Nearly white forehead, muzzle and throat.

Size:

  • 28 - 50 cm in length head and body
  • tail length is 11 - 15 cm

Weight:

  • males are 950 - 1200 g
  • females are 750 - 950 g

Lifespan:

  • two to three years in the wild
  • five to seven years in captivity and sometimes up to 12 years

Reproduction and Development:

  • breeding occurs from late January until early June with higher success rates in March and April
  • gestation period of 42 - 45 days
  • one to seven young are born (average of three to four)
  • baby ferrets (kits) emerge from the burrow in early July
  • they are full grown by September / early October when they separate from their mother
  • males and females are mature at age one year

Adaptations:

  • sharp teeth and strong jaws for hunting prairie dogs
  • primarily nocturnal
  • rely on prairie dogs for their food and prairie dog burrows for their homes
  • have keen sense of smell, sight, and hearing
  • skillful climbers
  • use their sharp, non-retractable claws and powerful jaws for defense
  • males are territorial and secrete musk to mark their territory

Food:

  • Prairie Dogs - approximately 100 prairie dogs per ferret per year or one prairie dog every three days
Prairie Bandits.
Prairie Bandits
© Johane Janelle / Parks Canada

Parc des Prairies

Le putois d'Amérique

Foire aux questions

Deux putois
L'un des mammifères les plus menacés de l'Amérique du Nord
© Mike Lockhart / US Fish and Wildlife

Qu'est-ce que le putois d'Amérique?
Le putois d'Amérique est la seule espèce de putois indigène connue et l'un des mammifères les plus menacés de l'Amérique du Nord. Il se nourrit presque exclusivement de chiens de prairie et vit dans les terriers des chiens de prairie. Les pieds, le masque et la queue qui sont noirs permettent d'identifier le putois d'Amérique.

Pourquoi l'espèce est-elle disparue du Canada?
Les populations sauvages canadiennes de putois d'Amérique sont disparues de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan au début du XXe siècle. Les chercheurs ont encore des doutes quant aux raisons de ce grave déclin, mais certains des facteurs ayant contribué à l'extinction de l'espèce sont la perte d'habitat, l'empoisonnement des spermophiles de Richardson et des chiens de prairie et les sécheresses. Les populations de bon nombre d'espèces des prairies sont exposées à un risque plus grand parce qu'elles occupent la limite septentrionale de leur aire de répartition géographique.

De quelle manière le processus de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique a-t-il commencé?
On pensait que le putois d'Amérique était disparu jusqu'à la découverte, dans les années 1980, d'une petite population au Wyoming. Entre 1985 et 1987, 18 putois d'Amérique sauvages ont été ont été capturés aux fins de la mise en place d'un programme d'élevage et de réintroduction visant à sauver l'espèce. À ce jour 7 100 jeunes putois sont nés, et la plupart d'entre eux ont été relâchés dans la nature à 17 sites dans l'ouest des États-Unis et à un site au Mexique.

Combien de putois d'Amérique vivent actuellement dans la nature?
On estime à environ 700 (à l'automne 2012) le nombre de putois d'Amérique vivant dans la nature aux États-Unis et au Mexique. Cette valeur représente 20 % des effectifs requis pour atteindre les buts du programme de rétablissement de l'espèce. Le 2 octobre 2009, 35 putois d'Amérique seront relâchés dans le parc national du Canada des Prairies. Il s'agira du premier d'une série de lâchers annuels.

Pourquoi est-il important de relâcher des putois d'Amérique dans les prairies sauvages du parc national du Canada des Prairies?
Le but général du programme de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique consiste à rétablir des populations durables de l'espèce dans son aire de répartition historique. Des lâchers de putois ont été effectués aux États-Unis et au Mexique. Dans le secteur ouest du parc national du Canada des Prairies, le putois d'Amérique a déjà fait partie intégrante de l'habitat du chien de prairie. Cet habitat et les espèces qui y vivent font partie du patrimoine national. Le retour du putois d'Amérique, une espèce qui était disparue, constitue une source de fierté pour les Canadiens.

Pourquoi le parc national du Canada des Prairies est-il un site propice aux lâchers de putois d'Amérique au Canada?
En plus de renfermer l'habitat des chiens de prairies, le parc national du Canada des Prairies constitue un site où il est possible de gérer des lâchers. La réintroduction expérimentale de putois d'Amérique fera l'objet de contrôles fréquents pour en atténuer les effets négatifs et stimuler au besoin la croissance de la population par l'ajout de sujets supplémentaires.

Où en est actuellement la population des putois d'Amérique dans le parc national du Canada des Prairies?
On a découvert à l'automne 2012 trois nouvelles portées de petits nés en liberté et on a pu confirmer la présence d'au moins douze furets d'Amérique.  Fait saillant : on a découvert une femelle née au Canada à l'état sauvage (en 2011) qui a eu en 2012 sa propre portée à l'état sauvage également! Cette deuxième génération de furets sauvages au Canada constitue un autre jalon important vers le rétablissement de l'espèce.  En outre, on compte trois furets du premier lâcher de 2009 qui survivent et se reproduisent. En moyenne, le furet à l'état sauvage a une durée de vie de trois ans.

