Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Ecological Integrity - Monitoring Program

Ecological Integrity

A healthy ecosystem has all of its parts intact along with its natural processes and functions. A healthy ecosystem has all of its parts intact along with its natural processes and functions.
© Parks Canada

Canada's National Parks protect and preserve our natural heritage for the benefit of all Canadians. To ensure that they continue to play this role, now and into the future, Parks Canada is working to sustain or restore ecological integrity.

Working for ecological integrity means that we strive to keep National Park ecosystems healthy and whole. A healthy ecosystem has all of its parts intact along with its natural processes and functions. It is also sustainable into the future. 

Research and monitoring play a vital role in the protection of our parks. What we learn helps us to understand how ecosystems work and how they are affected by human activities. Information collected by park staff, university professors and researchers, government agencies and non-governmental organizations supports the management of the park and protection of its ecosystems.

Monitoring Program

Regular check-ups, in the form of ecological monitoring, can help to determine the current state of health and to guide management activities. Regular check-ups, in the form of ecological monitoring, can help to determine the current state of health and to guide management activities.
© Parks Canada

Regular check-ups are an important part of a healthy lifestyle. By monitoring signs such as blood pressure and body weight, people can assess the state of their health. These measures may help to uncover health concerns or indicate the need for action to prevent future problems.

Just as regular check-ups are important for our good health, so too are they important for our ecosystems. Regular check-ups, in the form of ecological monitoring, can help to determine the current state of health and to guide management activities.

In Prince Edward Island National Park, the ecological monitoring program is focused on its four major ecosystems: forest, freshwater, coastal and wetland. The condition of these ecosystems serves as the indicator for the overall health, or ecological integrity, of the park. 

A series of permanent monitoring sites have been set up in each ecosystem. Information from three categories, 1) biodiversity, 2) ecosystem processes and 3) ecosystem structure and function, is collected regularly. Together, these data help to create a complete picture of the health of the park – its current state and its changes through time.

Additional information on the Ecological Monitoring Program for Prince Edward Island National Park is available at Science in Action and in our Management Plan .


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Intégrité écologique

On dit d’un écosystème qu’il est sain quand toutes ses composantes sont intactes, y compris ses fonctions et ses processus naturels.  On dit d’un écosystème qu’il est sain quand toutes ses composantes sont intactes, y compris ses fonctions et ses processus naturels.
© Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux du Canada protègent et préservent notre patrimoine naturel dans l’intérêt de tous les Canadiens. Parcs Canada maintient ou rétablit l’intégrité écologique de ces parcs afin qu’ils continuent d’exercer leur rôle pour les générations actuelles et à venir.

Pour assurer l’intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux, nous nous employons à conserver leurs écosystèmes sains et entiers. On dit d’un écosystème qu’il est sain quand toutes ses composantes sont intactes, y compris ses fonctions et ses processus naturels. Il est également durable pour les années à venir.

La recherche et la surveillance jouent un rôle essentiel dans la protection de nos parcs. Ce que nous apprenons nous aide à comprendre le fonctionnement des écosystèmes et la manière dont ces derniers sont touchés par l’activité humaine. L’information recueillie par le personnel des parcs, les professeurs et les chercheurs des universités, ainsi que les organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, facilite la gestion des parcs et la protection de leurs écosystèmes.

Programme de surveillance

Des examens réguliers, menés dans le cadre d’activités de surveillance écologique, peuvent aider à déterminer l’état de santé des écosystèmes et orienter les activités de gestion. Des examens réguliers, menés dans le cadre d’activités de surveillance écologique, peuvent aider à déterminer l’état de santé des écosystèmes et orienter les activités de gestion.
© Parcs Canada

Un style de vie sain doit essentiellement comprendre un examen médical régulier. En surveillant certains indicateurs comme la pression artérielle et le poids corporel, les humains peuvent évaluer leur état de santé. Ces mesures peuvent aider à déceler des problèmes de santé ou indiquer le besoin d’agir pour prévenir des problèmes futurs.

Des bilans de santé réguliers sont tout aussi importants pour la santé des écosystèmes que pour celle des humains. Des examens réguliers, menés dans le cadre d’activités de surveillance écologique, peuvent aider à déterminer l’état de santé des écosystèmes et orienter les activités de gestion.

Au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le programme de surveillance écologique est axé sur les quatre principaux types d’écosystèmes qui s’y trouvent, soit les écosystèmes forestiers, les écosystèmes d’eau douce, les écosystèmes côtiers et les écosystèmes des zones humides. L’état de ces écosystèmes est un indicateur de la santé générale, ou de l’intégrité écologique, du parc.

Des sites de surveillance permanents ont été établis dans chaque écosystème. On y recueille régulièrement de l’information pouvant être classée dans trois catégories : 1) la biodiversité, 2) les processus des écosystèmes, et 3) la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes. Ces données permettent de dresser un portrait complet de la santé du parc – son état actuel et les changements qu’il subit au fil du temps.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme de surveillance écologique du parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à la rubrique La science à l’œuvre et dans notre Plan directeur .


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).