Common menu bar links

Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Research

Current Studies
Shy Wallflower
Shy Wallflower
© Parks Canada / J. Audet / G 41 01 26 , 1988
The Plants of Interest Management Plan

A certain number of the 450 species of vascular plants in the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada ( MANPRC ) have been accorded the status of "plants of interest". One of the means employed by the park to protect these species is the Plants of Interest Management Plan.

This undertaking involved drawing up a list of plants of interest, identifying the principal concerns and determining the appropriate management measures. An analysis produced a list of 103 species of plants of interest in the archipelago. The criteria used to produce this list were as follows:

  • Geographic rarity
  • Colony size
  • Vulnerability to trampling
  • Habitat(s) where the species is present
  • Stability or fragility of the habitat
  • Habitat representation in the archipelago
  • Designation by the Ministère de l'Environnement du Québec
  • Designation by COSEWIC (Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada)

In addition to the list, the principal threats to the plants were identified. Among the concerns for plants of interest are the following:

  • Development of the park
  • Human activities
  • Small size populations
  • Natural agents of disturbance (fire, windfall, rock fall, seabirds, insect pests, etc.)
  • Exotic species introduced into the park
  • Grazing
  • Pollution
  • Harvesting

Among the above, our most significant concerns are development of the park and human activities.

Measures implemented to protect these fragile species from the threats identified above include visitor awareness programs, population monitoring, the closure of certain sections of the park, tourism activity management, scientific research, and the environmental assessment for the new projects.

Management plans are continually updated to better reflect the changing realities of the environment. Data analysis, as well as periodic evaluations of the impact of each measure, thus give way to recommendations aimed at protecting plants of interest and their habitats.

Monitoring Plants of Interest
Sparrow's-egg Lady's slippers colony
Sparrow's-egg Lady's slippers
© Parks Canada / M. Boulianne / G 117 05 33 , 1989

Several colonies of plants of interest were monitored from 1993 to 1995. In 1999, a more complete monitoring program with longer-term objectives was introduced. The on-going goal is to implement a permanent method of detecting changes in the distribution and abundance of these plants by according particular attention to those most susceptible to threats. The data gathered will indicate the state of the colonies' health and will allow more specific monitoring programs in areas where problems have been detected.

The monitoring of plants of interest continues from year to year. Frequency and methods used vary according to a species' rank in the list of plants of interest, the type of threat it faces and the number and size of its colonies in the archipelago.

A Study on the Snowshoe Hare and Traditional Snaring Activities

Since its creation in 1984, the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada ( MANPRC ) has yielded little information on medium-sized mammals such as the Snowshoe Hare ( Lepus americanus ), the Red Fox ( Vulpes vulpes ) or the American Marten ( Martes americana ). A study on small mammals describes this micro-fauna, and draws a preliminary picture of the distribution of other mammals. In addition, knowledge of traditional practices has been gathered over the years by local inhabitants of the Mingan region. However, no study was ever carried out specifically on the hare.

Following local community demands in 1999, the National Parks Act was recently amended to allow residents of the region to carry out certain traditional activities such as Snowshoe Hare snaring. A regulation is currently under approbation.

Snowshoe Hare
Snowshoe Hare
© Parks Canada / M. Boulianne / M 01 57

In this context, studies on the snowshoe hare and on snaring activity are necessary in order to better understand the hare's ecology in the MANPRC , to ensure the species' conservation over time and to favour the continuation of snaring activities by residents of the Mingan region.

As of autumn 2001, a study is under way in collaboration with the Association de Chasse et Pêche de Havre-Saint-Pierre, the Université de Québec à Rimouski ( UQAR ) and Parks Canada, along with the participation of Mingan region residents.

The study is being conducted over a 5-year period and is taking place on 10 experimental sites on the islands and 2 sites on the mainland. Data gathered on snaring as well as population monitoring and leveret production inventories will show whether or not hare populations on each of the islands are stable, rising or in decline.

In addition, an inventory on grazing carried out at the beginning of the study will allow the hares' feeding patterns, availability of food and impact on the vegetation to be measured. The species' subjection to cyclical variations of abundance on an island milieu can also be determined.

