Common menu bar links

Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada

Interpretive Activities

The natural way of learning

The Mingan Archipelago is a learning experience and you don't want to miss a thing! To help you fully appreciate these many islands the park reserve provides a range of activities that are both educational and entertaining.

Let yourself be swept away by the geology, the flora, the fauna and the history of these wonderful islands.

All interpretive activities are presented in French, although some are available in English upon request and availability of staff.

On the Islands

Embark on a voyage of discovery through the archipelago. Your whims and preferences will help you choose from among the large variety of cruises and stopovers offered by local maritime transport services. On certain islands, take advantage of the presence of a Parks Canada interpreter and let yourself be guided.

Daily Activities

Cypriède Jaune Yellow lady's-slipper
© Parks Canada / Alaïs Nevert

Unusual Flora
île du Fantôme

Breathe deeply of the open sea air while you follow the trail on Île du Fantôme. An interpreter will help you discover a unique environment: the barrens. Here, in this rocky habitat with its harsh climate, the plants adopt different strategies to ensure their survival-and still contrive to put on a glorious display all over the rugged landscape, throughout the summer season.

Duration: 1 hour
Interpretation by Services Maritimes Boréale


La « Bonne femme » Niapiscau "Bonne Femme" Niapiskau
© Parks Canada / Éric Leblanc

The Formation of the Monoliths
île Niapiskau

The « Anse des Bonnes Femmes » on Île Niapiskau is covered with strange rock formations called monoliths. Discover how these islands and their monuments, witnesses to the passing of time and the unceasing work of Nature, were formed over the millennia.

This is a place for geologists, and our interpreter will help you become one quickly and easily-at least with regards to limestone.

Stones which have long stories to share.

Duration: 1 hour


Monoliths on île Quarry
© Parks Canada / Andréa Saint-Germain

A Diversity of Habitats
île Quarry

Forests, barrens, peat bogs and seashores: these are some of the habitats that Mother Nature has gathered together upon Île Quarry. Follow the guide through one discovery after another, as each step takes you into a different environment.

En route, make the acquaintance of the majestic monoliths who established the reputation of Île Quarry's Anse des Érosions.

You'll need your camera here!

Duration: 1 hour 30 min or 2 hours 15 min


Île Nue de Mingan Île Nue de Mingan
© Parks Canada / Éric Leblanc

Gifts from the Sea
île Nue de Mingan

When you discover Île Nue de Mingan, you enter into a fascinating universe. With its vegetation prostrated to the ground, its lack of forests and its large surface of gravel, the island offers a strange setting that reminds us of arctic environments.

Let us guide you through its strange monoliths, its unique flora, its numerous shorebirds and its astonishing history on the presence of the Basques in the 17th Century.

Duration: 1 hour


Interpretive activity - ïle aux Perroquets Interpretive activity - ïle aux Perroquets
© Parks Canada / Mathieu Dresdell

An island, a lighthouse, seabirds
île aux Perroquets

The lighthouse station is now refurbished. Travel in the footsteps of the lightkeepers who inhabited this island and meet fascinating seabirds. The exhibition inside the foghorn building will tell you more about the daily lives of the lightkeepers and their families. Interpretive panels will help you to discover the importance of the lighthouse station for navigation on the St.-Lawrence.

Durée : 1 heure


Petite île au marteau Petite Île au Marteau
© Parks Canada / Éric Leblanc

An Adventure from one Island to the next
East Sector and Petite île au Marteau

Petite île au Marteau

Enjoy the scenery of this area of the Mingan Archipelago. The Betchouane Migratory Birds Sanctuary of will captivated you. You will find seabirds like Atlantic puffins and Razorbills nesting on the islands. Make a stop on Petite île au Marteau where a trail will lead you to the lighthouse station.

Duration: 4 houirs with a stopover of 1 hour

 


In the Reception Centres

To wait out bad weather, to answer your questions about the park or to take part in the evening talks, stop by our reception centres in Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, where our staff and Parks Canada will be sure to give you a warm welcome.

Fun Evenings (Talks)

Several evenings a week, illustrated talks are held at the Havre-Saint-Pierre or Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan research and Interpretation Centres- an excellent way to discover the various features of the archipelago.

These evenings usually consist of a talk accompanied by a colourful slide show, but on certain nights you can participate in tasting sessions, listen to music or even see a few surprising life forms! One thing is for sure: our dynamic and smiling interpreters will be a big part of your evening.

Exhibition

At Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

The Mingan Island Cetacean Study ( MICS ) and Parks Canada, offers exhibitions.

Marine Mammals of the Gulf of St. Lawrence

And

Islands in the sea

Film

Daily showings of Claude Bélisle's film, The Mingan Islands.

Réserve de parc national du Canada de l'Archipel-de-Mingan

Activités d'interprétation

Apprendre naturellement

L'archipel de Mingan, ça s'apprend.

Pour apprécier et ne rien manquer de cette multitude d'îles, la réserve de parc vous propose de nombreuses activités alliant éducation et divertissement.

Laissez-vous guider à travers la géologie, la flore, la faune et l'histoire de ces îles uniques.

