Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Girl Guides Lend a Hand to Help Protect The Park

Sarah MacDonald and Alyssa Laughlin, 1st Summerside Pathfinders
© Parks Canada

Island Girl Guides will be lending a hand to help protect Prince Edward Island National Park by planting marram grass on the fragile coastal dunes on Saturday, October 6th as part of the Girl Guides of Canada – PEI Council provincial challenge: Species at Risk and Protected Places being held in collaboration with Parks Canada.

Through this activity, the Girl Guides will be helping to prevent sand dune erosion: marram grass anchors sand dunes as its roots and rhizomes from a living net under the surface of the sand which helps to trap sand. Without marram grass, exposed sand is blown away, creating giant holes unable to support vegetation or wildlife.

The Girl Guides will undertake this hands-on activity as one of the three components for completing the Species at Risk and Protected Places challenge. Parks Canada values the opportunity to connect with Island youth in their communities and at Prince Edward Island National Park so that the next generation of leaders will know, understand and support their natural heritage.

For information on the Species at Risk and Protected Places provincial challenge visit www.girlguides.pe.ca and click on “challenge.”

For more information about Parks Canada on PEI, call us at (902) 566-7050, or visit us on facebook at: www.facebook.com/PEInationalpark and be sure to “Like” us! In 2012, Prince Edward Island National Park is celebrating 75 years of natural and cultural heritage protection.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Les Guides contribuent à la protection du parc

Sarah MacDonald et Alyssa Laughlin, 1res Éclaireuses de Summerside
© Parks Canada

Les Guides de l'île contribueront à la protection du parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le samedi 6 octobre, en plantant des ammophiles sur les fragiles dunes côtières, dans le cadre du défi provincial du conseil de l'Î.-P.-É. des Guides du Canada sur le thème « Espèces en péril et lieux protégés » organisé en collaboration avec Parcs Canada.

Les Guides contribueront ainsi à la prévention de l'érosion des dunes de sable. En effet, l'ammophile fixe les dunes de sables car ses racines et ses rhizomes forment, sous la surface, un réseau vivant qui retient le sable. Sans ammophiles, le sable est emporté par le vent, laissant dans les dunes des trous immenses où ne peuvent vivre ni végétaux, ni animaux.

Cette activité sur le terrain fait partie des trois épreuves que les Guides doivent passer pour relever le défi « Espèces en péril et lieux protégés ». Parcs Canada considère qu’il est très important de collaborer avec les jeunes de l’île dans leurs communautés et dans le parc national, afin que la prochaine génération de leaders connaisse, comprenne et défende son patrimoine naturel.

Pour tout renseignement sur le défi provincial « Espèces en péril et lieux protégés », consulter le site Web www.girlguides.pe.ca (en anglais seulement) et cliquer sur « Challenge ».

Pour tout renseignement complémentaire sur Parcs Canada à l'Î.-P.-É., appelez-nous au 902-566-7050. Vous pouvez aussi aller sur notre page Facebook, sans oublier de cliquer sur « J'aime »! En 2012, le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard célèbre 75 ans de protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel.