Common menu bar links

Forillon Park to Stage Open House on Canada Day

Parks Canada joins forces with the local Célébrations Canada Gaspé committee

June 20, 2014 - Gaspé (Quebec) – Forillon National Park

Parks Canada and the local Célébrations Canada Gaspé committee are working together to offer the public a day of festivities and family fun on July 1 ― Canada Day. Admission to Forillon National Park will be free for the day.

Fête du Canada à Forillon
© Parks Canada / Antoine Haimeur

Forillon National Park invites families to shut down their screens and enjoy a day of escape into the great outdoors. What could be more rewarding than an activity with our interpreters? More energizing than a hike in a forest teeming with life? More fascinating than a whale-watching cruise? With a view to prompting young people to come outside to play on Canada Day, Parks Canada and Célébrations Canada Gaspé have called on WIXX, a social communication campaign staged by “Québec en Forme” that proposes making fun and free play the core of activities geared to get young people up and moving.

Parks Canada and Célébrations Canada Gaspé invite the entire public to take advantage of this day of activities to celebrate Canada Day outdoors and surrounded by music!

Quick facts 

Croisière aux baleines à Forillon
© Parks Canada / Serge Ouellet

Activities at Forillon National Park 

  • Croisières Baie-de-Gaspé will be offering two whale-watching cruises on open house day. Cruises will be free for children aged 15 years or under. Departures are from Grande-Grave wharf at 9:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. (Places are limited! Be sure to reserve by calling 418-892-5500!)

  • Access to the pool in the Recreation Centre (South sector) will be free for children aged 16 years or under from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

  • At lunchtime, visitors are invited to come to the Recreation Centre for a family picnic. Bring your favourite food, or opt for the special barbecue meal offered on site (for a fee).

    Piscine du centre récréatif de Forillon
    © Parks Canada / Roger St-Laurent
  • Beginning at 1:30 p.m. at the Recreation Centre, a rousing musical presentation will be offered by Forillon’s team of musical performers! Their mix of traditional and call-and-response songs is sure to create a festive atmosphere until 2:30 p.m.

  • Throughout the afternoon, the park’s interpretation team will hold special on-site activities. Face painting, door prizes and other surprises are in store! Parks Canada’s popular mascot Parka, always a hit with the little ones, will also be in attendance!

  • The “Québec en forme” team will be on hand at the Recreation Centre to present WIXX, a social communication campaign aimed at promoting active recreation as well as walking and biking among children aged 9 to 13 years. The goal of the campaign is to prevent a serious drop in physical activity toward the ages of 13 and 14 years.

Celebrations in downtown Gaspé

  • At 11:30 a.m. the public is invited to attend the traditional official ceremony at the Monument des Braves, near the Gaspé bridge, where veterans and representatives of the Gaspé branch of the Royal Canadian Legion will be in attendance.

  • At 8:30 p.m., at the Gaspé rest area, the concert entitled “Elvis Forever” will be presented. The impressionist Dany Vincent will masterfully personify the King in a show that has been presented in auditoriums, casinos and festivals across Quebec for more than 15 years.

Quotes


“The open house day at Forillon is THE ideal time to take a break from the routine and enjoy new family experiences. It’s a time to unwind, have fun and fill up on energy and happy memories – all in the here and now.” Stéphane Marchand, Forillon National Park superintendent.

“We are delighted to be partnering with Parks Canada for a second year in a row and to be able to offer the citizens of Gaspé this superb program of events for Canada Day.” Nancy Rochefort, volunteer for the Célébrations Canada Gaspé committee.

Associated Links

Press release - Canada Day 2013 

WIXX (in french)

Institutional links

Journée portes ouvertes au parc Forillon pour la Fête du Canada

Parcs Canada s’associe au comité local Célébrations Canada Gaspé

Le 20 juin 2014 - Gaspé (Québec) – Parc national Forillon

Parcs Canada et le comité local Célébrations Canada Gaspé s’associent pour vous offrir une journée d’activités festives et familiales, le 1er juillet prochain, à l’occasion de la Fête du Canada. À cette occasion, l’accès au parc national Forillon sera gratuit pour la journée.

