Grasslands National Park

Camping

Grasslands National Park offers a range of camping experiences.

The Frenchman Valley Campground (West Block) features 20 tent/RV campsites (including 4 electrical, 3 pull through, and 1 wheelchair accessible site) plus three walk-in tipi style accommodations. The 20 RV/tent sites are equipped with fire pits, lantern hangers and picnic tables as well as access to potable water and vault toilets. The new campground includes a cook shelter that will be a central location for park programs as well as emergency cover during inclement weather.

Campsites are available on a first-come, first serve basis and operate by Self Registration. Teepee camping is available by reservation only. Please contact the Visitor Reception Centre for information.

Horse camping is available South of the Belza day use site, and the Rock Creek Campground. Site Includes: Information kiosk, horse pens, outhouse, water trough and manure receptacle.

The Rock Creek Campground is located near the east entrance of the East Block. It includes a beautiful kitchen shelter and bridge, designated RV/tent campsites, picnic tables and a vault toilet. One walk-in teepee accommodation is also available. Check-out the newly available on-site visitor reception for up-to-date visitor information and guided programs.

Back Country Camping is a wilderness camping experience, where campers can randomly set-up tents within the park and enjoy the native prairie landscape with no services. Visitors are expected to park their vehicle on a gravel pull-off and set-up camp out of view – approximately 1km off- road or away from former ranch sites.

Camping Camping is an excellent way to experience the prairie – whether backcountry or with a family!
© Parks Canada / Colin Schmidt

Camping Guidelines:

  • Please Register! - Stop in at the GNP Visitor Centre in Val Marie for camping permits, suggested hiking routes, camping locations and current park information. Visitors may also register for camping at the Rodeo Ranch Museum in the Wood Mountain Regional Park (summer only). There is a self – registering process for camping at Frenchman Valley Campground, McGowans and an after hours registration process at the Visitor Centre in Val Marie.

  • Vehicles must remain on roads, designated pull-offs and trails in front country areas at all times. Please respect our ranch neighbours and stay on park property.

  • Please keep pets on a leash and stay a safe distance from wildlife.

  • There is no potable water in the East Block of the park, so bring your own water supply (2+ litres per 12 hr day). Water containers can be filled at the Visitor Centre in Val Marie, or at the Rodeo Ranch Museum in the Wood Mountain Regional Park (summer only).

  • To ensure no-trace of your presence, pack out everything that was packed in.

  • Open fires are only allowed at the Frenchman Valley Campground. The use of portable cook stoves is permitted for all camping experiences. Fires and cooking stovesmay be restricted during high fire season.

  • Weather Updates - During periods of extreme dry conditions, fire bans will be posted. During periods of wet weather, be cautious as roads may become impassable when wet! Check with staff for current weather conditions.

  • Full service campgrounds are available in the Village of Val Marie and the Wood Mountain Regional Park. Both are equipped with picnic tables, electrical sites, washroom/shower house, and B-B-Q pits. The Wood Mountain Campground also provides a swimming pool and concession booth. A private campground, The Crossing Resort located south of Val Marie, bordering the West Block, provides tent and RV camping sites and suites. For more information on campgrounds, please check out Saskatchewan Accommodation, Resort & Campground Guide.

Fees:
Back Country Camping: $9.80/person/night OR $15.70/unit /night for two or more people.

Front Country Camping: $15.70/RV or tent

Teepee Camping: $45.00/night or $55.00 with equipment rental.

Organized Groups: $4.90/person

* We are in a transition stage with developing camping in GNP, so our fees are evolving.

Parc national des Prairies

Camping

Au parc national des Prairies, il y a plusieurs expériences de camping.

Le terrain de camping Vallée-de-la-Frenchman (Bloc ouest) a 20 emplacements pour les tentes and les roulottes (4 électriques, Une accessible en fauteuil, trois tirer aux sites) plus 3 sites des teepees accessible par pied. Les 20 sites pour les tentes et les roulottes sont équipé avec les cintres pour les lanternes, les tables de picniques et l’accès à l’eau potable et les toilettes. Ce terrain de camping comprend un edifice utiliser pour cuisiner, les programmes d’interprétation et un abri pour les temps mauvais.

