Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Unimpaired for Future Generations

Mosaic comprising three photographs: Atlantic puffin, Drummond's mountain avens and a monolith
© Parks Canada / É. Le Bel

The national parks of Canada were created to protect and ensure the survival in perpetuity of certain nationally-significant areas of our natural heritage.

Most people think of the national parks as refuges which nothing can alter. For many, the simple fact of bestowing the attribute of "park" upon a territory guarantees the maintenance and conservation of its natural resources forever. However, appearances can be deceiving.

Few people are aware that behind the great natural beauty of many national parks, there lie sometimes grave environmental issues.

Though conservation of the environment has always been at the core of the parks' mandate, Parks Canada goes further still and today demands the maintenance and restoration of the ecological integrity of its territories.

The State of the Parks 1997 Report surmised that the national parks are under threat from stresses originating both inside and outside the parks. The report proceeded to name nearly all of the national parks as being seriously threatened (of the 38 parks in the national network at the time, only one was considered to be still in a natural state). We can conclude that, unless we act immediately, the deterioration will only worsen with each passing day.

Ecological Integrity

The term "ecological integrity" is new enough that it can appear somewhat vague. However, its meaning can be made clear by analysing its component parts. The term contains the word "ecology", which can be defined as "the study of environments where organisms live and reproduce, as well as their relation to these environments". The word "integrity" in turn means "whole" or "intact".

Simply stated, ecological integrity means that the native organisms (fauna, flora, etc.) and processes (growth, reproduction, decomposition, etc.) of a given environment must be in an intact state, and must be able to continue to develop and evolve naturally. In other words, an environment is deemed "ecologically intact" when Nature's evolution can proceed unimpaired.

But can we depend on the ecological integrity of our national parks? Human activity is now so dominant that most of the planet's ecosystems are groaning under the weight of myriad stresses. Pollution, climate change, the loss of habitats in the wake of urban and industrial development, the use of agricultural pesticides - these are but a few of the stresses which the environment has to assume.

Add to these the threats coming from within the parks themselves, such as expanding tourism, infrastructural over-development or the introduction of exotic species, and you have before you the sobering reality of the state of many Canadian parks today.

For too long, the national parks have been managed in isolation without taking into account the effects of surrounding territories. The lands bordering the parks exercise considerable influence on the natural equilibrium of the parks' ecosystems. This is why we must work hand-in-glove with those responsible for the management of adjacent lands, to be able to consider re-establishing and protecting the ecological integrity of our national parks.

We must fight to rectify all of these stress factors, internal as well as external, which have contributed to the decline of the national parks of Canada. If we continue the way we have been going, we stand to forever lose territories which, paradoxically, have always been seen as being protected. Only swift and decisive action will guarantee future generations the gift of these exceptional territories, still INTACT.

The Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

All of Canada's national parks, large or small, are facing environmental realities. The State of the Parks 1997 Report conceded a "minor" level of degradation to the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada, where many of the properties of the ecosystem are still intact. The park possesses its complete range of indigenous species, and its territory remains relatively undeveloped.

All the same, given the fragility of its resources, the park must stay vigilant in order to maintain and, if possible, improve the level of its territory's ecological integrity.

The park is an integral part of an extended ecosystem which goes far beyond the archipelago. The islands are closely linked to the surrounding marine world (the Gulf of St. Lawrence) and continent (the coast). Changes observed in either one of these milieus often have a direct impact on the islands' ecosystems.

Climate change, management of adjoining lands, the impact of tourism and recreational activities, exploitation of the natural resources, commercial fishing, maritime transport, the introduction of non-native species: these are some of the stress factors to which the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada is subject.

Thus, even with "minimal" degradation, it is important to continue to increase our knowledge of our environmental resources in order to make enlightened decisions on how to protect and re-establish the park's ecological integrity. The stress factors are real, even though they might not be immediately visible. Nature is capable of adapting to many changes, but not for an indefinite period.

We need not look backward with regret; instead, we must look to the future. The importance of these special places must be communicated to the population, and the necessity of their protection made clear. The more Canadians know about the stresses which threaten our national parks, the more they will support the conservation of ecological integrity .

Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de- Mingan

Intacts pour les générations futures

Mosaïque composée de trois photos : un Macareux moine, une dryade de Drummond et un monolithe
© Parcs Canada / É. Le Bel

Les parcs nationaux du Canada ont été créés pour protéger à perpétuité certaines des aires naturelles les plus caractéristiques du pays et en assurer la sauvegarde.

La plupart des gens considèrent que les parcs nationaux constituent des refuges que rien ne peut altérer. En effet, pour beaucoup, le simple fait d'attribuer à un territoire la désignation de « parc » lui garantit à jamais le maintien et la conservation de toutes ses richesses naturelles. Or, les apparences sont souvent trompeuses.

Peu de gens savent que derrière la très grande beauté naturelle et sauvage de nombreux parcs nationaux, se cachent, parfois, de graves problèmes environnementaux.

