Common menu bar links

Forillon National Park of Canada

Government of Canada Invests $15 Million in Forillon National Park

Highway 132 between Cap-des-Rosiers and Cap-aux-Os will be rebuilt

Highway 132 in Forillon National Park Highway 132, in Forillon National Park, is going to be rebuilt
© Bouette et Bitume

April 23, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Office of the Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Canada's Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, announced today that Parks Canada will invest nearly $15 million in Forillon National Park to reconstruct the section of Highway 132 between the villages of Cap-des-Rosiers and Cap-aux-Os.

This reconstruction project was undertaken following the publication of a report on roadway management in the national parks of Eastern Canada. By investing in its road infrastructure as it is being done for Highway 132, Parks Canada will not only increase the security of local residents and visitors, but will also improve access to Forillon National Park and increase its visitation.

With its recent major investment projects in the Penouille Peninsula and Cap-des-Rosiers harbour, Parks Canada maintains its commitment of being a proud regional tourism partner.

Quick facts

  • The call for tenders, which will be launched soon, concerns Segment 1, a roughly 4-km stretch of road between Cap-aux-Os and the La Chute trail. The work includes the reconstruction of the roadway and its shoulders, as well as the construction of a parking lot at the highest point on the route (entrance to the Les Crêtes trail). 
  • The work will begin in June and take three years (2014-2016). 
  • The section of Highway 132 covered by the project belongs to Parks Canada. It links the two main sectors of Forillon National Park, in addition to providing a vital link between the villages on the north and south sides of Forillon Peninsula. 
  • Over the past five years, investment projects in Forillon National Park have totaled more than $26 million.

Quotes

“Our government is investing in the reconstruction of Highway 132, which is a vital access road for the local population and for visitors to Forillon National Park. This major project will further develop the potential and beauty while increasing the safety of the park in keeping with Parks Canada’s mandate. It will also promote economic and tourism development in the region.”
The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

“By proceeding with a full reconstruction of Highway 132 in Forillon National Park, our Government is pursuing its commitment to promote economic development of communities in Quebec.”
The Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Infrastructure,Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs, and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec

Related product

Backgrounder

Associated Links

Recent investments in Forillon National Park: 

Contact

Michel Queenton 
External Relations Manager
Gaspésie Field Unit, Parks Canada 
418-368-5592 
michel.queenton@pc.gc.ca
facebook.com/ForillonNP
twitter.com/ForillonNP

Backgrounder
Reconstruction of Highway 132 in Forillon National Park 

The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Canada's Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, announced today that Highway 132 will be completely rebuilt between the villages of Cap-des-Rosiers and Cap-aux-Os in Forillon National Park.

An amount of $14,910,000 from Parks Canada’s budget will be invested in this major project, which will last three years and have positive impacts on the economy and tourism.

Context of the project

In 2010, Parks Canada embarked on a roadway inspection program to gather detailed information on the state of the road network in the national parks of Eastern Canada. The project to rebuild Highway 132 in Forillon National Park was one of the Agency’s top priorities.
The rebuilding of Highway 132 will allow enhanced new visitor experiences in a setting that is both safe and respectful of the environment. This investment will not only increase the security of local residents and visitors, but also improve access to Forillon National Park and increase its visitation.

The work

In fall 2013, the engineering firm Dessau was given two mandates by Parks Canada in order to launch the design phase of the Highway 132 reconstruction project. Dessau first had to prepare the drawings and specifications for Segment 1, a roughly 4-km stretch of road running from the boundary of the park, to the north of Cap-aux-Os, to a junction point near the entrance to the La Chute trail. The firm then had to undertake a design study for Segment 2, a section of road running from the end of Segment 1 to Cap-des-Rosiers. The aim of this study was to validate the different route designs proposed by Parks Canada.

The call for tenders which will be launched soon, concerns Segment 1. It includes, in particular, the reconstruction of the roadway and its shoulders, the upgrading and replacement of the guardrails, the construction of a parking lot at the highest point on the route (entrance to the Les Crêtes trail) and the repair of existing culverts.

The work on Highway 132 will begin in June 2014 with the construction of Segment 1, which should be completed by November. Until March 2015, efforts will be focused on finishing the design study for Segment 2 and preparing the drawings and specifications. The work on Segment 2 will take place in 2015-2016.

From late April to late May, tree removal will be carried out on the rights-of-way of Segment 2 and will need to be finished before the start of the reconstruction work scheduled for June.

In preparation for the project, Parks Canada will develop a traffic management plan to minimize, as much as possible, the impact of the work on traffic and on the safety of local residents.

The 10-km section of Highway 132 covered by the project belongs to Parks Canada. A contract for maintaining the road was signed with Transports Québec in 1971 and has been renewed annually ever since.

Institutional links

Parc national du Canada Forillon

Le gouvernement du Canada investit 15 M$ au parc national Forillon

La route 132 entre Cap-des-Rosiers et Cap-aux-Os sera reconstruite

Route 132 à l’intérieur du parc national Forillon La route 132, à l’intérieur du parc national Forillon, sera reconstruite
© Bouette et Bitume

Le 23 avril 2014 - Ottawa (Ontario) - Bureau de la ministre de l’Environnement et de la ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

L’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre canadienne de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a annoncé aujourd’hui que Parcs Canada investira près de 15 M$ au parc national Forillon pour la reconstruction complète de la section de la route 132 reliant les villages de Cap-des-Rosiers et de Cap-aux-Os.

