Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

Fire Report


Fire's Continue at Pukaskwa
© Parks Canada
 
Heron Bay, Ontario, September 25, 2012 – Pukaskwa National Park of Canada continues to monitor 3 lightning fires and the Cascade Lake prescribed fire site.
 
The Cascade Lake prescribed fire operation was completed on September 10 using a helicopter equipped with an aerial ignition device. The total area burned was approximately 215 hectares. The prescribed burn site area is now exhibiting very little activity. It is expected to smoulder in a few isloated areas for the next few weeks. These isolated, smouldering pockets are contained by natural boundaries and will self-extinguish with the onset of colder temperatures.
 
Cascade Lake is a 1000 hectare mixed-wood site that has been managed with four separate operations over the past several years. Pukaskwa’s fire team is now close to meeting its goal of regenerating 65% of the site. This will lead to a healthier and more biodiverse ecosystem.
 
Four lightning-started fires remain within the park boundaries.Three are located on remote ridgetop areas within the coastal zone of the park, and the fourth is located in the interior of the park. The largest fires (1 & 2) are along the coast and are 15 hectares each. The remaining two are less than one hectare each. These fires are also exhibiting minimal spreading activity and will smoulder until self-extinguished by natural elements. The park’s fire team will continue to closely monitor moisture conditions of the forest biomass, to ensure that conditions remain optimal for self-extinguishment.
 
Due to the isolated locations, these fires pose no risk to park visitors or property.

GEOGRAPHIC LOCATION OF THE PRESCRIBED FIRE IS:

  • Cascade Lake
    • 80 kilometres west of Wawa
    • 72 kilometres southeast of Marathon
    • 68 kilometres from White River
    • 10 kilometres from Lake Superior

Contact Us


Fire crews continue to monitor the three other lightning fires and the Cascade Lake prescribed fire site.
© Parks Canada

Heron Bay, Ontario, September 12, 2012 – Another small lightening started fire has been detected in Pukaskwa National Park early Wednesday morning. This fire is
located near the northern boundary of the park and is currently being evaluated. The largest of these lightning started fires is 10 hectares and the smallest is at 0.1 hectares.

All four are located in remote areas of the park and due to the isolated location, currently pose no risk to park visitors or property. Fire crews continue to monitor the three other lightning fires and the Cascade Lake prescribed fire site.

The Cascade Lake prescribed fire operation began on September 10 using a helicopter equipped with an aerial ignition device. The fire is contained within defined natural boundaries, covering an estimated 300 hectares. The prescribed fire site remains active and will continue to smoulder throughout the weekend.

Smoke drift from the fires is forecasted to continue for the next few days. It is likely that smoke will be visible by some people, and in some areas, depending on the wind direction, some people may smell smoke.

Wildfire and prescribed fires are an important part of the cycle of healthy forest succession.

Contact Us


Pukaskwa's fire crew has detected 5 fires in the park caused by recent lightning activity.
© Parks Canada

Heron Bay, Ontario, September 10, 2012 – Pukaskwa's fire crew has detected 5 fires in the park caused by recent lightning activity. Three fires have been exinguished, and the remaining sites are being monitored by our fire management specialist. The two last fires are all located on high ridgetops, and the potential for spreading is limited. The largest of these “spot fires” is approximately 3 hectares.

Pukaskwa National Park has an expert team of fire specialists, who continuously monitor the park for fire activity. All fires are assessed to determine the most appropriate response based on human safety, ecosystem management objectives, economic costs, and facility protection.

Given the weather conditions, the Pukaskwa team is currently evaluating the potential for ignition of two prescribed fires: near the Tip Top Mountain and also at Cascade Lake.

Wildfire and prescribed fires are an important part of the cycle of healthy forest succession.

Due to their isolated locations, these fires pose no risk to park visitors, or property.

Contact Us

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

Rapport d'incendie


Les feux se poursuivent à Pukaskwa
© Parcs Canada

Heron Bay (Ontario), le 25 septembre 2012 –
Le parc national du Canada Pukaskwa continue de surveiller trois incendies causés par la foudre ainsi que le site de brûlage dirigé du lac Cascade.

L’opération de brûlage dirigé du lac Cascade s’est déroulée le 10 septembre au moyen d’un hélicoptère équipé d’un dispositif d’allumage aérien. La zone du brûlage dirigé couvre une superficie totale d’environ 215 hectares, et le site montre maintenant très peu d’activité. On s’attend tout de même à ce que le feu continue à couver dans quelques endroits isolés au cours des prochaines semaines, mais ces poches isolées de feu couvant sont circonscrites par des limites naturelles et s’éteindront d’elles-mêmes dès que les températures refroidiront.

