Forillon, the Family Destination Par Excellence!

On May 1, 2013, the Tourism Intelligence Network (Transat Chair in Tourism, ESG-UQAM) identified ten trends in family travel. In the United States alone, this powerful market accounts for 100 million trips per year. In light of this analysis, Forillon National Park stands out as an ideal destination for families.

Family activity at Maison Blanchette
© Parks Canada / Serge Ouellet
  1. Travelling with toddlers
    In addition to offering numerous interactive activities designed specially with families in mind (e.g., “Creatures of the Deep,” “Ça grouille à Penouille,” “Mission Aquanaute,” etc.), Forillon National Park boasts a spectacular yet safe environment, including: natural beaches, gravel trails and footbridges all accessible by baby carriages; a range of easy- to moderate-level hikes; fully serviced campgrounds (showers, washrooms, pool, outdoor play areas); “ready-to-camp”-style accommodations; etc. Young families eager to bust out of the “work- childcare-sleep” routine and enjoy some memorable moments outdoors will adore Forillon!

  2. Catching – and keeping – teens’ interest
    Forillon will go over just as big with teens keen on nature and adventure! Why not include them in planning your stay right from the start? To tickle their fancy, there’s sea-kayaking, geocaching, ocean swimming, horseback riding, mackerel fishing, biking, snorkelling with the seals -- you name it! At Forillon, every day is a new opportunity to push your limits! As a family, take the challenge and hike to the tower on top Mont Saint-Alban, elevation 283 metres. There you can take in a stunning, 360-degree panorama embracing mountains and sea! It’s literally a breathtaking experience!

    Aquanaute activity
    © Parks Canada / Éric Leblanc
  3. A healthy, active vacation
    Parents want to get their kids outdoors and get them moving. What could generate more energy than a hike in a forest teeming with life? What could be more exciting than to see a seal suddenly surface next to your kayak? What could be more amusing than to see a porcupine waddling across your trail? What could be more inspiring than pausing to contemplate the vastness of the sea spreading away at the foot of the Cape Gaspé lighthouse? Forillon proposes a diversity of outdoor activities and inspiring activities that will delight dreamers and seasoned sport enthusiasts alike.

  4. Disconnect to reconnect
    Forillon National Park invites families to “power down” their devices while enjoying a stay in the great outdoors. In this hyperconnected world of ours, a visit to Forillon is an excellent opportunity to go unplugged and get off the grid! It’s a great way to share precious moments focused exclusively on escaping work-related stress and enjoying some family fun and R&R – in the here and now.

  5. Learning + authenticity = educational value
    Are you a history buff? Put yourself in the shoes of WW II soldier in the activity entitled “Garde à vous!” at Fort Péninsule, or immerse yourself in the everyday life of a turn-of-the-century fisherman at the Grande-Grave national heritage site? Are you curious by – and about – nature? Come meet mackerel fishermen at the Grande-Grave wharf, get your feet wet in the activity called “Ça grouille à Penouille” or discover an astonishing underwater world in “Mission Aquanaute”! When shared as a family, authentic encounters coupled with new experiences and knowledge all make for truly long-lasting memories!
    Mt St. Alban
    © Parks Canada / Serge Ouellet

  6. Volunteering
    More and more families want to “give back” in a more tangible way during their vacation. As with all of Canada’s national parks, Forillon subscribes to the principles of “Leave no traces,” aimed at promoting responsible ecotourism and the adoption of environmentally-friendly practices, including: disposing of waste properly, leaving what you find, minimizing campfire impacts, respecting wildlife, etc. This approach will enable visitors to collaborate with the Parks Canada team by actively contributing to the protection of our natural treasures.

  7. Multigenerational travel: activities and accommodation for all
    Are Grandma and Grandpa coming along on vacation this year? They’ll be delighted to share special times with their children and grandchildren at Forillon National Park. To begin with, Forillon provides a wide array of recreational and educational activities for people of all ages equipped with a healthy curiosity. Furthermore, Forillon offers several types of practical accommodations designed with extended families in mind, ranging from primitive camping to the new, comfortable “oTENTik” tent cabins, to fully serviced campgrounds (with washrooms, showers, pool, outdoor play areas, etc. ) and “read-to-camp” tent-trailers.

  8. Mobility, web and social media
    Forillon National Park, which is active on Facebook and Twitter, invites the public to connect and stay connected via social media. It’s a fun way to quickly get wind of all new developments (e.g., activities, services, discoveries, unusual sightings, etc.) and share the high points of your vacation! In addition, the Parks Canada campground reservation service can now be accessed via an app for mobile devices!