Ce projet de reconstruction a été entrepris suite à la publication d’un rapport ayant pour objectif de faire état de la gestion des chaussées des parcs nationaux de l’est du Canada. En investissant dans ses infrastructures routières comme elle le fait aujourd’hui pour la route 132, Parcs Canada permet non seulement d’accroître la sécurité des résidents et des visiteurs, mais également d’améliorer l’accès au parc et d’augmenter son achalandage.

Parcs Canada maintient son engagement d’être un fier partenaire du développement touristique régional, comme en font foi ses récents investissements pour des projets d’aménagement majeurs à la presqu’île de Penouille et au havre de Cap-des-Rosiers.

Les faits en bref

  • L’appel d’offres, qui sera lancé bientôt, concerne le tronçon 1, une portion d’environ 4 km allant de Cap-aux-Os jusqu’au sentier « La Chute ». Il comprend entre autres la reconstruction de la chaussée et des accotements ainsi que la construction d’une aire de stationnement dans la portion la plus élevée du tracé (l’accès au sentier « Les Crêtes »). 
  • Les travaux, qui débuteront dès juin prochain, s’échelonneront sur une période de trois ans (2014-2016). 
  • Cette section de la route 132, propriété de Parcs Canada, relie les deux principaux secteurs du parc national Forillon en plus de constituer un lien vital permettant la circulation entre les villages situés au nord et au sud de la péninsule de Forillon. 
  • Depuis les cinq dernières années, les projets d’investissement au parc national Forillon totalisent plus de 26 millions de dollars.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement investit dans la reconstruction de la route 132 qui demeure une voie d’accès incontournable pour la population et les visiteurs du parc national Forillon. Ce projet d’envergure permettra de développer davantage le potentiel et la beauté du parc et d’améliorer la sécurité, dans le respect du mandat de Parcs Canada, tout en favorisant le développement touristique et économique de la région. »
L’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

« En procédant à une réfection complète de la route 132 au parc national Forillon, notre gouvernement poursuit son engagement de promouvoir le développement économique des collectivités du Québec. »
L’honorable Denis Lebel, ministre de l'Infrastructure, des Collectivités et des Affaires intergouvernementales, et ministre de l'Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec

Produit connexe

Fiche d’information

Liens connexes

Récents investissements au parc national Forillon : 

Contact

Michel Queenton
Gestionnaire, relations externes
Unité de gestion de la Gaspésie, Parcs Canada
418-368-5592 
michel.queentonpc.gc.ca
facebook.com/PNForillon
twitter.com/PNForillon

Fiche d’information
Reconstruction de la route 132 au parc national Forillon

La ministre canadienne de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, a fait l’annonce aujourd’hui, de la reconstruction complète de la section de la route 132 reliant les villages de Cap-des-Rosiers et de Cap-aux-Os, au parc national Forillon.

Pour ce faire, un montant de 14 910 000 $, pris à même le budget de Parcs Canada, sera investi dans ce projet d’envergure d’une durée de trois ans et ayant des retombées positives aux plans économique et touristique.

Contexte

Dès 2010, Parcs Canada a entrepris un programme d'inspection des chaussées afin de recueillir des renseignements détaillés concernant l’état du réseau routier des parcs nationaux de l’est du Canada. Le projet de réfection de la route 132, au parc national Forillon, figurait alors au cœur des priorités de l’Agence.

La réfection de la route 132 permettra de proposer de nouvelles expériences aux visiteurs dans un cadre sécuritaire et respectueux de l’environnement. Cet investissement permettra non seulement d’accroître la sécurité des résidents et des visiteurs, mais également d’améliorer l’accès au parc et d’augmenter son achalandage.

Les travaux

À l’automne 2013, Parcs Canada a confié deux mandats à la firme d’ingénierie Dessau afin de débuter la conception du projet de réfection de la route 132. La firme a d’abord élaboré les plans et devis du tronçon 1, une portion d’environ 4 km allant de la limite du parc, au nord du village de Cap-aux-Os, jusqu’à un point de raccordement situé près de l’entrée du sentier « La Chute ». Par la suite, elle a réalisé une étude d’avant-projet pour le tronçon 2, une portion allant de la fin du tronçon 1 jusqu’au village de Cap-des-Rosiers, dans le but de valider les différents concepts de tracés proposés par Parcs Canada.

L’appel d’offre qui sera bientôt lancé concerne le tronçon 1. Il comprend notamment la reconstruction de la chaussée et des accotements, la mise à jour et le remplacement de glissières de sécurité, la construction d’une aire de stationnement dans la portion la plus élevée du tracé (l’accès au sentier « Les Crêtes ») et la réfection des ponceaux existants.

Les travaux de reconstruction de la route 132 débuteront dès juin prochain par la construction du tronçon 1; ils devraient se terminer en novembre. Jusqu’en mars 2015, on procédera à l’achèvement de l’avant-projet du tronçon 2 et la préparation des plans et devis. En 2015-2016, la construction du tronçon 2 sera réalisée.

De la fin avril à la fin mai, des travaux de déboisement des emprises du tronçon 2 de la route devront être effectués avant le début des travaux de reconstruction prévus en juin.

En vue de ces travaux, Parcs Canada concevra un plan de gestion de circulation pour minimiser le plus possible les effets du chantier sur la circulation et la sécurité de la population locale.

Cette section de la route 132, qui s’étend sur une distance de 10 km, est la propriété de Parcs Canada. Un contrat visant l’entretien de cette route par le ministère des Transports du Québec a été signé en 1971 et est depuis renouvelé annuellement.