Common menu bar links

Forillon National Park

Park management

Mandate

As with the other Canadian national parks, Forillon National Park strives to protect and present the natural and cultural heritage of its territory; and allow the public to learn about, appreciate, and enjoy this heritage in a manner ensuring its ecological and commemorative integrity for the benefit of current and future generations.

Protection of resources
Forillon National Park preserves highly valuable natural and cultural resources.  In keeping with the objective of ensuring the integrity of ecological processes and cultural values, a range of research, restoration and monitoring programs have all come to constitute a cornerstone of park management. Indeed, the protection of resources is a vital component of today and tomorrow’s visitor experience.

Visitor experience
Visitors to the park should be able to enjoy an experience that awakens their senses, stirs their emotions, stimulates their minds and creates a bond with this very special place. Thanks to the sound management of the park’s human, material (i.e., infrastructure) et financial resources, as well as its programs, Forillon offers visitors opportunities to enjoy – in complete safety – quality experiences related to the protection of natural and cultural values. Protected areas such as Forillon National Park afford a wealth of memorable experiences and, for this reason, will preserve their relevance and enjoy strong support for their long-term maintenance. 

Education
By fostering a special act with heritage areas, educational programs undeniably contribute to a rewarding visit experience. Educational programs help improve understanding of the value of a protected area and the serious challenges associated with maintaining its integrity.
 
Laws and regulations
Forillon National Park’s mandate is based on several pieces of legislation, such as :

  • the Canada National Parks Act (2000), which stipulates that “The National Parks of Canada are hereby dedicated to the people of Canada for their benefit, education and enjoyment” and “the parks shall be maintained and made use of so as to leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations” (sec. 4);
  • the Historic Sites and Monuments Act (1953), which sets out the process for designating national historic sites;
  • the Species at Risk Act (2002), whose implementation is the responsibility of Parks Canada as well as Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Environment Canada;
  • other federal laws and regulations, particularly those pertaining to the marine portion of Forillon National Park,
  • and the applicable provisions of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.
     

Management plan

Forillon National Park Management Plan, 2010 (PDF, 4.5 MB)

If you need to view this document in another format or would like a paper copy, please send us an email at: information@pc.gc.ca

 

Coastal ecosystems restoration

Healthy Shorelines Key to Successfully Adapting to Erosion

If Forillon’s coastal landscapes are so beautiful, it’s thanks in large part to the way sea erosion has sculpted them over thousands of years.

Today, however, this entirely natural phenomenon has been accentuated by climate change and amplified by infrastructures that are not adapted to beach dynamics.

In order to protect coastal ecosystems and the activities that are conducted in them, a major program to restore the natural dynamic of coastal areas is currently being implemented.

Penouille sand bar 

Cap-des-Rosiers beach  

  • Adaptation solutions to coastal erosion  (information coming soon)
  • Natural and historical characteristics (information coming soon)

Link

Parc national Forillon

Gestion du parc

Mandat

À l’instar des autres parcs nationaux du Canada, l’objectif du parc national Forillon est de préserver et  mettre en valeur le patrimoine naturel et culturel de son territoire. Il agit ainsi de manière à assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative du site dans le but d’en favoriser, la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance chez les visiteurs d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

La protection des ressources
Le parc national Forillon préserve des ressources naturelles et culturelles d’une grande valeur. Divers programmes de restauration, de recherche et de surveillance permettent d’assurer l’intégrité des processus écologiques et des valeurs culturelles. La conservation des ressources est essentielle à l’expérience du visiteur d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

L’expérience du visiteur
La visite du parc doit être une expérience qui éveille les sens du visiteur, qui suscite ses émotions, qui stimule son esprit et qui crée chez lui un sentiment d’attachement à ce site exceptionnel. Grâce à la saine gestion de ses ressources humaines, matérielles (infrastructures) et financières, et de ses programmes, le parc offre aux visiteurs des occasions de vivre, en toute sécurité, des expériences de qualité liées à la protection des valeurs naturelles et culturelles. Parce qu’elles permettent de vivre des expériences mémorables, les aires protégées comme Forillon conserveront leur pertinence et bénéficieront d’appuis soutenus pour assurer leur pérennité.

L’éducation
Les programmes d’éducation contribuent indéniablement à enrichir les expériences de visite en favorisant un contact privilégié avec les parcs nationaux. La compréhension des caractéristiques importantes d’une aire protégée amène le public à soutenir la protection des ressources.

Lois et règlements
Le mandat du parc Forillon se fonde sur plusieurs mesures législatives, dont :

  • la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (2000), qui rappelle que « Les parcs sont créés à l’intention du peuple canadien pour son agrément et l’enrichissement de ses connaissances » et qu’« ils doivent être entretenus et utilisés […] de façon à rester intacts pour les générations futures » (art. 4);
  • la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (1953), qui prévoit la désignation de lieux historiques nationaux;
  • la Loi sur les espèces en péril (2002), dont la mise en œuvre repose sur Parcs Canada de même que sur les ministères des Pêches et des Océans et de l’Environnement du Canada;
  • d’autres lois et règlements fédéraux, notamment ceux qui concernent la partie marine du parc national Forillon
  • et la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale. 

Plan directeur

Plan directeur du parc national Forillon, 2010 (PDF, 4,5 Mo)

D’autres formats électroniques ou papier sont disponibles. Pour vous les procurer, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à : information@pc.gc.ca

 

Restaurer les écosystèmes côtiers

Un littoral en santé : la clé pour s’adapter à l’érosion

Si les paysages côtiers du parc sont si beaux, c’est notamment grâce au patient travail de l’érosion marine qui les sculpte depuis des milliers d’années.

Or, ce phénomène tout à fait naturel est aujourd’hui accentué par les changements climatiques et amplifié par des infrastructures non adaptées à la dynamique des rivages.

Afin de protéger les écosystèmes côtiers et d’assurer la pérennité des activités récréatives qui y sont pratiquées, un programme majeur de restauration de la dynamique naturelle des milieux côtiers est en cours.  

La flèche de sable de Penouille

 

La plage de Cap-des-Rosiers

  • Les solutions pour s'adapter à l'érosion côtière (information à venir)
  • Les caractéristiques naturelles et historiques (information à venir)

Lien