Common menu bar links

Florent Vollant to give sunrise concert at Forillon National Park

Come Listen to the Earth’s Heartbeat

July 22, 2014 Gaspé, Quebec Parks Canada

This coming August 10, Parks Canada and the city of Gaspé’s Festival Musique du Bout du Monde will be presenting a sunrise concert by singer-songwriter Florent Vollant at Forillon National Park.

Florent Vollant The singer-songwriter Florent Vollant
Credit: Claude Dolbec

Hailing from the Innu community of Maliotenam, in the vicinity of Sept-Îles on the North Shore of the St. Lawrence River, Florent Vollant first achieved fame on Quebec’s music scene as a member of the group Kashtin. He then went on to release three solo albums and collaborate on numerous projects of musician friends such as Richard Séguin, Marc Déry, Zachary Richard, Chloé Ste-Marie and Alexandre Belliard. This year Vollant will be launching a new album and touring in France, Quebec and Canada.

Florent Vollant will be making a stop amid the breathtaking cliffs of Cap-Bon-Ami, as the sun rises out of the sea – a unique moment to join us and listen to the earth’s heartbeat.

By offering this experience to visitors to Forillon National Park, Parks Canada seeks to bring Canadians into closer contact with nature, in keeping with a priority of the National Conservation Plan. Parks Canada’s sustained efforts to stage activities and special events in natural settings help to enhance the experience of visitors at national parks across the country.

Cap Bon Ami at sunrise Majestic Cap-Bon-Ami at sunrise
© Parks Canada, Antoine Haimeur

Quick facts

  • Singer-songwriter Florent Vollant will be giving a concert at Cap-Bon-Ami, in Forillon National Park’s northern sector, on August 10, 2014 at 5 a.m.
  • The performer will offer a concert where pure sounds, vocals and melodies will captivate listeners. Florent Vollant will draw on his Aboriginal folk style, powerful rhythms and great charisma to sing the values that he holds dear: the earth, hope, fraternity and peace.
  • This sunrise concert at Forillon National Park, held in collaboration with the Festival Musique du Bout du Monde, is the fourth of its kind.
  • So that all concert-goers may enjoy an optimal experience, seating is limited and no tickets will be sold at Forillon National Park on the morning of the concert. Hurry and purchase your ticket now! For further information, please visit www.musiqueduboutdumonde.com (under “Billetterie” [Tickets]).

Quote

“For an event like this, the spirit of the performer must naturally blend with the spirit of the place. Florent Vollant is a deeply engaged, inspiring performer. Proud of his culture, he is also a tireless advocate of harmony between man and nature. We are very proud to welcome him in the wild setting of Cap-Bon-Ami, where dawn at seaside will provide a stunning backdrop.”

Stéphane Marchand, Forillon National Park Superintendent

Institutional links

Concert de Florent Vollant au lever du jour, au parc national Forillon

Entendre battre le cœur de la terre

Le 22 juillet 2014 Gaspé (Québec) Parcs Canada

Florent Vollant L’artiste Florent Vollant
Photo : Claude Dolbec

Parcs Canada et le Festival Musique du Bout du Monde (FMBM) de Gaspé présenteront, le 10 août prochain, un concert de l’artiste Florent Vollant au lever du soleil, au parc national Forillon.

Originaire de la communauté innue de Maliotenam, près de Sept-Îles sur la Côte-Nord, Florent Vollant s’est d’abord fait connaître sur la scène artistique québécoise comme membre du groupe Kashtin. L’auteur-compositeur-interprète nous a ensuite offert trois albums solos, en plus de collaborer à de nombreux projets d’amis musiciens dont Richard Séguin, Marc Déry, Zachary Richard, Chloé Ste-Marie et Alexandre Belliard. L’artiste lancera cette année un tout nouvel album, et offrira des concerts en France, au Québec et au Canada.

Florent Vollant fera escale dans le décor des majestueuses falaises du Cap-Bon-Ami, le temps d’un lever de soleil sur la mer. Le temps d’écouter, avec nous, battre le cœur de la terre.

En offrant cette expérience aux visiteurs du parc national Forillon, Parcs Canada souhaite rapprocher les Canadiens et Canadiennes de la nature, une priorité identifiée dans le Plan national de conservation. En effet, les efforts soutenus déployés par Parcs Canada pour mettre sur pied des activités et événements spéciaux en pleine nature rehaussent l'expérience des visiteurs des parcs nationaux d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

Cap Bon Ami au lever du soleil Le majestueux Cap-Bon-Ami, au lever du soleil
© Parcs Canada, Antoine Haimeur

Les faits en bref

  • L’artiste Florent Vollant offrira un concert au Cap-Bon-Ami, dans le secteur Nord du parc national Forillon, dimanche le 10 août prochain, à 5 h du matin.
  • L’artiste offrira un concert aux sonorités chaudes et épurées, laissant toute la place à la voix et aux mélodies. Avec son folk d’inspiration amérindienne, ses rythmes puissants et son charisme rassembleur, Florent Vollant chantera les valeurs qui lui tiennent à cœur : la terre, l’espoir, la fraternité et la paix.
  • Il s’agit d’un quatrième concert au lever du soleil au parc national Forillon, en collaboration avec le Festival Musique du Bout du Monde.
  • Afin d’assurer à tous les spectateurs une expérience optimale, les places sont limitées et il n’y aura aucun billet en vente au parc national Forillon le matin du concert. Procurez-vous votre billet sans tarder! Pour plus de détails, visitez le www.musiqueduboutdumonde.com (section Billetterie).

Citation

« Pour un tel événement, l’esprit de l’artiste doit se marier naturellement à l’esprit des lieux. Florent Vollant est un artiste profondément engagé et inspirant. Fier de sa culture, il prône sans relâche l’harmonie entre les hommes et la nature. Nous sommes très fiers de l’accueillir dans l’écrin sauvage du Cap-Bon-Ami, dans toute la splendeur d’une aube sur la mer. »

Stéphane Marchand, directeur du parc national Forillon