Mr. Jean Ferron, Professor of Biology at the UQAR , is the acting Science Advisor and will provide recommendations on hare population management and hare snaring activities once the data have been collated. A Master's student, Mr. Marc-André Roy, will carry out the research.

Marine Avifauna Management Plan
Atlantic Puffins and Razorbills standing on top of a rocky cliff
Atlantic Puffins and Razorbills
© Parks Canada / É. Le Bel / L 31 04 73, 1996

Consisting of 12 species and nearly 35,000 nesting couples, the marine avifauna of the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada ( MANPRC ) plays an important role in the social, tourism and environmental aspects of the Mingan region. However, the seabirds of the MANPRC remain vulnerable to numerous stress factors in the region (disturbance, development, poaching, oil spills, etc.). Since 1984, a seabird monitoring program in the MANPRC has been carried out by Parks Canada, as well as the five-year migratory bird inventories conducted by the Canadian Wildlife Service. However, the knowledge acquired, follow-up programs and management measures all need to be placed within the framework of a cohesive management plan in order to ensure the protection of seabird populations.

Drafting of a MANPRC marine avifauna management plan was initiated by Parks Canada in 2000, in the interests of directing conservation actions and acquiring data. The plan treats different themes, particularly the synthesis of knowledge on different species as well as monitoring programs, management measures, research needs, collaboration with other organizations and the terms of use of this resource.

The Park's Ecological Integrity Statement

Parks Canada is legally bound to preserve the ecological integrity of its parks through management practices that are centred on the ecosystems. The National Business Plan for Parks Canada has called for the preparation of benchmark statements on ecological integrity. These Ecological Integrity Statements ( EIS ) form the framework used to provide direction in the management planning process of a national park. They are an integral part of the park's management plan as well as its business plan.

The drafting of an ecological integrity statement for the Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada ( MANPRC ) has been under way since 2001. The park's EIS aims to present the values of the ecosystems, enumerate the stress factors affecting them and describe the conditions guaranteeing their maintenance and natural evolution. This document confirms Parks Canada's obligations regarding the protection of the MANPRC ecosystems while keeping in mind the human values associated with this environment. The EIS is addressed to all those implicated in the protection, management and presentation of the MANPRC . The document should be available by the end of 2002.

Digitalization of the Park's Territory
Two research scientists equipped with GPS research tools
Digitalization of the Park's Territory
© Parks Canada / B. Roberge, 2001

The Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada ( MANPRC ) contains some 2000 islands and islets, many of which have yet to be precisely identified and rendered in a computerized format. Identification and digitalization of the entire MANPRC territory will create a reliable system of reference, which will in turn enable accurate mapping and yield a store of information on the park's natural resources and their management, monitoring and protection.

This need is even more apparent seen in the context of the park's management plan review, particularly regarding the currently non-existent zoning, protection and presentation of the park's eastern sector. Within the framework of this project, islands and islets were positioned using a DGPS (Differential Global Positioning System) during the summer of 2001. The project will resume in 2002.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de- Mingan

La recherche

Projets en cours
Vélar à petites fleurs
Vélar à petites fleurs
© Parcs Canada / J. Audet / G 41 01 26 , 1988
Plan de gestion des plantes d'intérêt

Parmi les quelques 450 plantes vasculaires de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan ( RPNCAM ), certaines espèces ont été jugées d'intérêt. La réalisation du plan de gestion des plantes d'intérêt fait partie des moyens mis en place au parc pour protéger ces espèces.

Pour réaliser ce plan de gestion, il fallait d'abord dresser la liste des plantes d'intérêt, identifier les principales préoccupations et déterminer les mesures de gestion appropriées. Une analyse a permis d'identifier 103 espèces de plantes d'intérêt pour l'archipel. Les critères ayant servi à produire cette liste sont les suivants :

  • Rareté géographique
  • Taille des colonies
  • Sensibilité au piétinement
  • Habitat(s) où l'espèce est présente
  • Stabilité et fragilité de l'habitat
  • Représentativité de l'habitat dans l'archipel
  • Désignation par le ministère de l'Environnement du Québec
  • Désignation par le COSEPAC (Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada)

Par la suite, les principales menaces pour ces espèces ont été identifiées. Parmi les préoccupations concernant les espèces d'intérêt, on retrouve :

  • Développement du parc
  • Activités humaines
  • Petite taille des populations
  • Agents naturels de perturbation (feu, chablis, éboulis, oiseaux marins, insectes ravageurs, etc.)
  • exotic species introduced into the park
  • Broutage
  • Pollution
  • Récolte

Le développement du parc et les activités humaines sont les préoccupations les plus importantes pour nous.

