Cyclists Descend on Forillon Park

Parks Canada Joins Forces with Club Vélocipeg for the 2013 Bouette et Bitume Cycling Festival

Bouette et Bitume 2012 Photo: Pierre-Mark Lavoie

Gaspé (Quebec), August 15, 2013 – Parks Canada and Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé are joining forces to hold the Fondo component of the Festival cycliste Bouette et Bitume 2013 in Forillon National Park. For the second year in a row, cyclists will take up two major sporting challenges, the Gran Fondo Forillon and the Medio Fondo Forillon, in the heart of some of the most spectacular landscapes in Canada.

What is a Fondo?

 The Italian expression Gran fondo may be loosely translated into English as “big ride”. In the world of cycling, this term refers to a timed race combining the pleasure of a bicycle ride with the excitement of competition. This type of event, which has been very popular in Europe for decades, is gradually gaining ground in North America.

Bouette et Bitume 2012 © Parks Canada, Serge Ouellet

Cyclists are invited to take part in the Gran Fondo Forillon on Sunday, September 1. During this 95-km trek around Forillon Peninsula, participants will bicycle in a friendly atmosphere through Forillon Park and picturesque villages such as L’Anse-au-Griffon, Cap-des-Rosiers and Cap-aux-Os. The Medio Fondo Forillon follows a superb 45-km route between the Grande-Grave heritage site (in the South Area of the park) and downtown Gaspé.

(Re-)discover the joy of cycling

The Bouette et Bitume cycling festival, like Forillon National Park, helps to position the tip of the Gaspé Peninsula as one of Québec’s “must-see” outdoor destinations. With its festive and appealing program, the festival invites all cycling enthusiasts, from beginners to the highly experienced, to take part in a thrilling adventure in a magnificent setting. “The Bouette et Bitume festival reflects Parks Canada’s commitment to foster inspiring encounters between local residents and the treasures that we protect on their behalf,” explained Parks Canada Superintendent for the Gaspé Peninsula, Stephane Marchand.

Bouette et Bitume 2012 © Parks Canada, Serge Ouellet

According to Jean-François Tapp, President of the Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé, “The Gran Fondo Forillon gives athletes a unique opportunity to meet a cycling challenge on a course that is second to none in Canada and, at the same time, enjoy everything that the Gaspé Peninsula has to offer!”

Therefore, it is with great enthusiasm that Parks Canada joins Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé to invite you to participate in large numbers in the Festival cycliste Bouette et Bitume 2013. To register or obtain more information, visit the festival’s website at www.bouetteetbitume.com or the “Gaspé Bouette et Bitume” Facebook page.

Les cyclistes à l’assaut du parc Forillon

Parcs Canada s’associe au Club Vélocipeg pour présenter le Festival Bouette et Bitume 2013

Bouette et Bitume 2012 Photo : Pierre-Mark Lavoie

Gaspé (Québec), le 15 août 2013 – Parcs Canada et le Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé s’associent pour présenter le volet Fondo du Festival cycliste Bouette et bitume 2013 au parc national Forillon. Pour une deuxième année consécutive, les cyclistes relèveront donc deux défis sportifs d’envergure, le Gran Fondo Forillon et le Medio Fondo Forillon, au cœur de paysages grandioses comptant parmi les plus spectaculaires au pays.

Un Fondo?

L’expression italienne Gran fondo peut se traduire en français par « le Grand Tour ». Dans le domaine du cyclisme, ce terme désigne un parcours chronométré, mariant le plaisir d’une randonnée à l’excitation d’une compétition. Très populaire en Europe depuis des décennies, la formule gagne progressivement du terrain en Amérique du Nord.

Bouette et Bitume 2012 © Parcs Canada, Serge Ouellet
Le dimanche 1er septembre prochain, les cyclistes sont donc invités à prendre part au Gran Fondo Forillon. Dans ce périple de 95 km autour de la péninsule de Forillon, les participants pédaleront dans une ambiance amicale, traversant le parc et de pittoresques villages tels que L’Anse-au-Griffon, Cap-des-Rosiers et Cap-aux-Os. Le Medio Fondo Forillon, quant à lui, propose un superbe parcours de 45 km reliant le site patrimonial de Grande-Grave (dans le secteur Sud du parc) au centre-ville de Gaspé.





(Re)découvrir le plaisir de pédaler

Le Festival cycliste Bouette et Bitume, tout comme le parc national Forillon, contribue à positionner la pointe de la Gaspésie comme destination plein-air incontournable au Québec. Par sa programmation festive et rassembleuse, le Festival invite tous les amoureux du vélo (des débutants aux plus aguerris) à vivre une expérience exaltante dans un décor plus grand que nature. « Le Festival Bouette et Bitume rejoint l’engagement de Parcs Canada de susciter des rencontres inspirantes entre les gens d’ici et les trésors que nous protégeons en leur nom », explique le directeur de Parcs Canada en Gaspésie Stéphane Marchand.

Bouette et Bitume 2012 © Parcs Canada, Serge Ouellet

Selon Jean-François Tapp, président du Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé, « le Gran Fondo Forillon est une occasion unique pour tous les sportifs de relever un défi cyclosportif sur un parcours sans égal au pays, et de savourer pleinement la Gaspésie! »

C’est donc avec enthousiasme que Parcs Canada joint sa voix à celle du Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé pour vous inviter à participer en grand nombre au Festival cycliste Bouette et Bitume 2013. Pour vous inscrire ou obtenir plus d’information sur l’événement, visitez le site web www.bouetteetbitume.com ou la page Facebook « Gaspé Bouette et Bitume ».