Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Important Safety Notices and Prohibitions

Some restrictions are required in order to protect our visitors and the park. Complete information on national parks regulations is available upon request. For more information, please call our administration office at 902-672-6350.

Park emergency personnel can be reached 24-hours a day at 1-877-852-3100.

Bridge Jumping

Diving and/or jumping from the Covehead Bridge is a prohibited activity, pursuant to Section 7 (1) of the National Parks General Regulations. The maximum penalty for violating this notice is a fine of $25,000.00.

Pets on Beaches

Domestic animals are prohibited on all National Park beaches, pursuant to section 4(5) of the National Parks Domestic Animals Regulations. This prohibition will be in effect from April 01 - October 15 annually until further notice. Anyone found in violation of this prohibition may be prosecuted under section 3(2)(b) of the domestic animals regulations. The maximum fine for violation of this prohibition is $50.00.

Pets in Buildings

Domestic animals are prohibited from entering all kitchen shelters, and washroom / shower facilities in Prince Edward Island National Park, pursuant to section 4 (5) of the National Parks Domestic Animal Regulations. This prohibition will be in effect from June 7, 2002 until further notice. Anyone found in violation of this prohibition may be prosecuted under Section 3 (2)(b) of the Domestic Animal Regulations. The maximum fine for violation of this prohibition is $50.00.

Beach Closures for Piping Plover 

When Piping Plover are present and breeding, signs are posted and the areas are closed to all public use and travel pursuant to section 7(1), General Regulations of the National Parks Act.

Related Link: Current beach closures for Piping Plover

Rappelling, Rock Climbing and Ice Climbing

Activities commonly known as "rappelling", "rock climbing" and “ice climbing” are prohibited within Prince Edward Island National Park until further notice, pursuant to Section 7(l) of the National Parks General Regulations. The maximum penalty for violation of this notice is a fine of $2,000.00.

Boating Regulations

Motorized watercraft are not permitted within the National Park waterbodies. Due to public safety and environmental concerns we ask that all boat users in and around Prince Edward Island National Park please adhere to the following restrictions:

  • All boats stay 200 metres away from all designated swimming areas. These areas are identified by white buoy markers and are for the swimming public.
  • If encountering swimmers outside these areas please slow to 10 km per hour and stay well clear of them.
  • Observe Piping Plover closure signs and do not beach your boat in these areas. Move down shore to an area not posted.

Remember that boating safety is everyone’s responsibility. We thank you for your cooperation.

Sand Dune Regulations

Walk on designated paths and boardwalks only. Do not walk on the dunes.

Marram grass is killed with only 10 footsteps. When the grass is gone, the sand is free to move around, which causes blowouts and makes the dunes more susceptible to erosion from storms. Do your part to keep the dunes as beautiful tomorrow as they are today: stay off the sand dunes and remind your friends and family of the damage they could cause if they walk on the marram grass or climb the dunes.  

Feeding Animals

It is illegal to feed, entice, or disturb any animal in Prince Edward Island National Park. Although perceived by many as an act of kindness, humans feeding wildlife can lead to increased rates of wildlife mortality. Animals fed along the road side become dependent on humans for food and lose their natural instinct to hunt. All too often, wildlife fed along roadsides become injured or killed by vehicles. The National Park Wildlife Regulations prohibit feeding of wildlife.

Parking Regulations

Roadside parking is not permitted within the park in order to protect the dunes and to provide a safe opportunity for visitors to bike or walk near this special place. Roadside parking within the park can be in violation of regulations under the National Park Highway Traffic Regulations or the Highway Traffic Act of the province of Prince Edward Island. Please park in designated parking lots located at all supervised beaches, picnic areas, and trails in Prince Edward Island National Park.

Protecting Natural Resources

Prince Edward Island National Park protects all the natural elements that make up its ecosystem. To enable all visitors to fully enjoy the park, its scenery and natural beauty, it is important to leave nature untouched and to refrain from picking flowers or taking unusually shaped rocks or patterned shells. In this way, visitors will be able to admire, identify or photograph them in their natural environment.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Bulletins importants

Certaines restrictions sont nécessaires afin de protéger nos visiteurs et le parc. Vous pouvez obtenir, sur demande, toute l'information sur la réglementation des parcs nationaux. Pour avoir plus d’information, veuillez téléphoner à notre bureau d’administration au 902-672-6350.

Vous pouvez joindre les responsables des urgences du parc 24 heures sur 24, en appelant au 1 877 852 3100.

Sauter et plonger sont interdits

Conformément au paragraphe 7 (1) du Règlement général des parcs nationaux, il est interdit de plonger ou de sauter à partir du pont de Covehead. Les contrevenants seront passibles d'une amende maximale de 25000 $.