Des moyens ont été mis en place afin de protéger ces espèces fragiles des différentes menaces identifiées. On retrouve entre autre la sensibilisation auprès des visiteurs, un programme de suivi des populations, la fermeture de certains secteurs, l'encadrement des activités touristiques, la recherche scientifique, l'évaluation environnementale pour les nouveaux projets, etc.

Le plan de gestion est sans cesse remis à jour pour s'adapter aux nouvelles réalités du milieu. L'évaluation périodique de l'impact de chaque mesure de gestion et l'analyse des données récoltées permettent d'émettre des recommandations visant la protection des espèces d'intérêt et leur habitat.

Suivi des plantes d'intérêt
Colonie de cypripèdes œuf-de-passereau
Cypripèdes œuf-de-passereau
© Parcs Canada / M. Boulianne / G 117 05 33 , 1989

Le suivi de quelques colonies de plantes d'intérêt a été réalisé de 1993 à 1995. En 1999, un programme de suivi plus complet, avec des objectifs à long terme, a été amorcé. Le but était de mettre en place une méthode permettant de détecter les changements dans la distribution et l'abondance de ces plantes en accordant une attention particulière à celles qui sont le plus susceptibles d'être affectées par des menaces. Les données ainsi recueillies serviront d'indicateurs de l'état de santé des colonies et permettront de mettre en place des programmes de suivi plus spécifiques lorsque des problèmes seront détectés.

Le suivi des plantes d'intérêt se poursuit donc d'année en année. La fréquence et la méthode de suivi utilisée varient en fonction du rang qu'occupe l'espèce dans la liste des plantes d'intérêt du parc, du type de menaces auxquelles elle fait face, du nombre de colonies dans l'archipel et de la taille de ces colonies.

Étude du lièvre d'Amérique et de l'activité traditionnelle de colletage

Depuis la création de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan ( RPNCAM ) en 1984, peu d'informations scientifiques sont disponibles sur les mammifères moyens tels le lièvre d'Amérique ( Lepus americanus ), le Renard roux ( Vulpes vulpes ) ou la Martre d'Amérique ( Martes americana ). Une étude sur les petits mammifères décrit bien cette micro-faune et trace un portrait préliminaire de la distribution des autres mammifères. De plus, un ensemble de connaissances traditionnelles a été acquis durant des générations par les communautés locales en Minganie. Cependant, aucune étude n'a été effectuée spécifiquement sur le lièvre.

Récemment, suite à des revendications des communautés locales en 1999, un amendement a été porté à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada en vue de permettre aux résidants de la région d'exercer certaines activités traditionnelles comme le colletage du lièvre. Un règlement est en cours d'approbation.

Lièvre d'Amérique
Lièvre d'Amérique
© Parcs Canada / M. Boulianne / M 01 57

Dans ce contexte, une étude sur le lièvre d'Amérique et sur l'activité de colletage devient nécessaire afin de mieux connaître l'écologie du lièvre à la RPNCAM , d'assurer la conservation de l'espèce dans le temps et de favoriser la continuité de l'activité de colletage par les résidants de la Minganie.

Depuis l'automne 2001, un projet d'étude s'effectue en collaboration avec l'Association Chasse et Pêche de Havre-Saint-Pierre, l'Université du Québec à Rimouski et l'Agence Parcs Canada avec la participation des colleteurs résidant en Minganie.

L'étude d'une durée de 5 ans se déroule sur 10 sites expérimentaux sur les îles et 2 sites sur le continent. À partir des données de colletage, d'inventaire des populations, et de productivité de levrauts, il sera possible d'établir si les populations sont à la hausse, stables ou en décroissance et cela pour chacune des îles. De plus, un inventaire de broutage réalisé au début de l'étude, permettra de mesurer le régime alimentaire du lièvre, la disponibilité de la nourriture dans le milieu ainsi que l'impact du lièvre sur la végétation. Il sera également possible d'établir si le lièvre est sujet ou non à des variations cycliques d'abondance en milieu insulaire.

