Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

Hiking across the White River in Pukaskwa National Park Hiking across the White River in Pukaskwa National Park
© Creative Media 2011

ONTARIO'S SUPERIOR OUTDOOR ADVENTURES
by Svenja Hansen

Parks Canada is excited about collaborating with the Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation at two upcoming tradeshows in Toronto, Ontario, and Madison, Wisconsin. Tourism Ontario’s 2012 Outdoor Adventures campaign features Lake Superior’s north shore from Thunder Bay to Sault Ste. Marie.

Parks Canada staff will be at the Toronto Outdoor Adventure Show February 24 to 26 and at Canoecopia from March 9 to 11. We’ll be helping folks plan their next adventure to an amazing national park, historic site or marine conservation area in Northern Ontario.

Some of our staff will be presenting (English only) at the tradeshows. Greg Stroud will be raving about Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area at Canoecopia. Tamara van Dyk coordinates the Campout at the Sault Canal and will present in Toronto about learn-to-camp activities being offered by Parks Canada. Lyn Elliott has been eagerly exploring Pukaskwa on foot and by paddle and she will be sharing her experiences at both tradeshows. Descriptions of the presentations are below.

Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area (Greg Stroud)

Join Parks Canada staff to discover one of the most remote areas in all of the Great Lakes. Once established, Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area will be the largest freshwater protected area in the world—a place where wind and waves caress the shores of tranquil sheltered bays and endless rugged coastlines.

Paddling Pukaskwa National Park (Lyn Elliott)

What's it like to paddle one of Canada's wildest whitewater rivers? Or kayak Lake Superior's most rugged and remote coast? There's only one way to find out: Paddle Pukaskwa (pronounced puck-a-saw). Join Pukaskwa National Park's Lyn Elliott for a virtual trip down the rivers and coastlines of Ontario's largest national park.

Learn to Camp with Parks Canada Learn to Camp with Parks Canada
© Parks Canada

Campout at the Canal! (Tamara van Dyk)

Ever wanted to try camping, but didn’t know where to start? You’re in luck! There is a range of Learn to Camp programs being offered across Canada to take the guesswork out of camping...and the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site is one of many Parks Canada locations offering this new program. Join Tamara as she shares a glimpse into the Campout at the Canal outdoor weekend—just one of the up coming adventures you can have at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal and Fort St. Joseph National Historic Sites in Northern Ontario!

The 2012 Ontario Outdoor Adventures Calendar features Pukaskwa National Park’s new suspension bridge across the White River for May. If you’d like to get your hands on a calendar, they are available online, at outdoor retailers in Thunder Bay and at any Parks Canada site in Northern Ontario. Consider entering the Superior Adventure Contest to win a week on Superior’s Canadian shore, including a sailing excursion through Lake Superior’s national marine conservation area and a guided hike to the newly constructed White River suspension bridge.

Back to shoreLINES

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Randonnée pédestre à la rivière White dans le parc national Pukaskwa Randonnée pédestre à la rivière White dans le parc national Pukaskwa
© Creative Media 2011

AVENTURES EN PLEIN AIR AU LAC SUPÉRIEUR, EN ONTARIO
par Svenja Hansen

Parcs Canada est ravi de collaborer avec la Société du Partenariat ontarien de marketing touristique lors de deux salons professionnels qui se tiendront à Toronto en Ontario et à Madison au Wisconsin. La campagne Aventures de plein air 2012 de Tourisme Ontario présente la rive nord du lac Supérieur, de Thunder Bay à Sault Ste. Marie.

Les employés de Parcs Canada participeront au Toronto Outdoor Adventure Show du 24 au 26 février ainsi qu’au salon Canoecopia du 9 au 11 mars. Nous aiderons les gens à planifier leur prochaine aventure dans l’un des parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation extraordinaires du Nord de l’Ontario.

Certains de nos employés feront des exposés (en anglais seulement) lors de ces salons. Greg Stroud vantera la beauté de l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur lors du salon Canoecopia, tandis que Tamara van Dyk, qui coordonne l’activité Venez camper au canal, fera une présentation à Toronto au sujet du programme d’initiation au camping offert par Parcs Canada. Lyn Elliott, qui a exploré avec enthousiasme le parc national Pukaskwa à pied et sur l’eau, présentera aussi ses expériences lors des deux salons. Voici une description de ces présentations.

Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur (Greg Stroud)

Joignez-vous aux employés de Parcs Canada pour découvrir l’une des régions les plus isolées des Grands Lacs. Lorsqu’elle aura été établie, l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur sera la plus grande aire protégée en eau douce dans le monde : un endroit où le vent et les vagues caressent les rives des petites baies abritées et le littoral sauvage qui s’étend à l’infini.

Le parc national Pukaskwa en kayak (Lyn Elliott)

Que ressent-on en descendant l’une des rivières les plus tumultueuses du Canada? Ou lorsqu’on découvre en kayak les rives les plus sauvages et isolées du lac Supérieur? Il n’y a qu’une façon de le savoir : visitez Pukaskwa en kayak (on prononce « pâc-à-ça »). Accompagnez Lyn Elliott du parc national Pukaskwa dans un voyage virtuel sur les rivières et les côtes du plus grand parc national de l’Ontario.

Activité d’initiation au camping offerte par Parcs Canada Activité d’initiation au camping offerte par Parcs Canada
© Parcs Canada

Venez camper au canal! (Tamara van Dyk)

Avez-vous déjà souhaité faire du camping sans trop savoir par où commencer? Vous avez de la chance! De nombreuses activités d’initiation au camping sont organisées partout au Canada pour vous enseigner les rudiments de ce loisir... et le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie est l’un des nombreux endroits administrés par Parcs Canada qui vous offrent ce nouveau programme. Venez rencontrer Tamara pour avoir un aperçu du week-end en plein air Venez camper au canal, l’une des aventures qui vous seront offertes aux lieux historiques nationaux du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie et du Fort-St. Joseph dans le Nord de l’Ontario!

Le Calendrier 2012 des aventures de plein air en Ontario présente le nouveau pont suspendu du parc national Pukaskwa au-dessus de la rivière White, qui sera accessible en mai. Si vous désirez avoir un calendrier, demandez-en un en ligne, dans une boutique de plein air à Thunder Bay ou dans un endroit administré par Parcs Canada dans le Nord de l’Ontario. Pourquoi ne pas participer au Super concours d’aventure? Vous pourriez gagner un séjour d’une semaine sur le littoral canadien du lac Supérieur qui comprend une excursion en bateau à voile dans l’aire marine nationale de conservation ainsi qu’une randonnée pédestre guidée jusqu’au nouveau pont suspendu qui traverse la rivière White.

au fil de L'EAU