Tous les emplacements (sauf les teepees) sont offerts selon la formule du premier arrivé, premier servi et fonctionnent par l'auto-enregistrement. Le camping dans les teepees sont disponibles par reservation seulment. S’il vous plaît, téléphonez au centre d’accueil pour de plus amples renseignements.

Le camping de cheval est disponible Terrain de camping Ruisseau-Rock et Sud de Belza le site d'usage de jour.

Le terrain de camping Ruisseau-Rock est située près de l'entrée est du Bloc est. Il y a un beau abri et pont, les emplacements pour les tentes et les roulottes, une toilette sèche, et les tables à pique-nique. Un teepee accessible par pied est aussi disponible. Vous êtes bienvenue de visiter le nouveau centre d’accueil pour de plus amples renseignements et les visites guidées.

Le camping dans l'arrière-pays se pratique dans la nature sauvage. Les campeurs plantent leur tente où bon leur semble dans le parc et profitent à leur aise du paysage de prairies naturelles, mais ils n'ont accès à aucun service. Les campeurs doivent garer leur véhicule dans une voie d'arrêt en gravier et monter leur tente à l'écart, à environ un kilomètre de la route et à bonne distance des emplacements des anciens ranchs.

Camping Le camping, que ce soit dans l’arrière-pays ou en famille, est une excellente façon de découvrir la prairie!
© Parcs Canada / Colin Schmidt

Lignes directrices concernant le camping

  • Veuillez vous inscrire! Arrêtez au centre d'accueil du parc à Val Marie. Vous pourrez y obtenir votre permis de camping et toutes sortes de renseignements sur le parc; on pourra notamment vous suggérer des sentiers de randonnée pédestre et des emplacements de camping. Vous pouvez aussi vous inscrire pour le camping au centre d’accueil à Val Marie, au Terrain de camping Vallée-de-la-Frenchman et au musée Rodeo Ranch, dans le parc régional de Wood Mountain (l'été seulement).

  • Les véhicules doivent être utilisés exclusivement sur les routes, les voies d'arrêt et les chemins désignés dans l'avant-pays. Respectez nos voisins des ranchs et restez dans les limites du parc.

  • Gardez votre animal de compagnie en laisse et tenez-vous loin des animaux sauvages.

  • Il n'y a pas d'eau potable dans le bloc est du parc. Vous devez donc apporter l'eau dont vous aurez besoin (au moins deux litres par période de douze heures). Les récipients peuvent être remplis au centre d'accueil, à Val Marie, ou au musée Rodeo Ranch, dans le parc régional de Wood Mountain (l'été seulement).

  • Ne laissez pas de traces de votre séjour : ne laissez rien derrière vous.

  • Les feux en plein air sont permis seulement au terrain de camping Vallée-de-la-Frenchman. Il est permis d'utiliser des réchauds portatifs, mais des restrictions peuvent être imposées à cet égard durant la période de l'année où l'activité des feux est élevée.

  • Renseignements sur l'évolution de la météo – Durant les périodes d'extrême sécheresse, des avis d'interdiction de feu seront affichés. Par temps pluvieux, les chemins détrempés peuvent devenir impraticables. Soyez donc prudent et informez-vous des conditions météorologiques auprès de notre personnel.

  • Il y a des campings offrant tous les services dans le village de Val Marie et dans le parc régional de Wood Mountain. Dans l'un et l'autre, des tables de pique-nique, des emplacements équipés de prises d'électricité, des toilettes et des douches ainsi que des foyers sont à la disposition des campeurs. Le camping de Wood Mountain offre en outre une piscine et une concession alimentaire. Des emplacements pour les tentes et les véhicules de plaisance sont aussi offerts dans un camping privé situé au sud de Val Marie, The Crossing Resort, sur un terrain longeant le Bloc ouest. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les terrains de camping dans le Saskatchewan Accommodation, Resort & Campground Guide.

Tarifs
Camping dans l'arrière-pays : 9,80$/personne/jour ou 15,70 $/unité/jour pour deux personnes ou plus.

Camping dans l'avant-pays : 15,70$ par véhicule récréatif ou par tente.

Camping dans l'avant-pays ou l'arrière-pays – groupes organisés – 4,90 $ par personne.

Le camping de teepee: 45,00$ par nuit ou 55,00$ avec l’équipement

* Comme le parc est en croissance et que peu de services y sont offerts pour le moment, les tarifs pour le camping dans l'arrière-pays et l'avant-pays sont les mêmes.