A Laboratory on Coastal Erosion at Forillon National Park

Parks Canada and UQAR launch a new research project at Forillon National Park

Cap-des-Rosiers Beach (1920) Cap-des-Rosiers Beach (1920)"
© Parks Canada

Gaspé (Quebec), December 2, 2013

Parks Canada and the Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) are launching a research project concerning the coastal dynamics of the Cap-des-Rosiers beach, in Forillon National Park. It is the second partnership to be struck between Forillon National Park and the shoreline erosion specialists at UQAR, who have already been inquiring into the coastal dynamics of the Penouille peninsula since 2010.

For upwards of 15 years now, erosion has caused considerable damage to the shores of Forillon National Park. In particular, spring tides and violent storms in the fall and winter have impacted the condition of the Cap-des-Rosiers beach, in the park's north sector. The study now underway until 2015 will serve to achieve a better understanding of this coastal system and to observe how the latter "reacts" to partial beach nourishment.

"The question is: What would happen if the riprap on the Cap-des-Rosiers beach was removed?" explained Daniel Sigouin, the ecologist at Forillon National Park. "Thanks to this study, we will be able to better anticipate the beach's response to the partial or total dismantling of the riprap protection." These findings will then guide the Parks Canada team toward more effective solutions for restoring the natural dynamic of the Cap-des-Rosiers beach, improving capelin spawning grounds, and providing adequate protection to the marsh located behind this beach.

"Since riprap appears to have had a considerable impact on the Cap-des-Rosiers beach, lowering it and narrowing it with each succeeding storm, the natural reflex would be to dismantle the riprap and restore the beach," explained Yves Blanchard, the person responsible for the project at the UQAR's Laboratoire de dynamique et de gestion intégrée des zones côtières [Laboratory of coastal area dynamics and integrated management], under Professor Pascal Bernatchez. "However, we still lack some knowledge in this field, which explains why this project will be useful. Assuming that the conclusion was reached that it was appropriate to remove the riprap, the UQAR Laboratoire sees a highly valuable opportunity to study this type of intervention, which has been rarely documented either in Canada or globally."

Cap-des-Rosiers Beach (2008) Cap-des-Rosiers Beach (2008)
© Parks Canada

One of the aspects of this project consists in nourishing the beach over an approximately 150-m-long stretch from which riprap was removed during the spring tide of December 2010. Parks Canada will carry out this nourishment operation in spring 2014. Then, in the months following, waves should naturally reshape the beach - i.e., building it up (reducing the slope) and extending it. Throughout this process, UQAR researchers will perform various surveys and analyses to see how the beach and the shoreline "react."

"Where the Penouille peninsula is concerned, the findings of the study conducted with the UQAR between 2010 and 2012 served to identify the type of infrastructures that needed to be implemented in order to enhance the visitor experience and, at the same time, protect the ecological and cultural integrity of Penouille," explained Stéphane Marchand, Parks Canada superintendent for the Gaspésie Field Unit. "We are currently building a pile bridge, which will replace the former asphalt road. In the north sector of the park, we replaced a stretch of the Route du Banc in 2011 so as to secure a lasting, safe road link while also reducing the impact of erosion on our road infrastructures. Today we are pursuing our approach along the Cap-des-Rosiers beach, in order to identify the best strategies to enable us to adapt to the phenomenon of coastal erosion."

Parks Canada is a leader in ecosystem management and restoration. The Agency works to ensure that Canada's natural and cultural heritage is presented and protected for the enjoyment, education and appreciation of all Canadians.

Information:
Michel Queenton
External Relations Manager
Gaspésie Field Unit, Parks Canada
418-368-5592
michel.queenton@pc.gc.ca
http://www.pc.gc.ca
facebook.com/ForillonNP twitter.com/ForillonNP

Un laboratoire sur l’érosion côtière au parc national Forillon

Parcs Canada et l'UQAR lancent un nouveau projet de recherche au parc national Forillon

Plage de Cap-des-Rosiers (1920) Plage de Cap-des-Rosiers (1920)
© Parcs Canada

Gaspé (Québec), le 2 décembre 2013

Parcs Canada et l'Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) lancent un projet de recherche sur la dynamique côtière de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers, dans le parc national Forillon. Il s'agit d'un second partenariat entre le parc national Forillon et les spécialistes en érosion des berges de l'UQAR, qui se penchent déjà sur la dynamique côtière de la presqu'île de Penouille depuis 2010.