Que se passe-t-il après le lâcher des putois d'Amérique?
Après le lâcher des putois d'Amérique dans le parc national du Canada des Prairies et dans les colonies de chiens de prairie, les putois se dispersent dans l'habitat. La population de putois devra faire l'objet d'une surveillance intense jusqu'à ce que l'on connaisse les effets des putois sur l'écosystème ainsi que le taux de survie de l'espèce. La surveillance servira aussi à faire en sorte que les populations des autres espèces en péril n'en souffrent pas. Le rétablissement des espèces en péril constituant un engagement à long terme, il nécessitera de nombreux lâchers ainsi que des efforts en matière de surveillance pour en garantir les meilleures chances de succès.

D'où proviennent les putois d'Amérique qui seront relâchés?
Les putois d'Amérique qui seront relâchés sont nés au Zoo de Toronto et dans d'autres établissements participant au Black-footed Ferret Species Survival Plan (SSP) de l'Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), notamment les six établissements d'élevage suivants : le Zoo de Toronto, le National Zoo Conservation and Research Center, le Zoo de Louisville, le Zoo Cheyenne Mountain, le Zoo de Phoenix et le National Black-footed Ferret Conservation Breeding Centre du Fish and Wildlife Service des États-Unis, à Fort Collins (Colorado).

Comment sont acclimatés les putois d'Amérique en vue des lâchers?
L'acclimatation accroît considérablement les chances de survie à l'état sauvage des furets d'Amérique nés en captivité. Les putois d'Amérique nés en captivité sont envoyés dans le camp d'adaptation spécial du National Black-footed Ferret Conservation Breeding Centre du Fish and Wildlife Service des États-Unis, à Fort Collins (Colorado). Dans ce camp, ils apprennent à coexister avec des putois d'Amérique sauvages et à chasser les chiens de prairie.

Quels sont les organisations et les partenaires qui participent à la réintroduction des putois d'Amérique?
Les organisations suivantes participent à la réintroduction de l'espèce : le Gouvernement du Canada, par l'entremise de Parcs Canada, le Zoo de Toronto, qui est l'unique établissement d'élevage en captivité de putois d'Amérique au Canada, le Zoo de Calgary, qui mène une étude détaillée sur l'habitat de l'espèce, la Black-footed Ferret Recovery Implementation Team, le rétablissement agricole des Prairies - Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, le Ministère de l'Environnement de la Saskatchewan, le Fish and Wildlife Service des États-Unis (USFWS), le WWF US Northern Great Plains Program, Environnement Canada et des intervenants du secteur privé.

Un putois d'Amèrique
L'un des mammifères les plus menacés de l'Amérique du Nord
© Johane Janelle / Parks Canada

Données sur le putois d'Amérique

Nom latin : Mustela nigripes

Description :

  • Pieds, masque et extrémité de la queue noirs.
  • Fourrure jaune et ventre plus pâle.
  • Front, museau et gorge presque blanc.

Taille :

  • Longueur incluant la tête, de 28 cm à 50 cm.
  • Longueur de la queue, de 11 cm à 15 cm.

Poids :

  • Les mâles pèsent de 950 g à 1 200 g.
  • Les femelles pèsent de 750 g à 950 g.

Longévité :

  • Dans la nature, de deux à trois ans.
  • En captivité, de cinq à sept ans, et parfois jusqu'à 12 ans.

Reproduction et développement :

  • La période de reproduction s'étend de la fin de janvier jusqu'au début de juin, le succès de reproduction le plus élevé correspondant aux mois de mars et d'avril.
  • La période de gestation est de 42 jours à 45 jours.
  • La femelle met au monde de un à sept jeunes (en moyenne, trois ou quatre).
  • Les jeunes putois sortent du terrier au début de juillet.
  • Ils atteignent le stade adulte en septembre ou au début d'octobre et quittent alors leur mère.
  • Les mâles et les femelles deviennent matures à l'âge d'un an.

Adaptations :

  • Dents acérées et fortes mâchoires pour chasser les chiens de prairie.
  • Surtout nocturne.
  • Les chiens de prairie sont la nourriture des putois d'Amérique, et les putois d'Amérique vivent dans les terriers des chiens de prairie.
  • Odorat, vue et ouïe très développés.
  • Habile grimpeur.
  • Utilise ses griffes acérées et non rétractables ainsi que ses puissantes mâchoires pour se défendre.
  • Le mâle est territorial et sécrète du musc pour marquer son territoire.

Nourriture :

  • Chiens de prairie - environ 100 chiens de prairie par putois d'Amérique par année ou un chien de prairie tous les trois jours.
Un putois d'Amèrique
Bandits des prairies
© Johane Janelle / Parcs Canada