Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Observe and Sail Without Disturbing

This code of ethics proposes a whole set of behaviours that take into account the existing regulations, seabird ecology, and the regional reality in order to harmonize seabird observation in the Mingan Archipelago.
The objectives of the code of ethics are to limit the risk of seabird disturbance related with the observation and boating in the Mingan Archipelago, as well as to promote appropriate behaviours for the preservation of seabird populations.

Herring gull nesting in low vegetation
Herring gull nesting in low vegetation
© Parks Canada / É. Le Bel /
L 30 04 92

Disturbance Effects
Suggested Behaviours
Regulation
Your Role

Disturbance Effects

Although the seabird populations of the Mingan Archipelago are in good health, they are still exposed to several threats, such as poaching, oil spills, etc. The disturbance of seabird colonies from bird watching and boating activities represents an additional stress on which we can all act.
According to their nature, bird watching and boating activities can disturb seabirds on their breeding, rearing, and feeding grounds. This type of disturbance can have, in all likelihood, adverse effects on their survival.
The direct impacts of human disturbances can be detected by the observer and are often seen through alarm calls, panic responses, flight, or sometimes by the temporary desertion of the colony.
Although less apparent, the indirect consequences can manifest themselves through nest and chick abandonment, predation on the eggs and chicks, bird exhaustion, and can ultimately lead to site abandonment and decline in the population.
The studies completed in the Mingan Archipelago have shown that the disturbance of Common Eider crèches (a group of ducklings accompanied by females) by boats often leads to predation on ducklings by gulls. Observations made on the Atlantic Puffin show that disturbances from several boats near colonies result in their prolonged desertation.

Suggested Behaviours

To limit the risk of disturbing seabirds, the following behaviours are recommanded.

On Open Waters

  • Avoid chasing or circling the birds.
  • Reduce speeds while approaching a group of birds.
  • Avoid abrupt changes in speed and direction.
  • Move away from Common Eider duck crèches, they are particularly sensitive to disturbances.

On Waters Within 200 meters of a Colony

  • Approach and leave the colony area quietly.
  • Make an oblique or parallel approach to the colony.
  • Avoid abrupt changes in speed and direction.
  • Reduce boat speed to 5 knots.
  • Decrease the level of noise emitted by the boat and its occupants.
  • Maintain a safe distance so that birds do not seem to be disturbed (signs of nervousness, panic, flight, etc.)
  • Reduce useless visiting time and avoid anchoring near colonies.

On the Islands

  • Respect and watch for nesting areas identified by posted signs.
  • Stay away from incubating birds.

Regulation

The National Parks Act and the Wildlife Regulations prohibit hunting, disturbing, and the destruction of the bird fauna and their nests inside the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve. Furthermore, certain islands or island sectors are closed off to the public from May 1 to August 31 to ensure the reproduction success of seabirds (see the principal regulations ).
The Migratory Birds Convention Act applies to Canada and the United States. It prohibits, unless you have a permit and respect all of the conditions stated, to pursue or harass migratory birds. In Betchouane and Watshishou sanctuaries, it is also prohibited to practice activities harmful to birds.

Your Role

You can play a crucial role in the conservation and development of seabirds in the Mingan region. To do so, observe the code of ethics, inform other navigators, and respect the existing regulation.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan

Observer et naviguer sans déranger

Le code d'éthique propose un ensemble de comportements pour harmoniser l'observation des oiseaux marins dans l'archipel de Mingan en considérant la réglementation existante, l'écologie des oiseaux de mer et la réalité régionale.

Le code d'éthique a comme objectifs de limiter les risques de dérangement des oiseaux marins liés aux activités d'observation et de navigation dans l'archipel de Mingan et de promouvoir des comportements qui ne nuisent pas aux populations d'oiseaux marins.

Goéland argenté nichant dans la végétation basse
Goéland argenté nichant dans la végétation basse
© Parcs Canada / É. Le Bel / L 30 04 92

Effet du dérangement
Comportements à adopter
Réglementation
Votre rôle

Effet du dérangement

Bien que les populations d'oiseaux marins de l'archipel de Mingan soient en bonne santé, elles demeurent exposées à plusieurs pressions tels le braconnage, les déversements de contaminants, etc. Le dérangement des colonies d'oiseaux marins lié aux activités d'observation et de navigation est une menace supplémentaire sur laquelle nous pouvons tous agir.
Les activités d'observation et de navigation peuvent, selon leur nature, déranger les oiseaux marins dans leur aire de reproduction, d'élevage et d'alimentation. Le dérangement risque d'entraîner des effets néfastes à leur survie.
Les effets directs du dérangement humain peuvent être détectés par l'observateur et se traduisent souvent par des comportements d'alerte, de panique, par l'envol des oiseaux ou parfois la désertion temporaire de la colonie.
Les effets indirects sont moins apparents, mais peuvent se manifester par l'abandon ou la séparation des couvées, par la prédation des œufs ou des jeunes, par l'épuisement des oiseaux et peuvent aussi conduire à la diminution des populations ou à l'abandon des colonies.
Des études réalisées dans l'archipel de Mingan ont notamment démontré que le dérangement des crèches d'Eider à duvet (regroupement d'oisillons accompagnés de femelles) par des embarcations conduit fréquemment à la prédation de canetons par les goélands. Des observations faites chez le Macareux moine indiquent que les dérangements impliquant plusieurs embarcations près des colonies provoquent la désertion.

Comportements à adopter

Les comportements suivants sont suggérés pour limiter les risques de déranger les oiseaux marins

En eaux libres

  • évitez de poursuivre ou d'encercler les oiseaux;
  • réduisez la vitesse à l'approche de groupes d'oiseaux;
  • évitez les changements brusques de vitesse et de direction;
  • écartez-vous des crèches de canards eiders, elles sont particulièrement sensibles au dérangement.

Sur l'eau à moins de 200 mètres d'une colonie

  • approchez-vous et éloignez-vous en douceur de la colonie;
  • faites une approche oblique ou parallèle à la colonie;
  • évitez les changements brusques de vitesse et de direction;
  • réduisez la vitesse de l'embarcation à 5 nœuds;
  • diminuez le niveau de bruit émis par l'embarcation et ses occupants;
  • maintenez une distance telle que les oiseaux ne semblent pas être dérangés (signe de nervosité, de panique, ou d'envol, etc.);
  • réduisez le temps de fréquentation inutile et évitez d'ancrer une embarcation près d'une colonie.

Sur les îles

  • respectez et surveillez les zones de nidification identifiées par les panneaux de signalisation;
  • Éloignez-vous des oiseaux qui couvent leurs œufs.

Réglementation

La Loi sur les parcs nationaux et son règlement sur la faune interdisent la chasse, le dérangement et la destruction de la faune avienne et de leurs nids à l'intérieur de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan. De plus, certaines îles ou secteurs d'îles sont fermés au public du 1er mai au 31 août pour assurer le succès de la reproduction des oiseaux marins (voir les principaux règlements ).
La Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs s'applique au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle interdit, à moins d'être titulaire d'un permis et d'en observer toutes les conditions, de poursuivre ou de harceler les oiseaux migrateurs. Dans les refuges de Betchouane et de Watshishou il est également interdit de pratiquer des activités nuisibles à ceux-ci.

Votre rôle

Vous pouvez jouer un rôle primordial pour la conservation et la mise en valeur des oiseaux marins de la Minganie. Pour ce faire, respectez le code d'éthique, sensibilisez les navigateurs que vous fréquentez et conformez-vous à la réglementation.