Depuis une quinzaine d'années, l'érosion cause des dégâts considérables sur les berges du parc national Forillon. Les grandes marées et les violentes tempêtes automnales et hivernales ont, notamment, affecté l'état de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers, dans le secteur Nord du parc. L'étude en cours, qui se déroulera jusqu'en 2015, permettra de mieux comprendre l'évolution de ce système côtier et de constater comment celui-ci « réagit » à une recharge partielle de la plage.

« La question qu'on se pose, c'est : Qu'est-ce qui se passerait si on enlevait l'enrochement sur la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers? explique l'écologiste du parc national Forillon Daniel Sigouin. Grâce à cette étude, nous serons en mesure de mieux prévoir la réponse de la plage au démantèlement partiel ou complet de l'enrochement de protection. » Ces résultats guideront ensuite l'équipe de Parcs Canada vers les solutions les plus efficaces pour restaurer la dynamique naturelle de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers, améliorer les sites de frai du capelan et protéger adéquatement le marais situé derrière cette plage.

« Puisque l'enrochement semble avoir eu un impact important sur la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers, en l'abaissant et la rendant de plus en plus étroite au fil des tempêtes, le réflexe serait de le démanteler et de restaurer la plage, explique Yves Blanchard, responsable du projet au Laboratoire de dynamique et de gestion intégrée des zones côtières de l'UQAR, sous la direction du professeur Pascal Bernatchez. Or, il nous manque encore certaines connaissances dans ce domaine, d'où l'intérêt du projet de recherche. Advenant la conclusion qu'un retrait de l'enrochement serait approprié, le Laboratoire de dynamique et gestion intégrée des zones côtières de l'UQAR y voit une opportunité fortement intéressante d'étudier ce type d'intervention rarement documenté, tant au Canada qu'à l'échelle mondiale. »

 Plage de Cap-des-Rosiers (2008) Plage de Cap-des-Rosiers (2008)
© Parcs Canada

Un des volets du projet consiste à recharger la plage sur un tronçon d'environ 150 m, où l'enrochement a été retiré lors des grandes marées de décembre 2010. Parcs Canada procédera à cette recharge au printemps 2014. Au cours des mois suivants, les vagues devraient naturellement créer un « reprofilage », c'est-à-dire un rehaussement (réduction de la pente) et un allongement de la plage. Tout au long de ce processus, les chercheurs de l'UQAR effectueront différents relevés et analyses pour voir comment « réagissent » la plage et la ligne du rivage.

« Du côté de Penouille, les résultats de l'étude menée avec l'UQAR de 2010 à 2012 ont permis d'identifier le type d'infrastructures à mettre en place pour bonifier l'expérience des visiteurs tout en protégeant l'intégrité écologique et culturelle de Penouille, explique le directeur de Parcs Canada en Gaspésie Stéphane Marchand. Nous construisons présentement une passerelle sur pilotis, qui remplacera l'ancienne route asphaltée. Dans le secteur Nord du parc, nous avons déplacé un tronçon de la route du Banc, en 2011, afin d'assurer un lien routier durable et sécuritaire tout en réduisant l'impact de l'érosion sur nos infrastructures routières. Nous poursuivons aujourd'hui notre démarche du côté de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers, afin de déterminer les meilleures stratégies à mettre en place pour nous adapter au phénomène de l'érosion côtière.»

Parcs Canada est un chef de file en matière de gestion et de restauration des écosystèmes. L'Agence veille à ce que le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada soit protégé et mis en valeur dans l'intérêt de toute la population canadienne, tant pour son agrément que pour l'enrichissement de ses connaissances.

Renseignements :
Michel Queenton
Gestionnaire, relations externes
Unité de gestion de la Gaspésie, Parcs Canada
418 368-5592
michel.queenton@pc.gc.ca
http://www.pc.gc.ca
facebook.com/PNForillon
twitter.com/PNForillon