M. Jean Ferron, professeur de Biologie à l'Université du Québec à Rimouski agira à titre de conseiller scientifique et fournira, suite aux travaux réalisés, les recommandations sur la gestion du lièvre et l'activité de colletage de lièvres. Un étudiant à la maîtrise en gestion de la faune et de ses habitats, M. Marc-André Roy effectue les recherches.

Plan de gestion de l'avifaune marine
Macareux moines et Petits pingouins sur le dessus d'une falaise rocheuse
Macareux moines et Petits pingouins
© Parcs Canada / É. Le Bel / L 31 04 73, 1996

L'avifaune marine de la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan ( RPNCAM ), constituée de 12 espèces et près de 35 000 couples, revêt un rôle important sur le plan social, touristique et environnemental en Minganie. Toutefois, les oiseaux marins de la RPNCAM demeurent vulnérables aux nombreux facteurs de stress de la région (dérangements, développement du territoire, braconnage, déversements d'hydrocarbures etc.). Depuis 1984, un programme de suivi des oiseaux marins est réalisé à la RPNCAM par Parcs Canada en plus des inventaires quinquennaux dans les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs du Service canadien de la faune. Cependant, il devient nécessaire d'encadrer au sein d'un plan de gestion, les connaissances acquises, les programmes de suivi et les mesures de gestion pour assurer la protection de l'avifaune marine.

Depuis l'an 2000, Parcs Canada a amorcé la rédaction du plan de gestion de l'avifaune marine de la RPNCAM en vue d'orienter les actions de protection et d'acquisition de données. Diverses thématiques importantes sont abordées telles la synthèse des connaissances sur les espèces, le programme de surveillance, les mesures de gestion, les besoins en matière de recherche, les possibilités de collaboration avec les organismes et les modalités d'utilisation de cette ressource.

Énoncé d'intégrité écologique du parc

Parcs Canada a l'obligation juridique de préserver l'intégrité écologique des parcs par une gestion axée sur les écosystèmes. Le Plan d'affaires national de Parcs Canada prévoit la rédaction d'énoncés de référence au sujet de l'intégrité écologique. Ces énoncés d'intégrité écologique ( ÉIÉ ) sont des cadres synthèses pour guider la planification de la gestion d'un parc national. Ils font partie intégrante du Plan directeur du parc ainsi que du Plan d'affaires.

La rédaction de l'énoncé d'intégrité écologique du parc est en cours depuis 2001. L'énoncé d'intégrité écologique pour la réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan ( RPNCAM ) a pour but de présenter les valeurs écologiques, de décrire les facteurs de stress affectant les écosystèmes et les conditions qui garantissent leur état et leur évolution naturelle. Ce document confirme les obligations de Parcs Canada en regard de la protection des écosystèmes de la RPNCAM tout en tenant compte des valeurs humaines qui y sont associées. L' ÉIÉ s'adresse à tous les intervenants impliqués dans la protection, la gestion et la mise en valeur de la RPNCAM . Le document pourrait être disponible à la fin de l'année 2002.

Numérisation du territoire du parc
Deux chercheurs équipés de matériel de recherche GPS
Numérisation du territoire du parc
© Parcs Canada / B. Roberge, 2001

La réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan ( RPNCAM ) regroupe près de 2000 îles, îlots, cayes et récifs qui actuellement ne sont pas tous identifiés et numérisés précisément sur support informatique. L'identification et la numérisation des composantes du territoire de la RPNCAM permet d'obtenir un système de référence fiable pour créer des cartes précises et pour emmagasiner des informations sur les ressources naturelles du parc, la gestion, le suivi et la protection. Ce besoin est encore plus criant dans le contexte de la révision du Plan directeur notamment pour permettre le zonage, la protection et la mise en valeur du secteur est du parc qui sont actuellement inexistants. Dans le cadre de ce projet, des travaux de positionnement des îles et îlots avec un DGPS (Système de positionnement globale avec correction différentielle) ont été effectués à l'été 2001. Le projet se poursuit en 2002.