Common menu bar links

Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Wetlands – Dragonfly Detectives

Common Green Darner Common Green Darner
© Parks Canada

The wetlands of Prince Edward Island National Park are home to an amazing variety of plants, invertebrates, fish and birds.  Some of the most enchanting inhabitants are dragonflies and damselflies.  Sedge Sprites, Delicate Emeralds, Wandering Gliders and Ruby Meadowhawks are among the 42 species found in the park’s wetlands. 

With their bright, jewel-toned bodies and intricate wings, the adult forms of dragonflies and damselflies are instantly familiar.  Fascinatingly, these insects only become airborne at adulthood.  At younger life stages, they are aquatic and live entirely underwater. 

When dragonflies and damselflies make the transition from water to air, they leave behind their old larval cases.  These exoskeletons, or exuvia, are being collected from the vegetation growing around wetlands and shallow ponds as part of the park’s ecological monitoring program.  With careful study, exuvia can actually be used to identify the species of dragonfly or damselfly that left them behind. 

“By collecting and identifying the larval cases, we can gather important information about the abundance and diversity of dragonflies and damselflies within the park's wetlands,” says Paul Giroux, park monitoring ecologist. “This information is then used along with other measures to assess the ecological integrity of our wetlands.”

Dragonflies and damselflies are avid predators and capture other insects for food.  As such, they occupy a top position of the wetland food web and serve as good indicators of the overall health of wetland ecosystems.  By acting as detectives, tracking down the traces of these insects, park staff are working to monitor the state of these important habitats and ensure their protection into the future.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Les écosystèmes des zones humides – À la recherche de la belle libellule

L'anax de juin L'anax de juin
© Parcs Canada

Les zones humides du parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard abritent une variété remarquable de plantes, d'invertébrés, de poissons et d'oiseaux. Les libellules et les demoiselles comptent sans doute parmi les habitants les plus charmants du parc. La déesse paisible, la cordulie de Franklin, la libellule globe-trotter et le sympétrum à dos roux sont quelques-unes des quarante-deux espèces qui vivent dans les zones humides du parc.

Les libellules et les demoiselles adultes se reconnaissent immédiatement à leur corps étincelant comme des joyaux et à leurs ailes translucides. Mais, fait intéressant, ces insectes ne commencent à voler qu'à l'âge adulte. Durant les premières étapes de leur vie, ce sont des insectes aquatiques qui vivent entièrement sous l'eau.

Quand les libellules et les demoiselles font la transition de l'eau à l'air, elles laissent derrière elles leur enveloppe larvaire. Ces exosquelettes, ou exuvies, sont recueillis dans la végétation entourant les zones humides et les étangs peu profonds, dans le cadre du programme de surveillance écologique du parc. En examinant soigneusement les exuvies, on peut identifier les espèces de libellules et de demoiselles qui les ont abandonnées.

« En recueillant les exuvies et en en déterminant la provenance, nous pouvons obtenir d'importants renseignements sur l'abondance et la diversité des libellules et des demoiselles dans les zones humides du parc », explique Paul Giroux, écologiste responsable de la surveillance du parc. « Ces renseignements sont ensuite utilisés en conjonction avec d'autres mesures dans le but d'évaluer l'intégrité écologique de nos zones humides. »

Les libellules et les demoiselles sont de grandes prédatrices et capturent d'autres insectes pour se nourrir. Elles occupent donc un rang élevé dans la chaîne alimentaire des milieux humides et constituent un bon indicateur de la santé générale des écosystèmes des zones humides. En utilisant ses talents de détectives et dépistant ces insectes, le personnel du parc surveille l'état de ces habitats importants et en assure la protection pour les années à venir.