La Mauricie National Park

Two children standing in front of a breathtaking view from Le Passage Lookout.
A breathtaking view from Le Passage Lookout. © Parks Canada

A Trip Along the Parkway

This road zigzags through the southern section of the park. To pique your curiosity, there are many treasures hidden along the road just waiting to be discovered. This means that a drive through the park will involve many stops.

Take time to observe the landscape from the lookouts along the Parkway. Have a rest at one of the picnic areas available for your comfort and relaxation. Take to the trails and explore the park at your own pace!

You will find a dozen interpretation exhibits. These illustrated panels are set up at the wayside rest areas, in the picnic areas and along certain trails. These will help you to better understand the habitats, introduce you to the particularities of the local flora and fauna, and tell you something about the men and women who have passed through this territory. The most important exhibits are found at the Lac Édouard and Shewenegan picnic areas, at Le Passage Lookout and La Tourbière Trail.

If you wish to stretch your legs and get used to the forest, you could stroll down the interpretation trails that run near Gabet Lake, Étienne Lake and Lac du Fou. Interpretation panels, models, telescopes and posters will complete your walks. These trails are excellent for observing local wildlife.

To learn all the attractions and points of interest along the Parkway, you should obtain the park guidebook "Discovering La Mauricie National Park of Canada".

Parc national de la Mauricie

Deux enfants devant une vue imprenable à partir du belvédère  du Passage.
Une vue imprenable à partir du belvédère du Passage. © Parcs Canada

Une tournée de la route Promenade

Cette route sinueuse traverse tout le sud du parc. Afin de piquer votre curiosité, elle cache ses nombreux attraits et il n'en tient qu'à vous de les découvrir!

Prenez le temps d'observer les nombreux points de vue qui s'offrent à vous du haut des belvédères jalonnant cette route. Faites une pause et profitez des aires de pique-nique aménagées pour votre confort et bien-être. Arpentez les sentiers et explorez le parc à votre rythme!

Une dizaine d'expositions d'interprétation, constituées principalement de panneaux illustrés, sont installées dans les haltes routières, dans les aires de pique-nique et sur certains sentiers. Elles vous aident à décoder les paysages, vous dévoilent quelques particularités de la flore et de la faune, vous relatent quelques épisodes du passage d'hommes et de femmes sur ce territoire. Les expositions les plus importantes se trouvent aux terrains de pique-nique du Lac-Édouard et Shewenegan, au belvédère du Passage et au sentier de la Tourbière.

Pour vous dégourdir les jambes et pour apprivoiser la forêt, parcourez les sentiers d'interprétation du Lac-Gabet, du Lac-Étienne et du Lac-du-Fou. Des panneaux d'interprétation, des maquettes, des télescopes et des affiches agrémenteront vos randonnées. Ces sentiers se révèlent de bons endroits pour observer la faune.

Pour connaître tous les attraits et les points d'intérêt le long de la route Promenade, procurez-vous le guide "À la découverte du parc national du Canada de la Mauricie".