Common menu bar links

Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Research

The national parks play a key role in Canada's natural environment. As educators and the guardians of knowledge, their part in maintaining the biodiversity in all of the protected areas is of particular importance.

Scientific knowledge is essential to ensuring the ecological integrity of Canada's national parks.

Student taking Mingan Thistle measurements.
Mingan Thistle Study
© Parks Canada / N. Dénommée, 2000
Flora Management Program

For over a century, the flora of the Mingan Archipelago has attracted the attention of the scientific community. Given its rather small surface area, the archipelago's rich and diversified plant life is quite remarkable, counting over 450 species of plants, 190 species of lichens and 300 species of moss. In addition to plants that are unique to the Gulf of St. Lawrence, some species in the archipelago normally only grow further north, further south or as far away as the Rocky Mountains. Limestone, wind, cold and the maritime climate all help provide each plant with the nutrients it needs to thrive.

In recognition of the importance of the archipelago's flora, we have identified 103 species of interest, deemed as such mostly because of their scarcity in the National Park Reserve or in the province of Quebec.

Some of the projects implemented to better know and protect these plants are:

  • a management plan for plants of interest
  • monitoring programs on plants of interest aimed at detecting changes in their populations
  • a specific monitoring and re-establishment program for Mingan Thistle ( Cirsium scariosum ) colonies
  • a specific monitoring program for Sparrow's-egg Lady's-slipper ( Cypripedium passerinum ) colonies
  • the description and cartography of terrestrial ecosystems
  • an inventory of plants introduced to the park
  • hemlock looper detection
Fauna Management Program
Park Warden gathering samples with a net out of a water lake.
Herpetofauna Inventory
© Parks Canada / B. Roberge / W 01 56, 1997

For generations, the diversity and abundance of the Mingan Islands' fauna has attracted the attention of the local and scientific communities. Despite its relatively small size, the park harbours over 10 species of reptiles and amphibians, 200 bird species and 20 species of land mammals, and can count nearly 15 species of marine mammals in the surrounding waters.

Despite their geographic isolation from the mainland and - due to their limited surface area - restrained capacity for support, the islands have become home to a diversity of terrestrial fauna. Herbivores such as the moose, the hare and the beaver have all found food and shelter on the islands. Certain carnivorous mammals such as the fox, the marten or the ermine live on the largest islands year-round.

Different species of woodland birds and even such threatened species as the Bald Eagle have also been observed here. The park's seabird population, which counts some 35,000 nesting couples, is particularly abundant. Some of the largest concentrations of eider ducks and terns in the Gulf of St. Lawrence are found in the park. Elsewhere, in the park's coastal zones, large seal colonies can be seen.

To better know, manage and protect this remarkable wildlife diversity, Parks Canada has been conducting a fauna management program for nearly 20 years. Among the management measures initiated over this period are sensitization to the issues, education, signposting, environmental assessments, and collaboration with local communities and resource managers. In addition to these measures, various scientific studies - notably population studies and the coordination of research findings with various searchers - have been carried out by Parks Canada.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de- Mingan

La recherche

Les parcs nationaux jouent un rôle-clé à titre de foyers de savoir et d'éducation sur l'environnement naturel du Canada, notamment en contribuant au maintien de la biodiversité de toutes les aires protégées.

À ce titre, la science est un élément essentiel dans la gestion visant à assurer l' intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux au Canada.

Étudiante effectuant des mesures sur le chardon de Mingan
Étude sur le chardon de Mingan
© Parcs Canada / N. Dénommée, 2000
Programme de gestion de la flore

Depuis plus d'un siècle, la flore de l'archipel de Mingan suscite un grand intérêt. Sa richesse exceptionnelle pour un si petit territoire y est sûrement pour quelque chose: plus de 450 espèces de plantes vasculaires,190 espèces de lichens et plus de 300 espèces de mousses. En plus des plantes uniques au golfe du Saint-Laurent, certaines espèces retrouvées dans l'archipel poussent généralement plus au nord, plus au sud ou parfois même dans les Rocheuses. Le calcaire, le vent, le froid et le climat maritime contribuent à fournir à chacune ce dont elle a besoin pour s'épanouir.

Reconnaissant l'importance de la flore de l'archipel, on a identifié 103 espèces de plantes d'intérêt, notamment à cause de leur rareté dans la réserve de parc ou au Québec. Différents projets ont été mis en place pour mieux les connaître et mieux les protéger :

  • Plan de gestion des plantes d'intérêt.
  • Suivi des plantes d'intérêt de façon à détecter les changements dans les populations.
  • Suivi spécifique et programme de rétablissement des colonies de chardon de Mingan ( Cirsium scariosum ).
  • Suivi spécifique des colonies de cypripède œuf-de-passereau ( Cypripedium passerinum ).
  • Description et cartographie des écosystèmes terrestres.
  • Inventaire des plantes introduites du parc.
  • Dépistage de l'arpenteuse de la pruche.
Programme de gestion de la faune
Garde de parc récoltant des échantillons à l'aide d'un filet sur le bord d'un lac
Inventaire de l'herpétofaune
© Parcs Canada / B. Roberge / W 01 56, 1997

Depuis des générations, la faune des îles de Mingan suscite beaucoup d'intérêt auprès des communautés locales et des scientifiques par sa diversité et son abondance. Le parc abrite en effet, malgré sa superficie réduite, une grande variété faunique avec plus de 10 espèces d'amphibiens et reptiles, 200 espèces d'oiseaux, 20 espèces de mammifères terrestres et près 15 espèces de mammifères marins dans les eaux marines adjacentes.

Une faune terrestre variée réside sur les îles du parc malgré leur isolement du continent et leur capacité de support limitée par leur dimension restreinte. Des mammifères herbivores tels l'orignal, le lièvre et le castor y trouvent abris et nourriture. Quelques mammifères carnivores comme le renard, la martre ou l'hermine résident en permanence sur les plus grandes îles.

Diverses espèces d'oiseaux forestiers et même des espèces vulnérables comme le Pygargue à tête blanche viennent s'y abriter. La faune du parc s'avère particulièrement abondante en ce qui a trait aux oiseaux marins avec près de 35 000 couples nicheurs. L'avifaune marine du parc compte les plus grandes concentrations d'eiders et de sternes du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Par ailleurs, des grands groupes de phoques sont aussi observés dans la zone littorale du parc.

Dans la perspective de connaître, de bien gérer et de protéger cette richesse faunique remarquable, Parcs Canada poursuit le programme de gestion de la faune depuis près de 20 ans. Plusieurs mesures de gestion sont ainsi mises de l'avant comme la sensibilisation, l'éducation, la signalisation, les évaluations environnementales, la collaboration avec les communautés locales et les gestionnaires des ressources. De plus, divers travaux scientifiques sont réalisés par Parcs Canada, notamment des études et des suivis de populations, ainsi que la coordination de recherches avec des chercheurs.