Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Freshwater – Life on the Edge

Many small streams and freshwater ponds are nestled inside the boundaries of Prince Edward Island National Park. Many small streams and freshwater ponds are nestled inside the boundaries of Prince Edward Island National Park.
© Parks Canada

Many small streams and freshwater ponds are nestled inside the boundaries of Prince Edward Island National Park.  As the park stretches narrowly along the island’s North Shore, however, it includes only a small portion of the surrounding watersheds.  This means that water flowing into streams and ponds comes from land outside the park. 

“Our streams and ponds are at the bottom edge of our watersheds,” says Kirby Tulk, park ecologist.  “So water quality in the park is tightly connected to land use outside the park.  Nevertheless, there are still important steps we can take to protect our freshwater ecosystems.”

In 2007, Parks Canada began a project to improve the ecological integrity of Balsam Hollow Brook.  This stream runs through the Green Gable Golf Course and was altered during construction of the course in 1939.  To restore the brook, park staff removed concrete barriers, installed new culverts and bridges and planted native shrubs along its banks.

To understand how these changes have improved stream health, park staff, in cooperation with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans, are monitoring local brook trout.  Wild fish were captured and given PIT (Passive Integrated Transponder) tags.  Each time tagged brook trout pass special in-stream sensors, an electromagnetic signal is sent to a nearby computer. 

Researchers regularly collect this information and use it to track the movements of individual fish.  By comparing information gathered before and after the restoration of Balsam Hollow Brook, scientists will learn how the improvements have affected local brook trout.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Les écosystèmes d'eau douce – La vie à la limite

De nombreux petits cours d’eau et étangs d’eau douce se trouvent dans les limites du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. De nombreux petits cours d'eau et étangs d’eau douce se trouvent dans les limites du parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.
© Parcs Canada

De nombreux petits cours d'eau et étangs d'eau douce se trouvent dans les limites du parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Cependant, le parc s'étend en flèche le long de la côte nord de l'île et ne comprend qu'une petite partie des bassins versants environnants. L'eau qui s'écoule dans les cours d'eau et les étangs provient donc de terres situées à l'extérieur du parc.

« Nos cours d'eau et nos étangs se trouvent en aval des bassins versants », explique Kirby Tulk, écologiste du parc. « La qualité de l'eau dans le parc est donc étroitement liée à l'utilisation des terres à l'extérieur du parc. Quoi qu'il en soit, nous pouvons tout de même prendre d'importantes mesures pour protéger nos écosystèmes d'eau douce. »

En 2007, Parcs Canada a entrepris un projet visant à améliorer l'intégrité écologique du ruisseau Balsam Hollow. Ce cours d'eau traverse le terrain de golf Green Gables et a été altéré durant la construction du terrain en 1939. Afin de restaurer le ruisseau, le personnel du parc a retiré des barrières de béton, installé de nouveaux pontons et ponts, et planté des arbustes indigènes sur ses berges.

Pour comprendre comment ces changements ont amélioré la santé du cours d'eau, le personnel du parc, en collaboration avec le ministère des Pêches et des Océans, surveille l'état de l'omble de fontaine qui vit dans ce milieu. On a capturé des poissons sauvages auxquels on a attaché des étiquettes à transpondeur passif intégré (PIT). Chaque fois qu'un de ces ombles de fontaine passe devant un des détecteurs spéciaux placés dans le cours d'eau, un signal électromagnétique est envoyé à un ordinateur non loin de là.

Des chercheurs recueillent régulièrement cette information et s'en servent pour étudier les déplacements de chaque poisson. En comparant l'information recueillie avant et après la restauration du ruisseau Balsam Hollow, les chercheurs connaîtront les impacts des améliorations sur l'omble de fontaine.