Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Coastal – Protecting Piping Plover

Caption: Parks Canada has been monitoring piping plover populations in Prince  Edward Island National Park since 1982. Caption: Parks Canada has been monitoring piping plover populations in Prince Edward Island National Park since 1982.
© Parks Canada

The piping plover, with its musical call and quick movements, is a lively reminder of our coastline’s fragile beauty.  Each spring, this internationally endangered shorebird returns to Prince Edward Island.  It nests on flat, sandy beaches and uses gravel and broken seashells to help disguise the location of its eggs. 

There are many threats to the survival of this tiny bird and its chicks.  These include disturbances of nests and the surrounding area by people and their pets.  Predators, such as foxes and crows, and unfavorable weather, such as seasonal storms and spring tides, can also destroy nests. 

Parks Canada has been monitoring piping plover populations in Prince Edward Island National Park since 1982.  Beginning in mid-April, when the birds first arrive, staff collect information on their activities, nests and surrounding conditions.  Where eggs are laid, those sections of the beach are closed to visitors to protect the nests and young chicks.  At some sites, staff put up exclosures, or circular fences, around nests to provide extra protection from predators. 

Between 10 and 20 pairs of piping plover typically nest in the park.  “Our goal,” says Linda Thomas, Resource Conservation Technician and coordinator of the park’s piping plover program, “is to have at least two chicks survive from each nest.  Thanks to the steps taken in the park to protect the plover, the productivity of our nests has generally been good.”

When visiting the Park, please respect the nesting areas of the endangered piping plover by not entering closed areas.  If you think you may have found an unprotected nest, report it to park staff.  By learning more about the piping plover and sharing this knowledge with others, you can help protect this endangered species.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Les écosystèmes côtiers – La protection du pluvier siffleur

Parcs Canada surveille les populations de pluviers  siffleurs dans le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard depuis 1982. Parcs Canada surveille les populations de pluviers siffleurs dans le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard depuis 1982.
©Parcs Canada

Le chant mélodieux et les petits pas rapides du pluvier siffleur sont un charmant rappel de la beauté fragile de nos côtes. Chaque printemps, cet oiseau de rivage en voie de disparition dans le monde entier retourne à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il niche sur les plages sablonneuses et utilise du gravier et des coquillages brisés pour camoufler ses œufs.

Ce petit oiseau et ses oisillons font face à de nombreuses menaces. La perturbation des nids et du milieu environnant par les humains et leurs animaux de compagnie, les prédateurs, comme les renards et les corneilles, ainsi que le mauvais temps, comme les tempêtes et les marées de vives-eaux, peuvent entraîner la destruction des nids.

Parcs Canada surveille les populations de pluviers siffleurs dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard depuis 1982. À la mi-avril, quand les oiseaux arrivent dans le parc, le personnel recueille des renseignements sur leurs activités, leurs nids et les conditions environnantes. Les secteurs des plages où les oiseaux ont pondu leurs œufs sont fermés aux visiteurs afin de protéger les nids et les oisillons. À certains endroits, le personnel installe des exclos, ou des barrières circulaires, autour des nids pour accroître la protection contre les prédateurs.

Entre dix et vingt couples de pluviers siffleurs nichent habituellement dans le parc. « Notre but est d’assurer la survie d’au moins deux oisillons par nid », explique Linda Thomas, technicienne de la conservation des ressources et coordonnatrice du programme de protection du pluvier siffleur du parc. « Grâce aux mesures qui ont été prises dans le parc pour protéger le pluvier, la productivité des nids a été généralement bonne. »

Nous vous demandons de respecter les aires de nidification du pluvier siffleur en évitant d’entrer dans les secteurs fermés quand vous visitez le parc. Si vous pensez avoir trouvé un nid non protégé, veuillez en aviser le personnel du parc. En vous renseignant sur le pluvier siffleur et en transmettant vos connaissances à d’autres, vous pouvez contribuer à la protection de cette espèce en voie de disparition.