Toutes les activités d'interprétation sont présentées en français. Certaines pourraient être offertes en anglais sur préavis et selon la disponibilité du personnel.

Sur les îles

Partez à la découverte de l'archipel. Selon vos goûts et vos attentes, choisissez parmi la grande variété d'excursions et d'escales offertes par les différents transporteurs maritimes. Sur certaines îles, un interprète de Parcs Canada vous y attend.

Activités quotidiennes

Cypriède Jaune Cypripède Jaune
© Parcs Canada / Alaïs Nevert

Une flore insolite
île du Fantôme

Venez respirer l'air salin du large tout en parcourant le sentier de l'île du Fantôme. Un interprète vous fera découvrir un milieu tout à fait particulier : la lande. Dans cet habitat rocailleux au climat rude et sévère, les plantes adoptent divers stratèges pour assurer leur survie. Néanmoins, elles réussissent à y étaler toute leur beauté et leurs couleurs au cours de la saison estivale.

Durée: 1 heure
Interprétation par le batelier


La « Bonne femme » Niapiscau La « Bonne femme » Niapiskau
© Parcs Canada / Éric Leblanc

La formation des monolithes
île Niapiskau

L'île Niapiskau, c'est d'abord l'anse des « Bonnes Femmes », parsemée de ces étranges blocs de pierres que l'on nomme: monolithes. Venez y découvrir l'origine des îles et de ces monuments, témoins du temps passé et du travail incessant de la nature.

La géologie est à l'honneur et l'interprète vous apporte cette science sur un plateau... de calcaire !

Une pierre qui en a long à vous raconter!

Durée : 1 heure


Monolithes de l'île Quarry Monolithes de l'île Quarry
© Parcs Canada / Andréa Saint-Germain

Une mosaïque d'habitats
île Quarry

Forêt, lande, littoral, tourbière sont autant d'habitats que Dame Nature a regroupés pour nous sur l'île Quarry. Suivez le guide et vous irez de découverte en découverte, alors que chaque pas mène vers un environnement différent.

En chemin, faites la rencontre de ces majestueux monolithes qui font aujourd'hui la réputation de l'Anse des érosions sur l'île Quarry.

Bonne chasse aux images!

Durée : 1h30


Île Nue de Mingan Île Nue de Mingan
© Parcs Canada / Éric Leblanc

Au delà des apparences, une île riche
île Nue de Mingan

Découvrir l'île Nue de Mingan, c'est entrer dans un univers fascinant. Avec sa végétation prostrée au sol, son absence de forêt et ses étendues de cailloutis, l'île nous offre un décor étrange qui nous rapelle les milieux arctiques.

Laissez-vous guider à travers ses étranges monolithes, sa flore unique, ses nombreux oiseaux de rivage et son histoire étonnante sur la présence des Basques au 17ième siècle.

Durée : 1 heure


Activité d'interprétation - île aux Perroquets Activité d'interprétation - île aux Perroquets
© Parcs Canada / Mathieu Dresdell

Une île, un phare, des oiseaux
île aux Perroquets

La station de phare s’est parée de ses plus beaux atours. Circulez sur les traces des gardiens de phares qui ont habité cette île et côtoyez une faune ailée fascinante. L’exposition à l’intérieur du criard de brume vous en apprendra davantage sur le quotidien des gardiens et leur famille. Des panneaux d’interprétation vous feront découvrir l’importance de cette station de phare pour la navigation sur le St-Laurent.

Durée : 1 heure


Petite île au marteau Petite île au marteau
© Parcs Canada / Éric Leblanc

Une aventure d’île en île
Secteur est et Petite île au Marteau

Appréciez les falaises de ce secteur de l’archipel de Mingan. On y retrouve, entre autres, le refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs de Betchouane. Vous y découvrirez des oiseaux marins nichant dans les îles tels macareux moine et le petit pingouin. Faites escale sur la Petite île au Marteau où un sentier vous mènera à la visite de la station de phare.

Durée : 4 heures dont une escale de 1 heure

 


Dans les centres d'accueil

Pour attendre le retour du beau temps, répondre à certaines de vos interrogations concernant les ressources du parc ou pour assister aux causeries de fin de soirée, n'hésitez pas à faire un saut au centre d'accueil et d'interprétation de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan. Le personnel de Parcs Canada vous y attend.

Des soirées amusantes (causeries)

Plusieurs soirs par semaine, vous pouvez participer aux causeries, c'est une excellente façon de découvrir les diverses facettes de l'archipel. Informez-vous auprès des préposés à l'accueil.

Une soirée tout en couleurs agrementée d'un diaporama mais également, certains soirs, vous pourriez y faire certaines dégustations, y entendre de la musique ou encore y voir quelques organismes étonnants. Chose certaine, le sourire et le dynamisme des interprètes feront à coup sûr partie de la soirée.

Exposition permanente

À Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

La station de recherche des îles Mingan ( MICS ; Mingan Island Cetacean Study) et Parcs Canada présentent des expositions:

Les mammifères marins du golfe du Saint-Laurent

Et

Des îles à la mer

Film

Présentations quotidiennes du film «Les Îles de Mingan» de Claude Bélisle, d'une durée de 52 minutes.