Bien que les parcs aient toujours eu comme préoccupation première la « conservation » du milieu, Parcs Canada va encore plus loin et exige aujourd'hui le maintien et la restauration de l'intégrité écologique de ses territoires.

Le Rapport sur l'état des parcs nationaux canadiens de 1997 décrit la situation des parcs comme menacée par des stress venant tant de l'intérieur que de l'extérieur des parcs. Le rapport a même relevé d'importantes menaces dans presque tous les parcs nationaux (des 38 parcs compris dans le réseau canadien à ce moment-là, un seul était considéré comme étant dans un état vierge). On en est venu à la conclusion qu'à moins d'agir dès maintenant, la dégradation s'accentuera toujours un peu plus chaque jour.

L'intégrité écologique

Le terme « intégrité écologique » est assez nouveau et peut sembler à prime abord un peu vague. Cependant, si nous décortiquons cette expression, on reconnaît le mot « écologie » qui est l'étude des milieux où vivent et se reproduisent des êtres vivants ainsi que leurs relations avec le milieu. Le mot intégrité signifie pour sa part « en entier » ou « intact ».

Simplement, l'intégrité écologique pourrait vouloir dire que dans un milieu, les êtres vivants (faune, flore, etc.) et leur processus (croissance, reproduction, prédation, décomposition, cycle de l'eau, etc.) devraient être intacts. En d'autres mots, on doit comprendre qu'un milieu est « écologiquement intègre » lorsqu'il se développe et évolue de façon naturelle. La nature devrait pouvoir évoluer librement comme elle l'a toujours fait.

Mais est-ce possible de croire à l'intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux? L'activité humaine est tellement dominante que la plupart des écosystèmes de la planète ploient sous une myriade de stress. La pollution, les changements climatiques, la perte d'habitats pour le développement urbain et industriel, l'emploi des pesticides en agriculture ne sont que quelques exemples de stress que subit l'environnement.

Rajoutez à cela des menaces provenant de l'intérieur des limites d'un parc comme par exemple l'achalandage touristique, le sur-développement d'infrastructures ou encore l'introduction d'espèces étrangères, et vous dressez un tableau assez réaliste de l'état actuel de bien des parcs canadiens.

Trop longtemps les parcs nationaux ont été gérés en vase clos sans tenir compte de l'influence des territoires qui les entourent. Les terres adjacentes en périphérie ont une grande influence sur l'équilibre naturel des systèmes écologiques des parcs. C'est pourquoi nous devons travailler main dans la main avec les autorités responsables de la gestion des territoires adjacents pour pouvoir un jour penser protéger et rétablir l'intégrité écologique de nos parcs nationaux.

Nous devons lutter et remédier à tous ces facteurs, tant internes qu'externes, qui contribuent au déclin des parcs nationaux du Canada. Si nous persistons dans la voie suivie jusqu'à maintenant, nous risquons de perdre à tout jamais des territoires qui, paradoxalement, étaient au départ considérés comme protégés. Seules des actions concrètes et rapides pourront garantir aux générations futures des territoires exceptionnels et INTACTS.

La réserve de parc national de l'Archipel-de-Mingan

Tous les parcs nationaux du Canada, grands ou petits, font face aux réalités environnementales. Le Rapport sur l'état des parcs de 1997 octroyait à la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan un niveau de dégradation « mineure ». En effet, plusieurs propriétés des écosystèmes de la réserve sont intactes. Le parc possède un éventail complet d'espèces indigènes et son territoire demeure relativement peu aménagé.

Cependant, en raison de la fragilité de ses ressources, le parc se doit de demeurer vigilant afin de maintenir et, si possible, d'améliorer le niveau d'intégrité écologique de son territoire.

Le parc fait partie intégrante d'un « grand écosystème » qui déborde des seules frontières des îles. En effet, les îles sont étroitement liées au monde marin (le Golfe Saint-Laurent) et au continent (la côte) qui les entourent. Des changements observés dans l'un au l'autre de ces milieux, ont souvent un impact direct sur les écosystèmes des îles.

Les changements climatiques, la gestion des terres adjacentes, l'impact des activités récréatives et touristiques, le prélèvement des ressources naturelles, la pêche commerciale, le transport maritime, l'introduction d'espèces étrangères sont autant de facteurs de stress que subit, ou qu'est susceptible de subir, la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan.

Ainsi, même avec un niveau mineur de dégradation il est important de continuer d'élargir nos connaissances sur les ressources du milieu afin de prendre des décisions éclairées sur les façons de protéger et de rétablir l'intégrité écologique du parc. Les stress sont réels, même s'il ne sont pas toujours visibles et immédiats. La nature est capable d'absorber bien des changements, mais non indéfiniment.

Il est inutile de s'apitoyer sur le passé; nous devons nous tourner vers l'avenir. Nous devons faire connaître l'importance de ces lieux à la population et faire comprendre pourquoi il est nécessaire de les protéger. Plus les Canadiens prendront connaissance des stress qui menacent nos parcs, plus ils appuieront la conservation de l'intégrité écologique .

Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada