Common menu bar links

Grasslands National Park of Canada

Hiking

Experience the rare opportunity of walking a timeless, prairie landscape. Select a trail experience that’s right for you. Contact the park for information on a range of hiking opportunities from leisurely strolls to awesome backcountry experiences.

Front Country Hiking

Front Country Trails are either built paths or marked routes. These trails usually begin at a day use or campground area and are easily accessible to visitors.

Hikers
A wilderness hiking experience for the free-spirited hiker!
© Greg Huszar / Tourism Saskatchewan

Back Country Hiking

A wilderness hiking experience for the free-spirited hiker! Hikers randomly explore and enjoy the native prairie landscape without the constraints of trails, markers or limits! Remember to bring your GPS, map and compass!

Hiking Guide

The Friends of the Grasslands – Prairie Wind and Silver Sage have developed a field guide for the park. The hiking section consists of eight suggested, unmarked hiking routes. The field guide contains narrative, interpretive text, colour topographical maps and landscapes illustrations.

Friends of the Grasslands – Prairie Wind and Silver Sage

Parc national du Canada des Prairies

Randonnée pédestre

Saisissez l’occasion exceptionnelle de découvrir le paysage intemporel de la prairie indigène. Vous n’avez qu’à choisir un sentier qui vous convienne. Communiquez avec le personnel du parc pour connaître les différentes possibilités de randonnée : des promenades agréables aux excursions extraordinaires dans l’arrière-pays. 

Sentiers de l'avant-pays

Les sentiers de l’avant-pays sont des sentiers aménagés ou des parcours balisés. Ces sentiers débutent souvent aux aires de fréquentation diurne ou aux terrains de camping et sont facilement accessibles aux visiteurs.

Les randonneurs
Deux randonneurs au sommet d’une butte éloignée qui surplombe la Vallée de la Frenchman.
© Greg Huszar / Tourism Saskatchewan

Randonnée dans l’arrière-pays

Une expérience de randonnée dans la nature sauvage pour les randonneurs qui ont l’esprit d’aventure! Les randonneurs peuvent explorer la prairie indigène à leur gré, sans les contraintes liées aux sentiers, aux balises et aux limites! N’oubliez pas d’apporter un appareil GPS, une carte et une boussole!

Guide de randonnée

L’association Friends of the Grasslands – Prairie Wind and Silver Sage a élaboré un guide de randonnée pour le parc. Cela suggère des trajets non balisés avec des narratifs, textes interprétatifs, cartes topographiques en couleur et dessins du paysage. Arrêtez au centre d’accueil pour emprunter le guide de randonnée.