Le site du lac Cascade, caractérisé par une forêt mixte qui s’étend sur 1 000 hectares, a fait l’objet de quatre opérations distinctes au cours des dernières années. L’équipe de gestion du feu de Pukaskwa est maintenant près d’atteindre son but, à savoir la régénération de 65 % du site. Ces brûlages permettront d’améliorer la santé et la biodiversité de l’écosystème.

Quatre incendies causés par la foudre sont encore en activité dans les limites du parc. Trois se situent au sommet des crêtes dans des secteurs éloignés de la zone côtière du parc, et le quatrième se trouve à l’intérieur du parc. Les plus gros incendies (nos 1 et 2) évoluent le long de la côte et font 15 hectares chacun. Les deux autres couvrent moins d’un hectare de superficie chacun. Ces feux montrent également peu de signes de propagation et continueront à couver jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient définitivement éteints par des éléments naturels. L’équipe de gestion du feu de Pukaskwa continuera de surveiller de près les conditions d’humidité de la biomasse forestière afin de s’assurer que ces conditions demeurent optimales pour que les incendies s’éteignent d’eux-mêmes.

En raison de l'isolement géographique de ces feux, il n'y a aucun risque aux visiteurs du parc ou à la propriété.
 
EMPLACEMENTS GÉOGRAPHIQUES – CARTE ANNEXÉE
  • Lac Cascade
    • à 80 kilomètres à l'ouest de Wawa
    • à 72 kilomètres au sud-est de Marathon
    • à 68 kilomètres de White River
    • à 10 kilomètres du Lac Supérieur

Contactez-nous!


Les équipes d’incendie poursuivent leur surveillance des trois autres feux de foudre ainsi que le site du brûlage dirigé au lac Cascade.
© Parcs Canada

Heron Bay, Ontario, le 12 septembre 2012 – Un autre petit feu déclenché par la foudre a été identifié dans le parc national Pukaskwa tôt mercredi matin. Ce feu, situé près de la frontière nord du parc est actuellement en cours d’évaluation. Le plus grand de ces feux de foudre est de 10 hectares et le plus petit est de 0,1 hectare. Tous les quatre feux sont situés dans des régions éloignées du parc et en raison de cet isolement géographique, ils ne présentent aucun risque aux visiteurs du parc ou à la propriété. Les équipes d’incendie poursuivent leur surveillance des trois autres feux de foudre ainsi que le site du brûlage dirigé au lac Cascade.

Le brûlage dirigé au lac Cascade a été commencé le 10 septembre 2012 à l’aide d’un hélicoptère équipé d’un dispositif d’allumage aérien. Le feu est circonscrit à l’intérieur de limites naturelles définies, et couvre une superficie d’environ 300 hectares. Le site du brûlage dirigé est toujours actif et continuera à couver pendant toute la fin de semaine.

La fumée dérivante des feux est prévue se poursuivre pendant les prochains jours. Il se peut que la fumée soit visible par certaines personnes, et que dans certaines régions, en fonction de la direction du vent, il se peut que d’autres puissent également sentir la fumée.

Les feux irréprimés et les brûlages dirigés font partie du cycle du renouvellement forestier sain.

Contactez-nous!


L’équipe d’incendie du parc national Pukaskwa a identifié 5 feux causés par l’activité de foudroiement récente.
© Parcs Canada

Heron Bay, Ontario, le 10 septembre 2012 – L’équipe d’incendie du parc national Pukaskwa a identifié 5 feux causés par l’activité de foudroiement récente. Trois d’entre eux ont été éteints et les autres sont sous la surveillance de notre spécialiste en gestion des incendies. Ces feux sont situés sur des crêtes et le potentiel de propagation est limité. D’autre part, le plus grand de ces « feux disséminés » est d’environ 3 hectares.

Le parc national Pukaskwa dispose d’une équipe d’experts en matière de feu qui surveille le parc continuellement pour toute activité du feu. Tous les incendies sont évalués afin de déterminer la solution la plus appropriée en fonction de la sécurité humaine, des objectifs de gestion des écosystèmes, des coûts économiques et de la protection des installations.

Compte tenu des conditions météorologiques, l’équipe de Pukaskwa évalue actuellement le potentiel pour l’allumage de deux brûlages dirigés, dont un près du mont Tip Top et l’autre au lac Cascade.

Les feux irréprimés et les brûlages dirigés font partie du cycle du renouvellement forestier sain.

En raison de l'isolement géographique de ces feux, il n'y a aucun risque aux visiteurs du parc ou à la propriété.

Contactez-nous!