Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Study Results

Inventory of Introduced Plants

In the present study, an introduced plant is defined as follows:

Any plant not belonging to the park's indigenous flora which has been brought to the territory in the recorded past.

An inventory of introduced plants in the park was carried out in 1996 and 1997 by Francis Roy. He inspected the shoreline on 14 islands, a total distance of about 150 km. Among other specifications, the data collected included the species, number of individual plants, surface area occupied, habitat, phenology and height of the plants. The colonies' location was indicated on maps.

Previous studies had listed 40 species of introduced plants in the archipelago. The 1996-97 inventory observed 32 of these 40 species, but recorded an additional 5 previously-unlisted species. Combining the results of different studies, we can say that 45 introduced species have been observed in the park to date.

Plants introduced into the park are mainly found near past and present sites of human occupation (campsites, lighthouses, etc.), as well as on the shoreline, which is essentially the park's entry point. Principal carriers of introduced species are human movement, maritime transport (water, boats, debris), livestock feed imported to the islands before the park's creation, and fauna in general.

There are three main concerns regarding plants of interest:

Purple Loosestrife
Purple Loosestrife
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau
Presence of the Purple Loosestrife

This invasive species was found in one sole location in the park in 1997, with the presence of a dozen or so individuals over an area of 1.5 m being noted. As of 1998, we proceeded to eliminate the species. However, the site is visited annually to ensure that the species does not reappear.

Competition with plants of interest

For the moment, there are no plants of interest that appear to be threatened by the presence of introduced plants. However, particular attention is given to this question when monitoring plants of interest.

Genetic mingling with plants of interest

Studies are necessary to determine whether the risks of genetic mingling between species of interest and introduced species are real. Dandelions (genus Taraxacum ) are particularly targeted as, among the park's five species, four are species of interest and one is an introduced species, with the latter being the most widely reproduced.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de- Mingan

Inventaire des plantes introduites

Dans le cadre de la présente étude on définit comme suit une plante introduite :

toute plante qui n'appartient pas à la flore indigène du parc et qui a été amenée sur le territoire durant la période historique.

Un inventaire des plantes introduites a été réalisé dans le parc par Francis Roy en 1996 et 1997. Il a inspecté le littoral de 14 îles, soit environ 150 km. Les données récoltées comprenaient, entre autres, l'espèce, le nombre d'individus, la superficie occupée, l'habitat, la phénologie et la hauteur des plants. L'emplacement des colonies était indiqué sur des cartes.

Les études antérieures avaient répertorié 40 espèces de plantes introduites dans l'archipel. L'inventaire de 1966 et 1997 a permis d'observer 32 de ces 40 espèces, mais aussi 5 nouvelles espèces. En combinant les résultats des différentes études, 45 espèces introduites ont été observées dans le parc jusqu'à ce jour.

Les plantes introduites du parc se retrouvent principalement à proximité des sites d'occupation humaine d'hier et d'aujourd'hui (phares, campings, etc.) et sur le littoral qui constitue la porte d'entrée du parc. Les principaux vecteurs d'introduction sont les déplacements des hommes, le transport maritime (eau, bateaux, débris), la nourriture apportée au bétail sur les îles avant le parc et la faune en général.

Nous avons trois principales préoccupations par rapport aux plantes d'intérêt :

Salicaire pourpre
Salicaire pourpre
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau
Présence de salicaire pourpre

Cette espèce envahissante a été trouvée à un seul endroit du parc en 1997. Une dizaine d'individus sur une superficie de 1.5 m étaient présents. Dès 1998, nous avons procédé à l'élimination de l'espèce. Le site est toutefois visité annuellement pour s'assurer que l'espèce ne se réinstalle pas.

Compétition avec les plantes d'intérêt

Pour l'instant, aucune espèce d'intérêt ne semble menacée par la présence de plantes introduites. Une attention particulière est toutefois portée à ce point lors du suivi des plantes d'intérêt.

Mixage génétique avec des plantes d'intérêt

Des études sont nécessaires pour déterminer si les risques de mixage génétique entre une espèce d'intérêt et une espèce introduite de même genre sont réels. Les pissenlits (genre Taraxacum ) sont principalement visés puisque parmi les cinq espèces du parc, quatre sont des espèces d'intérêt et une est introduite. Cette dernière est la plus répandue.