Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Park Will Enforce Restriction on Dogs on Beaches

Parks Canada would like to remind visitors that from April 1 to October 15 each year, all domestic animals, including dogs and horses, are not permitted on the beaches of Prince Edward Island National Park.

Beaches across PEI provide important nesting habitat for the Piping Plover, an endangered shorebird in Canada. The presence of dogs on the beach creates a disturbance for the Piping Plover throughout its breeding season and, in early spring, can deter Piping Plovers. To prevent this disturbance from occurring, Parks Canada will be enforcing its restriction on dogs on beaches. Park wardens will be charging offenders found contravening the prohibition.

Dogs on a leash are welcome in most other areas of the park including Cavendish Grove, the campgrounds, the Gulf Shore Way (19 kilometres of paved multi-use trail beside the Gulf Shore Parkway) and over 30 kilometres of nature trails. We remind pet owners that to help keep Prince Edward Island National Park a clean and enjoyable place, they must pick up after their dogs.

Parks Canada’s mandate is to protect the ecological and commemorative integrity of land and sites in its care. It is entrusted to do this while also offering opportunities for the public to enjoy the park and national historic sites in ways that leave them unimpaired for future generations.

For more information, visit us on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/PEINationalPark and be sure to “like” us. If you are interested in getting involved in the Piping Plover recovery effort on PEI, contact Parks Canada at (902) 672-6350 or the Island Nature Trust at (902) 566-9150.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Le parc national appliquera le règlement interdisant les chiens sur les plages

Parcs Canada rappelle aux visiteurs que tous les animaux domestiques, y compris les chiens et les chevaux, sont interdits sur les plages du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, chaque année du 1er avril au 15 octobre.

Les plages de l’Î.-P.-É. abritent des habitats importants pour le pluvier siffleur, un oiseau de rivage en voie de disparition au Canada. La présence de chiens sur les plages perturbe le pluvier siffleur pendant sa période de reproduction. Au début du printemps, elle peut même dissuader les pluviers siffleurs. Pour empêcher une telle situation de se produire, Parcs Canada appliquera le règlement interdisant les chiens sur les plages. Les gardes de parc séviront contre les contrevenants.

Les chiens en laisse sont les bienvenus dans la plupart des autres secteurs du parc, notamment au boisé de Cavendish, dans les terrains de camping et sur le sentier du Golfe (sentier asphalté de 19 km qui longe la Promenade du Golfe), ainsi que sur plus de 30 km de sentiers de pleine nature. Nous demandons aux propriétaires de chiens de faire leur part pour que le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard reste propre et agréable, en ramassant les excréments de leurs animaux.

Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger l’intégrité écologique et commémorative des terres et des lieux qui lui ont été confiés, tout en permettant au public de profiter des parcs et des lieux historiques nationaux en les laissant intacts pour les générations futures.

Pour en savoir davantage, rendez-nous visite sur Facebook à www.facebook.com/parcnationalIPE (sans oublier de cliquer sur « J'aime »!) Si vous souhaitez participer aux efforts de rétablissement du pluvier siffleur à l’Î.-P.-É., veuillez appeler Parcs Canada au 902-672-6350, ou l’Island Nature Trust au 902-566-9150.