Common menu bar links

Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada

Winter Activities

While Prince Edward Island National Park will remain open for Islanders and other visitors to continue to enjoy, facilities in the park will be closed between Thanksgiving Day and Victoria Day.

Parks Canada will continue to clear snow from the Gulf Shore Parkway between Cavendish and North Rustico and between Brackley and Dalvay to allow access, and a number of parking areas will be kept cleared for parking. However, Parks Canada will not be grooming cross-country ski trails, monitoring and removing felled trees from trails, maintaining beach accesses or maintaining Dalvay Lake for skating. Washroom facilities and warm-up shelters will remain closed. PLEASE NOTE: There will be no emergency service provided by Parks Canada.

Trail users can continue to use the cross-country ski trails by breaking their own trail and visitors can continue to explore and enjoy the park, by hiking, showshoeing, cycling, viewing wildlife or doing other activities. Anyone exploring the national park in the winter is reminded that they are responsible for their own safety and should be sure to properly prepare and plan for their trip, taking the necessary precautions to protect themselves from inclement weather and potential natural hazards found in the park.

We hope that you will continue to experience our country’s great natural and cultural heritage through visits to Prince Edward Island National Park as well as to other national parks and national historic sites that Parks Canada is proud to protect and present for all time.

For more information, please call 902-672-6350.

Parc national du Canada de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Activités hivernales

Les résidents de l’Île et d’autres visiteurs pourront continuer à profiter du Parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, mais les installations du parc seront fermées entre la fête de l’Action de grâces et la fête de Victoria.

Durant l’hiver, Parcs Canada continuera de déneiger la promenade du Golfe entre Cavendish et North Rustico et entre Brackley et Dalvay, en plus de nettoyer un certain nombre d’aires de stationnement. Toutefois, les pistes de ski de fond ne seront pas damées et les arbres tombés ne seront pas retirés. Les accès à la plage ne seront pas maintenues, le lac Dalvay ne sera pas entretenu pour le patinage, et les toilettes et les abris de réchauffement seront fermés. À NOTER : Parcs Canada n'intervient pas en cas d'urgence.

Les utilisateurs de sentiers pourront continuer d’utiliser les pistes de ski de fond, mais devront ouvrir leur propre trace, et les visiteurs pourront continuer de profiter du parc, de faire des randonnées et de la raquette, de cyclisme, d’observer la faune ou de faire toute autre activité. Nous rappelons à tous ceux qui utilisent le parc national en hiver qu’ils sont responsables de leur propre sécurité et qu’ils devraient bien se préparer, planifier leur excursion et prendre toutes les précautions nécessaires pour se protéger contre les intempéries et les dangers naturels que présente le parc.

Nous espérons sincèrement que vous continuerez de profiter du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada en visitant l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ou un des magnifiques parcs nationaux ou lieux historiques nationaux que Parcs Canada est heureux de préserver pour les générations à venir.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, composez le 902-672-6350.