Common menu bar links

Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

The Conservation Service

Park Warden gathering a sample of soil tainted by hydrocarbons
Park Warden
© Parks Canada / S. Malouin, 1999

The activities of the Ecosystems Conservation and Heritage Presentation Service reflect Parks Canada's basic mandate, which is to promote its resources for the benefit of all Canadians while protecting the ecological integrity of its national parks.

An important role thus falls upon the Conservation Service team: that of protecting the park's natural resources. In this capacity, the team is responsible for different programs which include natural resource management, protection of the environment, public safety and application of the law.

Maintaining the park's ecological integrity is a shared responsibility. The team is better able to protect the ecosystems and conserve the unique character of this national park reserve by combining its conservation efforts with those of the public and local residents.

Managing Natural Resources
Studying vegetation inside a quadrat
Vegetation Study
© Parks Canada / N. Dénommée, 2000

Often unique and greatly diverse, the Mingan Islands' fauna and flora are exceptional resources. All the same, they remain vulnerable to different stress factors coming from within the park as well as from the outside. These factors include a growing rate of tourism, the unlawful removal of living organisms, pollution, and commercial development of the terrain.

Increasing our knowledge of our environmental resources - a situation which allows for enlightened decision-making and consideration of the appropriate protection measures - is vital to maintaining the park's ecological integrity. To better understand the state of the park's animal and vegetal populations, the Conservation Service conducts many scientific studies .

Without scientific evidence, it is often impossible to determine the impact of natural changes or human activities on the environment.

Park Warden performing a recovery exercise for hydrocarbons on water, from a boat
Oil spill simulation
© Parks Canada / D. Quann / W 06 52, 1994
Protection of the Environment

Not only is the environment protected by the National Parks Act, it is also safeguarded by measures aimed at preventing forest fires and maritime pollution.

The park is not exempt from forest fires, whether of natural or human origin. In their efforts to prevent forest fires on the islands, the Conservation Service team follows the fire weather index, and keeps the public informed on a daily basis.

The park is situated in a busy maritime transport zone. As its shoreline is particularly vulnerable to toxic spills, the Service is ready to intervene in the event of an emergency.

Training courses, practical and theory courses, and simulation exercises keep the conservation team poised to administer a rapid and efficient response should human or natural catastrophe arise in the national park reserve.

Ensuring Public Safety
Park Warden carrying out an evacuation drill for an injured person, from a boat
Search and Rescue Simulation
© Parks Canada / R. Quenneville

To protect all those frequenting the park, the Conservation Service oversees activities set up for incident prevention, and are the first to intervene in the park in the event of an emergency. They are trained in first aid, in transporting the injured or in conducting search and rescue operations both on the water and on land.

Application of the Law: Prevention and Awareness

In keeping with their mandate of conserving the park's natural and historical heritage, the Conservation Service aims to ensure that regulations and other associated laws are respected in the national parks.

All the same, prevention and awareness remain the greatest challenges. Signposting, disseminating information and education are simple and effective means of sensitizing both young and old to the park's conservation issues.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de- Mingan

Le Service de la conservation

Garde de parc ramassant un échantillon de sol souillé par des hydrocarbures
Garde de parc
© Parcs Canada / S. Malouin, 1999

Les activités du Service de conservation et de la mise en valeur des écosystèmes reflètent le mandat fondamental de Parcs Canada qui est d'assurer l' intégrité écologique du parc tout en permettant sa mise en valeur pour le bénéfice de toute la population canadienne.

Un rôle important incombe à l'équipe du Service de la conservation, celui de protéger les ressources naturelles. Dans cette perspective, l'équipe réalise différents programmes, notamment dans le domaine de la gestion des ressources naturelles, de la protection du milieu, de la sécurité publique et de l'application de la loi.

Le maintien de l'intégrité écologique du parc est une responsabilité commune. C'est en unissant ses efforts avec ceux du public et des résidents de la Minganie, que l'équipe pourra protéger les écosystèmes et les richesses uniques de cette réserve de parc national.

La gestion des ressources naturelles
Étude de végétation à l'intérieur d'un quadrat
Étude de la végétation
© Parcs Canada / N. Dénommée, 2000

La faune et la flore des îles Mingan sont des ressources exceptionnelles par leur diversité et leurs particularités. Elles demeurent toutefois sensibles aux différents facteurs de stress provenant tant de l'intérieur que de l'extérieur du parc, tels l'achalandage touristique, les prélèvements interdits, la pollution ou encore le développement du territoire.

Afin de pouvoir appliquer des mesures de protection appropriées et de prendre des décisions éclairées pour maintenir l'intégrité écologique du parc, il est important d'élargir nos connaissances sur les ressources du milieu. Plusieurs études scientifiques sont menées par le Service de la conservation et de la mise en valeur des écosystème afin de mieux connaître l'état des populations animales et végétales dans le parc.

En l'absence d'informations scientifiques, il devient souvent impossible de déterminer si certains changements ou activités humaines peuvent avoir des incidences sur l'environnement.

Garde de parc effectuant un exercice de récupération d'hydrocarbure sur l'eau à partir d'une embarcation
Exercice de récupération d'hydrocarbure
© Parcs Canada / D. Quann / W 06 52, 1994
La protection du milieu

La protection du milieu est assurée par l'application de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux mais également par un travail de prévention des feux de forêt et de la pollution maritime.

Le parc n'est pas à l'abri des feux de forêt d'origine naturelle ou humaine. L'équipe du Service de la conservation et de la mise en valeur des écosystèmes fait quotidiennement le suivi des indices de forêt-météo et informe le public dans le but de prévenir les risques d'incendie sur les îles.

Le parc est situé dans une zone de transport maritime importante. Comme ses rivages sont particulièrement vulnérables aux déversements de produits toxiques, le Service est prêt à intervenir en cas d'urgence.

Formations, cours théoriques et pratiques, exercices de simulation permettent d'assurer à l'équipe de conservation une réponse rapide et efficace lors de catastrophes humaines et naturelles qui peuvent survenir sur le territoire de la réserve de parc national.

Assurer la sécurité publique
Garde de parc effectuant un exercice d'évacuation d'un blessé dans une embarcation
Simulation de recherche et sauvetage
© Parcs Canada / R. Quenneville

Pour protéger les visiteurs et toutes les personnes fréquentant le parc, le Service de la conservation veille à la mise en œuvre d'activités de prévention des incidents et sont les premiers à intervenir sur le territoire du parc. Ils sont formés et entraînés à prodiguer les premiers soins, à évacuer les blessés ou à conduire une opération de recherche et sauvetage sur l'eau comme sur terre.

Application de la loi; prévention et sensibilisation

Le Service de la conservation veille à faire respecter la réglementation des parcs nationaux ainsi que d'autres lois connexes, afin d'atteindre son objectif qui est d'assurer la conservation du patrimoine naturel et historique de la réserve de parc.

Cependant, la prévention et la sensibilisation demeurent avant tout la plus grande préoccupation. L'affichage, la diffusion d'informations ou encore l'intervention auprès des enfants dans les écoles demeurent des moyens simples et efficaces de sensibiliser jeunes et moins jeunes aux différents impacts de la conservation du territoire.