Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Student Achievement at Provincial Science Fairs

Parks Canada proudly presented awards to four island students for two excellent projects at the Provincial Science Fairs held on April 3 and April 24th, 2013. The awards were presented to students for their outstanding projects related to natural resources and/or coastal ecology in Prince Edward Island National Park.

In the Grades 4 to 6 category, SoumyaDeep Chowdhury and Matthew Kozma, Grade 6 students from West Kent Elementary, were recognized for their well thought out project, “Shoreline Erosion.” This project describes a 6-month survey of coastal soil erosion at Wood Islands, Prince Edward Island. Discussion included information on plant life, specifically marram grass and tree cover in erosion rates, and various methods to decrease coastal erosion.

In the Grade 7 to 12 category, Jessica Perry and Reiley MacDonald, Grade 7 students from Georgetown Elementary, were recognized for their project, “PEI Erosion.” Their project was designed to show the effects of erosion and the students also provided helpful tips on how to prevent or slow down the effects of erosion.

Parks Canada works with partners to recognize and support youth educational opportunities related to Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. We also offer a variety of interpretive programs and exciting special events at PEI National Park each summer for Islanders and visitors alike.

For a complete list of educational opportunities, special events, regular programs and new initiatives in PEI National Park, call us at (902) 672-6350 or connect with us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/PEINationalPark.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Parcs Canada souligne les réalisations des élèves de l’île aux foires scientifiques provinciales

C’est avec une grande fierté que Parcs Canada a décerné des prix à quatre élèves de l’Île pour deux excellents projets aux foires scientifiques provinciales tenues le 3 avril et le 24 août 2013. Ces prix visaient à récompenser les élèves pour leurs projets exceptionnels associés aux ressources naturelles et à l’écologie côtière du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Dans la catégorie des 4e à 6e années, SoumyaDeep Chowdhury et Matthew Kozma, élèves de 6e année de la West Kent Elementary, ont été récompensés pour leur projet bien conçu, Érosion du littoral. Ce projet est le fruit de six mois d’observation de l’érosion des sols côtiers à Wood Islands, dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Leur travail contient des renseignements sur la flore, notamment sur l’ammophile, et sur le couvert végétal, sur le taux d’érosion et sur diverses méthodes d’atténuation de l’érosion côtière.

ns la catégorie des 7e à 12e années, Jessica Perry et Reiley MacDonald, élèves de 7e année de la Georgetown Elementary, ont été récompensés pour leur projet L’érosion dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Leur travail visait à illustrer les effets de l’érosion, ainsi qu’à fournir des conseils utiles afin de prévenir, ou au moins de ralentir, les impacts de l’érosion.

Parcs Canada œuvre avec ses partenaires à reconnaître et soutenir les applications pédagogiques liées au patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. Au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, nous offrons aussi chaque été, aux gens de l’Île comme aux touristes, toutes sortes de programmes d’interprétation et d’événement spéciaux fascinants.

Pour une liste complète des activités pédagogiques, des événements spéciaux, des programmes réguliers et des nouvelles initiatives au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, appelez-nous au 902-672-6350 ou suivez-nous sur Facebook à www.facebook.com/parcnationalIPE.