When the sun rises… over Jorane!

A third concert at dawn in Forillon National Park

Gaspé (Québec), July 25, 2013 – Parks Canada and Gaspé’s Festival Musique du Bout du Monde (MBM) are joining forces to present a third concert at dawn in Forillon National Park. On August 11, at five in the morning, the sun will rise over the sea, the majestic cliffs of Cap-Bon-Ami and…the one and only Jorane! With her 10 albums, hundreds of performances throughout Québec, several world tours, and artistic collaborations that are both rich and varied, Jorane is a vibrant Québec singer-songwriter-composer that we are very honoured to have with us at Forillon for this sunrise concert. We sincerely hope that you will be there too, for what promises to be a simply magical event.

Jorane
Jorane
© Valérie Jodoin-Keaton
The “Wow!” event of the summer

The concert will be held outdoors at Cap-Bon-Ami at the break of dawn. “This is definitely a daring idea,” admitted with a smile Stéphane Marchand, Parks Canada Superintendent for the Gaspé Peninsula. “It is also a different and truly unique way to experience Forillon Park and the Gaspé Peninsula. Since the first sunrise concert in 2010, the public has taken part in this exciting adventure with us! Therefore, we are very glad to be staging a third sunrise concert this year.”

At these events, the artist’s performance must blend with the wild beauty of the natural setting of Cap-Bon-Ami and the splendor of dawn at sea. “Jorane is the perfect choice,” explained Martin Roy, Director of the Festival Musique du Bout du Monde. “She is a true and inspiring artist who touches and moves us with her expert cello playing, hauntingly beautiful voice, passion, and musical flights of fancy… Her music is interesting because there’s an ethereal and very free quality to it. At the same time, it’s organic, profound and very grounded. Spectators are not about to forget this concert atop the cliffs of Forillon, with the sea at their feet!”

Forillon at Sunrise Forillon at Sunrise
© Parks Canada / Serge Ouellet

Few Québec artists have a professional path and sound that are as unique as those of Jorane, who has become an internationally renowned singer-songwriter-composer. After hundreds of shows around the world, Jorane will be here on August 11 for a 90-minute solo concert showcasing her evocative music, powerful energy and stirring songs! The program will include pieces from her most recent album L’instant aimé, as well as a number of classics from her rich repertoire. “Dawn is always a very emotional time for me,” Jorane said. “The sun comes up and life resumes. It is a time when we are surrounded by and have access to pure energy. A time when we can greet the sun, give thanks to life and offer up a prayer.”

If you plan to attend the concert, please note that you will be required to pay the park entrance fee (providing access to the park for the rest of the day after the concert). In addition, please bring a blanket or a chair (for sitting) and a thermos cup if you like. Coffee will be served free of charge in collaboration with the Centre culturel Le Griffon‘s Café de l’Anse. In the event of rain, the concert will be held indoors at the Centre culturel Le Griffon.

New partnership agreement

On July 23, Parks Canada and Musique du Bout concluded a partnership agreement to hold a musical event at Forillon National Park during Gaspé’s Festival Musique du Bout du Monde for three consecutive years (2013-2015).

Festival Musique du Bout du Monde Official Website

Quand le jour se lève… sur Jorane!

Un troisième concert au lever du soleil au parc national Forillon

Gaspé (Québec), le 25 juillet 2013 – Parcs Canada et Musique du bout du monde (MBM) de Gaspé s’associent pour présenter un troisième concert au lever du soleil au parc national Forillon. Le 11 août prochain, à 5 h du matin, le jour se lèvera sur la mer, les majestueuses falaises du Cap-Bon-Ami et… nulle autre que Jorane! Forte de dix albums, de centaines de spectacles à travers le Québec, de plusieurs tournées mondiales et de collaborations artistiques aussi riches que variées, la lumineuse auteure-compositrice-interprète québécoise nous fait le grand honneur de se poser à Forillon, le temps d’un lever de soleil. La magie sera au rendez-vous. Et vous?

Jorane
Jorane
© Valérie Jodoin-Keaton
Le « Wow! » de l’été

Ce concert se déroulera en plein-air, au Cap-Bon-Ami, aux toutes premières lueurs de l’aube. « C’est une formule audacieuse, je vous l’accorde, admet en souriant le directeur de Parcs Canada en Gaspésie Stéphane Marchand. C’est aussi une façon différente et vraiment unique de vivre le parc Forillon et la Gaspésie. Depuis la première édition, en 2010, les gens partagent cette belle folie avec nous! On est donc très heureux d’offrir ce troisième concert au lever du soleil, cette année.»

Lors d’un tel événement, la performance de l’artiste doit se marier à la beauté sauvage de l’écrin naturel qu’est le Cap-Bon-Ami, ainsi qu’à la splendeur d’une aube sur la mer. « Jorane est un choix tout indiqué, explique Martin Roy, directeur du Festival Musique du Bout du Monde. C’est une artiste authentique et inspirante, qui nous touche, nous fait vibrer par son violoncelle, sa voix de fée, sa fougue, ses envolées musicales… C’est intéressant, parce que la musique de Jorane a un côté aérien, très libre et, en même temps, un côté organique, profond, très « groundé ». Du haut des falaises de Forillon, avec la mer à vos pieds, vous n’êtes pas prêts d’oublier ça! »

Lever de soleil sur Forillon Lever de soleil sur Forillon
© Parcs Canada / Serge Ouellet
En effet, peu d’artistes au Québec ont un parcours et un son aussi singuliers que l’auteure-compositrice-interprète de renommée internationale qu’est devenue Jorane. Après des centaines de prestations autour du monde, voilà Jorane en solo! Musique évocatrice, moments extrêmes et chansons enivrantes, l’artiste offrira le 11 août un concert solo d’une durée de 90 minutes. Au programme : les pièces de son tout dernier album L’instant aimé et certains incontournables de son riche répertoire. « Le petit matin est toujours un moment très émotif pour moi, confie Jorane. Le lever du soleil, de la vie. L'énergie pure qui nous entoure et qui s'offre à nous. Un salut au soleil, un merci à la vie, une prière. »

À prévoir : les droits d’entrée au parc (valides pour toute la journée suivant le concert), une couverture ou une chaise (pour s’asseoir) et, si désiré, une tasse thermos. Le café sera offert gratuitement aux spectateurs, en collaboration avec le Café de l’Anse du Centre culturel Le Griffon. En cas de pluie, le concert sera présenté au Centre culturel Le Griffon.

Nouvelle entente de partenariat

Parcs Canada et Musique du Bout du Monde ont conclu le 23 juillet dernier une entente de partenariat. Cette entente prévoit la présentation d’un événement musical au parc national Forillon dans le cadre de la programmation du Festival Musique du bout du monde de Gaspé et ce, pour trois années consécutives (2013-2015).

Site Web officiel de : Festival Musique du Bout du Monde