Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Study Results

Monitoring the Mingan Thistle

The meadow thistle ( Cirsium scariosum ), also known as the "Mingan thistle", is a species at risk. In Canada, it is only observed in a small zone in southern Alberta and British Columbia. It is also found in the region known as La Minganie : 99% of the plants grow in the park. The thistle is considered a threatened species in each of the provinces where it grows.

Mingan Thistle
Mingan Thistle
© Parks Canada / C. Kavanagh

Since 1995, the thistles of the archipelago have been under study. A numbered metallic tag is planted into the ground near each plant. Every year, the plants are counted and measured. The number of leaves is counted, and the locations of the plants are indicated on maps. Such data provides a good idea of the growth and decline of the colonies. It is also used to predict the colonies long-term chances of survival.

Since 1995, 600 plants have been identified on average each year in the entire park. They are grouped into nine colonies that are spread over four islands. The number of plants per colony varies greatly from one year to another, notably owing to weather conditions. They also varies from one colony to another. In 2001, the number of plants per colony varied from 2 to 245. No colony had more than 270 individuals, the minimum required to ensure long-term survival.

A recovery program was started in 2001 to increase the number of plants in the most vulnerable colonies. The method used involves first locating the plants in flower. Then a net must be set up to catch the seeds on the flowers once they have been pollinated by the insects. Finally, the seeds caught in the net are harvested and planted under a metallic grid to protect them from birds and mammals. Tests have shown that the rate of germination is four times higher when the protective grid is used. In 2001, a total of 130 seeds were planted in 3 colonies.

Saving this species depends on all of us. Our role consists of monitoring the Mingan Thistle, re-establishing the most precarious colonies and implementing the necessary measures for the species' survival. Your role : when walking along the seashore, stay within the vegetation-free zone. This way, you will help protect the Mingan thistle as well as other rare plant species. During your activities in the park, stay away from the sectors identified with survey markers and metallic tags. These landmarks indicate the presence of particularly fragile resources.

Your collaboration is essential to ensure the survival of this precious resource, the Mingan thistle.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de- Mingan

Résultats d'études

Suivi du chardon de Mingan

Le chardon écailleux ( Cirsium scariosum ), aussi appelé « chardon de Mingan », est une espèce en péril. Au Canada, il n'est présent que dans une petite zone du sud de l'Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique. On le trouve aussi en Minganie: 99 % des plants poussent d'ailleurs dans le parc. Le chardon est considéré menacé dans chacune des provinces où il croît.

Chardon de Mingan
Chardon de Mingan
© Parcs Canada / C. Kavanagh

Depuis 1995, les chardons de l'archipel font l'objet d'une étude. Chaque plant est identifié à l'aide d'une étiquette métallique numérotée. Annuellement, on dénombre et mesure les plants. On compte le nombre de feuilles et indique leur localisation sur des cartes. Le traitement de ces données permet d'avoir une bonne idée de la croissance ou de la décroissance des colonies et de prédire leurs chances de survie à long terme.

Depuis 1995, on a dénombré une moyenne annuelle de 600 plants pour l'ensemble du parc. Ceux-ci sont regroupés en neuf colonies réparties sur quatre îles. Le nombre de plants par colonie varie beaucoup d'une année à l'autre, notamment à cause des conditions météorologiques. Ils diffèrent aussi d'une colonie à l'autre. Par exemple, en 2001, le nombre de plants par colonie variait de 2 à 245. Aucune colonie n'avait plus de 270 individus, soit le nombre minimum nécessaire pour assurer leur survie à long terme.

Un programme de rétablissement a été amorcé en 2001 pour augmenter le nombre de plants des colonies les plus précaires. La méthode utilisée consiste d'abord à localiser les plants en fleurs. Il faut ensuite installer un filet capteur de graines sur les fleurs après leur pollinisation par les insectes. Finalement, les graines emprisonnées dans le filet sont récoltées et semées sous un grillage métallique pour les protéger des oiseaux et des mammifères. Des essais ont démontré que le taux de germination est quatre fois plus élevé avec la protection d'une cage. En 2001, un total de 130 graines ont été semées dans trois colonies.

La sauvegarde de cette espèce dépend de nous tous. Notre rôle consiste à poursuivre le suivi des colonies de chardons, à procéder au rétablissement des colonies les plus précaires et à mettre en place les mesures nécessaires à sa survie. Votre rôle consiste à éviter les secteurs où l'on retrouve les chardons de Mingan en restant loin de la végétation lors de vos déplacements sur le littoral des îles. Éloignez-vous aussi des secteurs identifiés par des bornes d'arpentage et des étiquettes métalliques. Ces repères indiquent la présence de ressources particulièrement fragiles.

Vous aiderez ainsi à la protection du chardon de Mingan, mais aussi à celle de plusieurs autres espèces de plantes rares.