Animaux sur les plages

Conformément au paragraphe 4(5) du règlement sur les animaux domestiques des parcs nationaux, les animaux domestiques sont strictement interdits sur les plages du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Cette règlementation est en vigueur annuellement du 1er avril au 15 octobre. Toute personne qui contrevient à cette règlementation est passible de poursuite judiciaire aux termes de l’article 3 (2)(b) de la règlementation des animaux domestiques des parcs nationaux et d’une amende maximun de $50.00.

Animaux dans les bâtiments

Conformément au paragraphe 4(5) du Règlement de 1998 sur les animaux domestiques dans les parcs nationaux, il est interdit d’amener des animaux domestiques dans les abris-cuisine et les toilettes ou douches du parc national de l’Î.-P.-É. L’interdiction est en vigueur à compter du 07 juin 2002 jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Toute violation du présent avis d’interdiction peut faire l’objet de poursuites aux termes de l’alinéa 3(2)b) du règlement susmentionné et d’une amende maximale de 50 $.

Fermetures de plages pour les pluviers siffleurs

Lorsque les pluviers siffleurs sont présents et s’accouplent, des panneaux sont érigés et les secteurs sont interdits AU PUBLIC ET À TOUTE CIRCULATION par ordre du directeur du parc national du Canada de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, conformément au paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux.

Liens connexes : Fermetures de plages pour les pluviers siffleurs

Descente en rappel, escalade et l'escalade de glace

Conformément au paragraphe 7(l) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, il est interdit de pratiquer le "rappel", l'“escalade de rocher” et l'“escalade de glace” dans le Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Les contrevenants sont passibles d’une amende allant jusqu’à 2000$.

Règlement nautique

Les embarcations à moteur sont interdites à l’intérieur des plans d’eau du parc national. Pour des raisons de sécurité publique et par souci de l’environnement, nous demandons aux personnes qui utilisent des embarcations de plaisance dans les eaux du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et près de ce dernier de respecter les consignes qui suivent :

  • Les embarcations doivent rester à 200 mètres des aires de baignade désignées. Ces aires, délimités par des bouées blanches, sont réservées aux baigneurs.
  • Si vous rencontrez des nageurs à l’extérieur des aires de baignade désignées, ralentissez à 10 km à l’heure et éloignez-vous d’eux.
  • Respectez les panneaux indiquant les zones de protection du pluvier siffleur et n’accostez pas dans ces zones.

Merci de votre collaboration, et rappelez-vous que la sécurité nautique est l’affaire de tous.

Aidez à protéger les dunes de sable: Marchez et jouez ailleurs

Marchez uniquement sur les sentiers désignés et les passerelles, et non pas sur les dunes.

L’ammophile est tuée avec seulement 10 passages au même endroit. Quand l'herbe est partie, le sable est libre de se déplacer, provoquant un endroit exposé, et rend les dunes plus sensibles à l'érosion par les tempêtes. Faites votre part pour garder les dunes de demain belles comme elles le sont aujourd'hui: restez hors des dunes de sable et rappelez à vos amis et votre famille des dommages qu'ils pourraient causer s'ils marchent sur l'ammophile ou montent les dunes.

Les animaux sauvages et la nourriture

Il est illégal de nourrir, d’essayer d’attirer ou de perturber quelque animal que ce soit dans le parc national de l’Île du Prince Édouard. Bien que ce comportement puisse être considéré par beaucoup comme un geste de bienveillance, le fait de nourrir les animaux sauvages peut entraîner une augmentation de leur mortalité. Les animaux qui sont nourris en bordure des routes deviennent dépendants des humains pour leur nourriture et perdent leur instinct naturel de chasseurs. Trop souvent, ces animaux finissent par être blessés ou tués par des véhicules. Il est interdit de nourrir les animaux sauvages en vertu du Règlement sur la faune des parcs nationaux.

Règlement sur le stationnement

Le stationnement en bordure de route est interdit dans le parc, afin de protéger les dunes et de permettre aux visiteurs de se déplacer à vélo ou à pied en toute sécurité aux alentours de ce lieu exceptionnel. Le stationnement le long des routes du parc peut constituer une infraction au Règlement sur la circulation routière dans les parcs nationaux ou à la Highway Traffic Act (loi sur la circulation routière) de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Veuillez stationner votre véhicule dans les terrains désignés à cet effet qui se trouvent à proximité de toutes les plages surveillées, de toutes les aires de pique nique et de tous les sentiers du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Protection des ressources naturelles

Le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard protège tous les éléments naturels qui composent son écosystème. Pour permettre à tous les visiteurs de profiter pleinement du parc, de ses paysages et de sa beauté naturelle, il est important de laisser la nature intacte et de résister à l’envie de prélever fleurs sauvages, roches aux formes inusitées ou coquillages aux motifs divers, afin que les visiteurs puissent les admirer, les identifier ou les photographier dans leur milieu naturel.