  9. Family cruises
    Would you like to see whales up closer? At Forillon, marine mammal-watching tours are on offer all summer long.
    In addition, several cruise ships put in at the Bay of Gaspé each year. Cruising is a growing trend in the tourism industry, and Forillon is positioned as a major attraction for cruise operators. A brand new permanent boarding bridge and floating pontoons now enable passengers to leave their ship aboard a shuttle boat and land directly in Forillon National Park.

  10. Respect for the environment
    Developing a harmonious relationship with our planet begins in infancy. Owing to their untamed, larger-than-life character, the protected natural treasures at Forillon National Park are a continual source of wonderment. When you immerse yourself in the quiet and beauty of nature, or feel a connection to the variety and abundance of life around you, you can’t help but feel respect for the environment. Experiences of this kind speak much louder than words…

But wait – there’s more!
A family stay at Forillon also means…

  • “Dimanches en famille” (family Sunday series) all summer long, at the Grande-Grave national heritage site. An array of games and outdoor discovery activities figures high on the agenda. Bring along a picnic!
  • The Xplorers program, in which little adventurers aged 6 to 11 years explore Forillon’s treasures according to a fun, instructive approach.
  • Hiking out to land’s end as a family! The highly accessible route is dotted with natural lookouts (often enabling you to spot whales!) and culminates at the very end of the International Appalachian Trail, at Cape Gaspé, located at the very tip of the Gaspé Peninsula. Here, at land’s end, the sea spreads away into infinity.
  • The beach at Penouille, for some seaside swimming or a family sand castle-building contest.
  • Cap Bon-Ami, to admire the cormorants, murres, black-legged kittiwakes and razorbills!
  • A whale-watching cruise, perhaps to sight the blue whale, the biggest animal that has ever existed on Earth (bigger than a dinosaur)!


And there are so many other experiences to be had at Forillon National Park, the playground for filling up on fresh air, laughter and unforgettable family experiences!

Tendances 2013: Forillon se révèle une destination idéale pour les familles!

Le 1er mai 2013, le Réseau de veille en tourisme (Chaire de tourisme Transat ESG-UQAM) identifiait « 10 tendances des voyages en famille ». Aux États-Unis seulement, ce marché très influent représente quelque 100 millions de voyages par année. À la lumière de cette analyse, le parc national Forillon se révèle une destination idéale pour les familles. Voyons ces tendances de plus près...

Activités familiales à L'Anse-Blanchette
© Parcs Canada / Serge Ouellet
  1. Voyager avec des bambins
    Outre de nombreuses activités interactives conçues spécialement pour les tout-petits (Ça grouille à Penouille, Mission Aquanaute, Les 12 travaux d’antan, etc.), le parc national Forillon offre un cadre tant spectaculaire que sécuritaire : plages naturelles, sentiers de gravier et passerelles accessibles en poussette, éventail de randonnées de niveau débutant ou intermédiaire, campings aménagés (douches, toilettes, piscine, jeux extérieurs), formules d’hébergement « prêt-à-camper »… Pour décrocher de la routine « boulot-garderie-dodo » et vivre des moments mémorables en nature, les jeunes familles adoreront Forillon!

  2. Des ados engagés
    Forillon plaira tout autant aux ados assoiffés de nature et d’aventures! Pourquoi ne pas les impliquer dès la planification du séjour? Kayak de mer, géocaching, baignade en mer, équitation, pêche au maquereau, vélo, plongée en apnée à la rencontre des phoques… À Forillon, chaque jour propose une nouvelle occasion de se dépasser. Relevez ensemble le défi d’une randonnée à la tour du mont Saint-Alban, perchée à 283 mètres d’altitude. On y embrasse un panorama époustouflant, à 360 degrés, sur la mer et les montagnes. Souffle coupé garanti!
    Activité Aquanaute à Grande-Grave
    © Parcs Canada / Éric Leblanc

  3. Des vacances saines et actives
    Les parents veulent voir leurs enfants sortir de la maison, s’activer. Quoi de plus énergisant qu’une randonnée dans une forêt grouillante de vie? De plus excitant qu’un phoque émergeant soudain près de notre kayak? De plus amusant que le dandinement d’un porc-épic au détour d’un sentier? De plus inspirant qu’un moment de recueillement, face à l’immensité, au pied du phare de Cap-Gaspé? Forillon propose une pléiade d’activités de plein-air et d’expériences inspirantes qui ravira tant les rêveurs contemplatifs que les sportifs aguerris.

  4. Déconnecter pour se reconnecter
    Le parc national Forillon invite les familles à éteindre leurs écrans le temps d’un séjour en pleine nature. Dans ce monde hyper-connecté, un séjour à Forillon s’avère une véritable cure de « désintoxication numérique ». Une façon idéale de partager des moments précieux, exclusivement consacrés à l’évasion, au repos et au plaisir en famille. Ensemble, ici et maintenant.