Fête du Canada à Forillon
© Parcs Canada / Antoine Haimeur

Le parc national Forillon invite les familles à éteindre leurs écrans le temps d’une journée d’évasion en pleine nature. Quoi de plus enrichissant qu’une activité avec nos interprètes? De plus énergisant qu’une randonnée dans une forêt grouillante de vie? De plus fascinant qu’une sortie pour observer les baleines? Afin d’inciter les jeunes à jouer dehors en cette journée de la Fête du Canada, Parcs Canada et Célébrations Canada Gaspé font appel à WIXX, une campagne de communication sociétale orchestrée par Québec en Forme qui propose de mettre le plaisir et le jeu libre au cœur des activités pour faire bouger les jeunes.

Parcs Canada et Célébrations Canada Gaspé invitent toute la population à profiter de cette journée d’activités pour célébrer la Fête du Canada en plein air et en musique!

Les faits en bref

Croisière aux baleines à Forillon
© Parcs Canada / Serge Ouellet

Activités au parc national Forillon

  • Deux croisières aux baleines seront proposées au cours de cette journée par les Croisières Baie-de-Gaspé. L’accès sera gratuit pour les jeunes de 15 ans et moins. Les départs se feront du quai de Grande-Grave à 9 h 30 et 13 h. (Les places sont limitées! Réservez rapidement au 418 892-5500!)

  • L’accès à la piscine du Centre récréatif (secteur Sud) sera gratuit pour les jeunes de 16 ans et moins, de 10 h à 17 h.

  • Pour le dîner, les visiteurs sont conviés au Centre récréatif pour un pique-nique familial. Ils pourront apporter leur casse-croûte préféré, ou profiter du menu « Spécial BBQ » offert sur place (coût à prévoir).

    Piscine du centre récréatif de Forillon
    © Parcs Canada / Roger St-Laurent
  • Dès 13 h 30, au Centre récréatif, une prestation musicale endiablée sera offerte par l’équipe d’interprètes-musiciens de Forillon! Airs traditionnels et chansons à répondre se succéderont dans une ambiance festive jusqu’à 14 h 30.

  • Tout l’après-midi, l’équipe d’interprètes du parc proposera des animations sur le site. Maquillages, prix de présence et autres surprises attendent les visiteurs. La populaire mascotte Parka, qui fait toujours le bonheur des tout-petits, sera également au rendez-vous!

  • L’équipe de Québec en forme sera présente au Centre récréatif pour présenter WIXX, une campagne de communication sociétale visant à promouvoir les loisirs et les déplacements actifs chez les jeunes de 9 à 13 ans. Son objectif est de prévenir la chute importante de l’activité physique vers l’âge de 13 et 14 ans.

Célébrations au centre-ville de Gaspé

  • À 11 h 30, la population est invitée à assister à la traditionnelle cérémonie protocolaire au monument des Braves, près du pont de Gaspé, en présence d’anciens combattants et de représentants de la Légion royale canadienne de Gaspé.

  • À 20 h 30, à la halte routière de Gaspé, le concert « Elvis Forever » sera présenté. L’imitateur Dany Vincent y personnifie « le King » avec brio, dans un spectacle présenté dans les salles de spectacles, casinos et festivals du Québec depuis plus de 15 ans.

Citations

« La journée portes ouvertes à Forillon, c’est LE moment de décrocher de la routine et de vivre de nouvelles expériences en famille. On se repose, on s’amuse, on fait le plein d’énergie et de beaux souvenirs, ici et maintenant ». Stéphane Marchand, directeur du parc national Forillon

« Nous sommes très heureux de nous associer à Parcs Canada, pour une deuxième année, pour proposer à la population de Gaspé cette superbe programmation pour la Fête du Canada ». Nancy Rochefort, bénévole, comité Célébrations Canada Gaspé.

Liens connexes

Communiqué - Fête du Canada 2013

WIXX