Common menu bar links

Forillon National Park

Terrestrial and aquatic fauna 

Fox kits have fun while waiting for their mother to return. © Stéphane Marchand

Most of the typical animal species associated with the boreal forest are present in the park; of that number, several lend themselves well to observation.


Forty-three species of mammals inhabit the park, including the moose, black bear, porcupine, woodchuck, beaver, red fox, lynx, ermine (short-tailed weasel), snowshoe hare and red squirrel, as well as a variety of smaller mammals (e.g., mice, voles, bats, etc.) that are just as important for maintaining ecological balance.


The park is also home to an abundance of terrestrial birds – i.e., no fewer than 246 species, including 125 of the nesting variety. The woods and fields are frequented by smaller birds, such as sparrows, warblers, jays, woodpeckers and thrushes, not to mention several species of raptors.


The park’s aquatic environment consists of five small lakes and a dense network of brooks and streams, home primarily to brook trout. However, the threespine stickleback, the American eel and Atlantic salmon number among the fish species that either inhabit this environment or have been sighted in it. Fishing in fresh water (ponds, lakes, rivers, creeks, etc.) is prohibited in the park.

Want to know more?
Come visit the park and meet our interpreters! They will be delighted to share their knowledge and answer your questions.

Parc national Forillon

Faune terrestre et d'eau douce

 
Renardeaux qui s'amusent en attendant le retour de leur mère. © Stéphane Marchand 

La plupart des espèces animales typiques de la forêt boréale sont présentes dans le parc et plusieurs sont facilement observables.

Mammifères

La forêt du parc abrite 43 espèces de mammifères, tels que l’orignal, l’ours noir, le porc-épic, la marmotte, le castor, le renard roux, le lynx, l’hermine, le lièvre d'Amérique et l'écureuil roux, ainsi qu’une variété de plus petits mammifères (souris, campagnols, chauves-souris) qui sont tout aussi importants dans l'équilibre écologique. 

Oiseaux

Les espèces d’oiseaux terrestres aussi sont abondantes dans le parc : on en dénombre 246, dont 125 qui y font leur nid. Les forêts et les champs accueillent de petits oiseaux tels que bruants, parulines, geais, pics et grives, sans compter plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux de proie.

Poissons

Cinq lacs de petite taille et un dense réseau de petits cours  d’eau constituent le milieu aquatique du parc. Celui-ci abrite essentiellement l’omble de fontaine. Mais l’épinoche à trois épines, l’anguille d’Amérique et le saumon atlantique comptent aussi parmi les espèces de poissons qui fréquentent le milieu ou qui y ont déjà été observées. La pêche en eau douce (étangs, lacs, rivières, ruisseaux, etc.) est interdite au parc.

 

Vous voulez en savoir plus?
Visitez le parc et rencontrez les interprètes! Ils se feront un plaisir de partager leurs connaissances et de répondre à vos questions.