Common menu bar links

Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Species At Risk - Plants

Beach Pinweed

Beach Pinweed
© Atlantic Canada Conservation Data Centre

Beach Pinweed is a herbaceous perennial plant occurring on large and relatively stable barrier sand dune systems.

Canadian populations of Beach Pinweed are of a variety endemic to the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence and have a very limited geographic range. Only 15 populations in five regions of occurrence are known to exist on New Brunswick’s eastern coast and Prince Edward Island’s north coast.

Gulf of St. Lawrence Aster

Gulf of St. Lawrence Aster
© Parks Canada / Kerry-Lynn Atkinson

The Gulf of St. Lawrence Aster is a small annual plant that grows in wet sandy habitat found in dune slacks and along sandy streams. It has been identified at several locations in the park, but because it is an annual and not a perennial, its distribution and abundance vary from year to year.

It grows in low numbers and is found only in the Gulf of St. Lawrence region.

The Gulf of St. Lawrence Aster was recently reintroduced at Blooming Point in PEI National Park. Over 100 plants and seed heads that were grown by biologists at the University of Prince Edward Island were transplanted on the aster’s preferred and traditional habitat – relatively sheltered sandy areas that experience periodic flooding.

The dynamic and ephemeral nature of the aster's habitat, coupled with the fact that it is an annual, makes it impossible to predict where the next colony of Saint Lawrence Aster may establish. Resource Conservation personnel will continue to search and monitor for this tiny plant in years to come.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Espèces en péril - Plantes

La léchéa maritime

La léchéa maritime
© Centre de données sur la conservation du Canada atlantique

La léchéa maritime (Lechea maritima) est une plante herbacée vivace qui pousse sur les vastes systèmes de dunes relativement stabilisés des cordons littoraux.

Les populations canadiennes de léchéa maritime, qui appartiennent à une variété endémique de la rive sud du golfe Saint-Laurent, ont une aire de distribution très limitée. Seulement 15 de ces populations sont connues, réparties entre 5 régions d’occurrence sur la côte est du Nouveau Brunswick et la côte nord de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

L’aster du Saint-Laurent

L’aster du Saint-Laurent
© Parcs Canada / Kerry-Lynn Atkinson

L’aster du Saint-Laurent (Symphyotrichum laurentianum) est une petite plante annuelle qui pousse dans le sable humide des lettes de dunes et des bords de ruisseaux. On a repéré cet aster à plusieurs endroits dans le parc, mais sa distribution et son abondance varient d’année en année, étant donné qu’il s’agit d’une plante annuelle et non vivace.

L'aster du Saint-Laurent pousse en petit nombre et seulement dans la région du golfe du Saint Laurent.

L’aster du Saint-Laurent a récemment été réintroduit à Blooming Point, au parc national de l’Île du-Prince-Édouard. Plus d’une centaine de plants et de capitules cultivés par des biologistes de l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont été transplantés dans l’habitat traditionnel préféré de l’aster, soit des sites sablonneux relativement protégés et périodiquement inondés.

La nature dynamique et éphémère de l'habitat de cette plante, jointe au fait qu’il s’agit d’une annuelle, font en sorte qu'il est impossible de prédire où s'installera la prochaine colonie d'asters du Saint Laurent. Dans les prochaines années, le personnel de la Conservation des ressources poursuivra ses efforts de recherche et de surveillance associés à cette modeste plante rare.