Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park

Facilities and Services

White River and Pukaskwa River Paddling Routes

White River and Pukaskwa River
White River and Pukaskwa River Paddling Routes © Parks Canada

White River

Important Notice for 2014:  The White River canoe route will be closed for paddling from the current White River dam located approximately 8 kms downstream of White Lake Provincial Park to the junction of the Oskabukuta River. The temporary closure of this section of the river is due to the construction of two hydro-electric projects beginning early March 2014 and with the completion date set for May / June 2015.

For more information please contact us at: 807-229-0801, or by e-mail at: ont-pukaskwa@pc.gc.ca. You can also contact White Lake Provincial Park at 807-822-2447.

The White River offers a wilderness white-water adventure. Normally, the White is easily accessible and can be paddled any time of year during the open-water season. Many wilderness adventurers leave from White Lake Provincial Park and travel four to six days to the White River's mouth, at Lake Superior. A short paddle one-hour north on Lake Superior brings paddlers to the Hattie Cove Visitor Centre.

Pukaskwa River

The Pukaskwa River is remote and difficult route at on the park’s southern border. Navigable only during spring run-off, from May to early June, the route is maintained through the cooperative efforts of Parks Canada and Manitouwadge High School.

Outfitting and Water Taxi Services

Several local operators offer guided trips, equipment rentals, and water taxi services. For more information, contact the operators directly:

For more information, please call Pukaskwa National Park at 807-229-0801.

Parc national Pukaskwa

Installations et services

Routes de canotage des rivières White et Pukaskwa

Routes de canotage des rivières White et Pukaskwa
Routes de canotage des rivières White et Pukaskwa © Parcs Canada

Rivière White

Avis important en 2014:  La section de la route de pagaie entre le barrage existant de la rivière White, situé à environ 8 km du parc provincial White Lake, et la jonction de la rivière Oskabukuta sera fermée en 2014 à cause d’un projet de construction d’installations hydro-électrique sur la rivière White. Cette section sera fermée du mois de mars 2014 au mois de mai ou juin 2015.

Pour plus d’information sur ce secteur de la rivière White, appelez au 1 (807) 229-0801 ou écrivez-nous par courriel à ont-pukaskwa@pc.gc.ca. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le parc provincial White Lake au 1 (807) 822-2447.

La rivière White offre des possibilités de descente en eaux vives. Habituellement facile d’accès, la rivière White peut être descendue en tout temps après le dégel. Bien des personnes partent du parc provincial White Lake et descendent la rivière pendant quatre à six jours jusqu’à son embouchure, au lac Supérieur. Un court trajet d’une heure vers le nord sur le lac Supérieur mène au centre d’accueil de l’anse Hattie.

Rivière Pukaskwa

La rivière Pukaskwa, située le long de la limite sud du parc, est plus éloignée et plus difficile à descendre. De plus, elle n’est navigable que durant la crue du printemps, en mai et au début de juin. La route est maintenue grâce aux efforts combinés de Parcs Canada et de l’école secondaire Manitouwadge.

Pourvoirie et services de bateaux-taxis

Plusieurs exploitants locaux offrent des voyages guidés et des services de bateaux-taxis et font de la location d’équipement. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, contactez directement les exploitants :

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez appeler au parc national Pukaskwa au 807-229-0801.