  5. Apprentissage, authenticité et enrichissement
    Passionné d’histoire? Plongez dans la peau d’un soldat de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale dans l’activité Garde à vous! au Fort Péninsule, ou pénétrez dans la vie quotidienne d’un pêcheur du début du siècle au site patrimonial de Grande-Grave. Curieux de nature? Rencontrez les pêcheurs de maquereau au quai de Grande-Grave, mouillez-vous les pieds dans l’activité Ça grouille à Penouille ou découvrez un monde sous-marin surprenant dans Mission Aquanaute! Les rencontres authentiques, les expériences nouvelles et le partage de connaissances en famille deviennent autant de souvenirs impérissables!
    Tour du Mont Saint-Alban
    © Parcs Canada / Serge Ouellet

  6. Volontariat
    De plus en plus de familles souhaitent « donner au suivant », s’engager concrètement pendant leurs vacances. Comme l’ensemble des parcs nationaux du Canada, Forillon adhère au principe du « sans trace », qui vise à promouvoir l’écotourisme responsable et l’adoption de pratiques respectueuses du milieu : gérer adéquatement ses déchets, laisser intact ce que l’on trouve, minimiser l’impact des feux, respecter la vie sauvage, etc. Une façon, pour les visiteurs, de collaborer avec l’équipe de Parcs Canada en contribuant activement à la protection de nos trésors naturels et culturels pour les générations actuelles et futures!

  7. Séjour « multigénérationnel » et famille élargie : des activités et de l’hébergement pour tous
    Mamie et Papi se joindront à vous pour les vacances cette année? Ils seront enchantés de partager des moments privilégiés avec leurs enfants et leurs petits-enfants au parc national Forillon. Outre une vaste gamme d’activités récréatives et éducatives pour les curieux de tous âges, Forillon offre plusieurs formules d’hébergement pratiques et conviviales, du camping sauvage à la nouvelle et confortable tente-chalet oTENTik, en passant par les campings aménagés (toilettes, douches, piscine, jeux extérieurs) et les tentes-roulottes « prêtes-à-camper ».

  8. Mobilité, web et médias sociaux
    Le parc national Forillon, actif sur Facebook et Twitter, invite la population à communiquer et à rester en contact via les médias sociaux. Une agréable façon d’être informé rapidement de toutes les nouveautés (activités, services, découvertes, observations inusitées, etc.), et de partager ses coups de coeur de vacances! Également, le site web de réservation des campings de Parcs Canada est désormais offert en version mobile!

  9. Croisières en famille
    Envie de voir les baleines de plus près? À Forillon, des croisières d’observation des mammifères marins sont proposées aux visiteurs tout l’été.
    Également, plusieurs navires de croisières font escale dans la baie de Gaspé chaque année. Un secteur touristique en plein développement, et Forillon se positionne comme un attrait majeur pour ces croisiéristes. Une toute nouvelle passerelle permanente et des pontons flottants permettent maintenant aux croisiéristes de quitter leur navire à bord d’une navette et d’accoster directement dans le parc Forillon.

  10. Respect de l’environnement
    Une relation harmonieuse avec notre planète s’amorce dès le plus jeune âge. Par leur caractère sauvage et grandiose, les trésors naturels protégés au parc national Forillon suscitent l’émerveillement. S’imprégner de la quiétude et de la beauté de la nature, se sentir partie prenante de cette vie qui sautille, qui plane, qui nage et qui fleurit, inspire naturellement le respect. Une expérience inoubliable, qui remplace bien des discours…

Et plus encore!
Un séjour en famille à Forillon, c’est aussi…

  • Les « Dimanches en famille », tout l’été, au site patrimonial de Grande-Grave. Au menu? Une grande marée de jeux et de découvertes en plein-air! Apportez votre pique-nique!
  • Le programme Xplorateurs, grâce auquel les petits aventuriers de 6 à 11 ans explorent les trésors de Forillon d’une façon instructive et amusante.
  • Atteindre, en famille, le bout du monde! Une randonnée accessible, jalonnée de promontoires naturels (d’où on aperçoit parfois des baleines!), culminant au bout du Sentier International des Appalaches, à l’extrême pointe de la péninsule gaspésienne, à Cap-Gaspé. La mer à perte de vue, au bout du monde...
  • La plage de Penouille, pour la baignade ou un concours familial de château de sable.
  • Le Cap-Bon-Ami, pour saluer cormorans, guillemots, mouettes tridactyles et petits pingouins!
  • Une croisière pour observer les baleines, dont la baleine bleue, le plus grand animal qui ait jamais existé sur la Terre! (Plus grand qu’un dinosaure!)


Et tant d’autres expériences, encore! Le parc national Forillon, LE terrain de jeu par excellence pour faire le plein d’air pur, de rires et d’expériences inoubliables en famille!