Common menu bar links

Gaspé’s Bouette et Bitume Cycling Festival Is Back for Its Third Edition!

Parks Canada and Club Vélocipeg Consolidate Their Partnership

March 24, 2014 - Gaspé (Quebec) - Parks Canada and Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé, organizer of the Bouette et Bitume Cycling Festival, are proud to announce that they have consolidated their partnership and are planning to hold the third Gran Fondo Forillon cycling challenge.

Bouette et Bitume
Gran Fondo Forillon at Grande-Grave
© Parks Canada / Éric Leblanc

This year, for the very first time, Forillon National Park will host the entire “bitume” – or road biking -- portion of the festival. Activities will take place on the magnificent Grande-Grave heritage site on Sunday, August 31. Grande-Grave was chosen not only for its beautiful setting, but also because of the advantages it can offer festival participants in terms of safety and accessibility.

For this third edition of the Gran Fondo Forillon, the organizers will present participants with new routes that wind their way through the park’s enchanting sea and mountain landscapes. Once again, the routes have been laid out bearing in mind the cycling skills of all participants, from beginners to families to the most seasoned cyclists. The choice is all yours!

Quick facts

  • For this third edition of the festival, the Gran Fondo Forillon activities will be held in Forillon National Park, on three different courses designed to satisfy all levels of cyclists: the Gran Fondo (125 km), the Medio Fondo (85 km) and the Petit Fondo (50 km). All the courses will provide cyclists with a special opportunity to connect with nature and the sea.
  • In addition to offering challenges to sports cyclists, the festival will invite families to take up the Virée Santé charity challenge. The Pico Fondo Forillon (2 km) will also be back for children 10 years of age and under, providing them with a first-time racing experience on a course laid out for grown-ups.
  • Registration is scheduled to begin on April 1, 2014. Full details and registration procedures will be available on the event’s website at www.bouetteetbitume.com .
  • Gaspé’s Bouette et Bitume cycling festival is the first event of its kind in Québec to combine both mountain and road cycling activities. For its third edition, the festival is expecting over 400 participants from Quebec, the Maritimes and Ontario.
  • Parks Canada is proud to join forces with Club Vélocipeg for the Gran Fondo Forillon, one of the few cycling events to be held in a park that belongs to the Parks Canada network. In Quebec, the Défi Vélo Mag is the only cycling event held annually in La Mauricie National Park.

Institutional links

Le Festival Bouette et Bitume de Gaspé : une 3e édition renouvelée!

Parcs Canada et le Club Vélocipeg consolident leur partenariat

24 mars 2014 - Gaspé (Québec) - Parcs Canada et le Club Vélocipeg de Gaspé, organisateur du Festival cycliste Bouette et Bitume, sont fiers d’annoncer la bonification de leur partenariat et dévoilent leurs intentions visant la tenue du troisième défi cyclosportif Le Gran Fondo Forillon.

Bouette et Bitume
Gran Fondo Forillon à Grande-Grave
© Parcs Canada / Éric Leblanc

Pour la première fois cette année, le parc national Forillon sera l’hôte de l’ensemble des activités du volet «bitume» du Festival. C’est donc sur le magnifique site maritime de Grande-Grave que seront présentées les activités le dimanche 31 août prochain. Grande-Grave a non seulement été retenu pour la beauté de son environnement, mais également pour les avantages que ce site procure aux participants en termes de sécurité et d’accessibilité.

De plus, cette troisième édition du Gran Fondo Forillon permettra aux organisateurs de proposer de nouveaux parcours aux participants. Ces parcours, qui sillonneront les décors enchanteurs de mer et de montagnes que propose le parc, s’adressent une fois de plus à tous les niveaux de participants: des parcours pour les débutants, la famille, mais aussi pour les plus aguerris. À vous de choisir!

Les faits en bref

  • Pour cette troisième édition, les activités du Gran Fondo Forillon se dérouleront au parc national Forillon et se déclineront en trois parcours distincts conçus pour plaire aux cyclistes de tous les niveaux; le Gran Fondo (125 km), le Medio Fondo (85 km) et le Petit Fondo (50 km). Tous les parcours permettront aux cyclistes un contact privilégié avec la nature et la mer.
  • En plus des défis pour les cyclosportifs, les familles ne sont pas en reste avec le défi caritatif la Virée Santé. Le Pico Fondo Forillon (2 km) est également de retour pour permettre aux enfants de 10 ans et moins de vivre une première expérience de course sur le parcours des grands.
  • L’ouverture des inscriptions est prévue pour le 1er avril 2014. Tous les détails, renseignements et modalités d’inscription seront présentés sur le site web de l’événement au www.bouetteetbitume.com.
  • Le Festival cycliste Bouette et Bitume de Gaspé est le premier événement du genre ralliant toutes les pratiques cyclistes en un seul rendez-vous au Québec. Pour sa troisième édition, l’événement attend plus de 400 participants provenant du Québec, des Maritimes et de l’Ontario.
  • Parcs Canada est fière de s’associer au Club Vélocipeg pour présenter Le Gran Fondo Forillon, un des rares événements cyclosportifs à se tenir dans un parc du réseau de Parcs Canada. Au Québec, seul le Défi Vélo Mag est présenté annuellement au parc national de la Mauricie.