Forillon National Park hosts the third edition of the Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban

Trail Runners Big and Small Set to Converge on Forillon! 

 
GASPÉ, QUEBEC, October 2, 2013 – Forillon National Park is delighted to play host to the Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban for the third year in a row. This major trail running event will be held this coming Sunday, October 20, in the park’s south sector. It’s an excellent opportunity to take on a healthy challenge among family or friends while taking in the magnificent colours of a Gaspé region autumn!

Running in the great outdoors

Course en sentier

Trail running is a sport that consists in running over trails with ascents and descents as well as various obstacles (e.g., roots, holes, rocks, etc.). These races cross through a variety of natural environments, including hill and shoreline, forest and meadow. Trail running has become an increasingly popular discipline in the last several years, attracting growing numbers of participants in Quebec. Indeed, for many of these people, running in the woods offers a thrill that cannot be equalled on the treadmill or asphalt roads!

Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban 2013

Organized by EPIC-VTC, the Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban 2013 will again feature its traditional 10k course offering contact with nature and Forillon’s outstanding landscapes! Starting from Grande-Grave, runners will take the Mont Saint-Alban loop, continue along the “Une tournée dans les parages” trail until reaching Anse Saint-Georges, and then return to Grande-Grave.

Three other courses are also being offered this year. To begin with, there will be an 800 metre race for children, accompanied or unaccompanied by their parents. These little runners will start out from Grande-Grave, take the trail north of the wharf, head along the road to the Hyman Store, descend to the pebble beach and climb up the stairs to the finish line!

For beginning runners, there is 3k round-trip course between Grande-Grave and Anse Saint-Georges via the "Une tournée dans les parages" trail. Presenting little in the way of a drop, this race will enable participants to run while admiring the impressive scenery around them. Finally, seasoned runners eager for a challenge can run a 20k race (i.e., twice along the 10k course).

You can register online until October 18. For further details about the schedule, the courses or registration procedures, please visit www.epicvtc.com (in French only). Please note that a babysitting service will be made available free of charge to participating parents. (Hurry – there are only 20 places available!)

Parks Canada is proud to partner with the EPIC-VTC team to host this third edition of the Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban at Forillon National Park.

Le parc national Forillon accueille la troisième édition du Trail-Fix Mont Saint-Alban

Petits et grands coureurs : tous à Forillon!

GASPÉ, QUÉBEC, le 2 octobre 2013 – Le parc national Forillon est heureux d’accueillir, pour une troisième année consécutive, l’événement Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban. Cette grande fête de la course en sentier se tiendra le dimanche 20 octobre prochain, dans le secteur Sud du parc. L’occasion de relever un beau défi entre amis ou en famille, tout en profitant des splendeurs de l’automne gaspésien!

Courir en pleine nature!

Course en sentier

La course en sentier, aussi nommée course nature ou course en forêt, se pratique sur des sentiers présentant des dénivelés et divers obstacles (racines, trous, roches, etc.). Ces courses traversent des milieux naturels variés, de la grève à la forêt, en passant par la colline et la clairière. En plein essor depuis quelques années, cette discipline compte de plus en plus d’adeptes au Québec. Quel plaisir, en effet, de troquer le tapis roulant et les routes d’asphalte pour la sensation exaltante de courir dans les bois!

Le Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban 2013

Organisé par EPIC-VTC, l’événement Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban 2013 offrira à nouveau son traditionnel parcours de 10 km, au contact de la nature et des paysages exceptionnels de Forillon! À partir de Grande-Grave, les coureurs emprunteront la boucle du Mont Saint-Alban, poursuivront sur le sentier Une tournée dans les parages jusqu’à l’anse Saint-Georges, pour ensuite revenir à Grande-Grave.

Trois autres parcours vous sont également offerts cette année. D’abord, une course de 800 mètres pour les enfants, accompagnés ou non de leurs parents. Les petits coureurs partiront de Grande-Grave, emprunteront le sentier au nord du quai, se dirigeront vers le magasin Hyman par la route, descendront sur la plage de galets et graviront l'escalier pour traverser le fil d'arrivée!

Pour les coureurs débutants, un parcours de 3 km propose un aller-retour de Grande-Grave à l'anse Saint-Georges en empruntant le sentier "Une tournée dans les parages". Présentant peu de dénivelé, cette course permettra aux participants de courir tout en appréciant le magnifique paysage. Enfin, les coureurs expérimentés et assoiffés de défis pourront parcourir 20 km (soit deux fois le parcours du 10 km).

Vous pouvez vous inscrire en ligne jusqu’au 18 octobre prochain. Pour plus d’information sur l’horaire, les circuits ou les modalités d’inscription, visitez le www.epicvtc.com. Notons qu’un service de garde gratuit sera disponible pour les parents participant à l’événement. (Faites vite! Seulement 20 places disponibles.)

Parcs Canada est fière de s’associer à l’équipe d’EPIC-VTC pour accueillir cette troisième édition du Trail Fix Mont Saint-Alban au parc national Forillon