Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

Restoring Fire at Pukaskwa National Park

Aerial view of the western boundary of the Tip Top prescribed fire site Aerial view of the western boundary of the Tip Top prescribed fire site
© Parks Canada
Aerial Ignition Device Operator, Derek Bedford, viewing the fire from the helicopter. In the metal container are the ignition balls used to start the fire
Aerial Ignition Device Operator, Derek Bedford, viewing the fire from the helicopter. In the metal container are the ignition balls used to start the fire

© Parks Canada

Flames engulfing spruce trees in the mixedwood forest at the Tip Top prescribed fire site Flames engulfing spruce trees in the mixedwood forest at the Tip Top prescribed fire site
© Parks Canada

Prescribed Fire Ignited at Pukaskwa National Park

HERON BAY, ONTARIO, September 12, 2011 – Parks Canada fire management staff at Pukaskwa National Park ignited the Tip Top prescribed fire from the air over a period of three days – September 10, 11 and 12. Fire control is being maintained and there have been no escapes beyond the fire line. Park staff continue to monitor the Tip Top prescribed fire.

The fire is gradually spreading as planned through the understory of the forest in the contained area, and will continue to burn until a significant rainfall occurs. The Tip Top prescribed area covers 1,200 hectares in a spruce-birch forest, approximately 85 kilometres west of Wawa, 65 kilometres southeast of Marathon. To date, fire has been applied to approximately 500 hectares within this area.

The overall objective of this project is to improve the health and structure of Pukaskwa National Park’s boreal forest ecosystem using fire, a natural process essential for maintaining biodiversity in the park.

Planning for prescribed fires takes into consideration all the precautions necessary to contain the fire in the prescribed fire zone. Containing the Tip Top fire within the boundary is being done by a combination of methods including natural barriers and favourable weather conditions. Fire control is being maintained using trained and experienced fire management staff.

For safety reasons the general public is not allowed near the fire area.


Prescribed fire planned near Tip Top Mountain

HERON BAY, ONTARIO, September 9, 2011 – Parks Canada plans to conduct a 1200-hectare prescribed fire near Tip Top Mountain in Pukaskwa National Park between September 10 and 30, weather permitting.

The Tip Top prescribed fire covers 1,200 hectares in a spruce-birch forest, approximately 85 kilometres west of Wawa, 65 kilometres southeast of Marathon.

The overall objective of this project is to improve the health and structure of Pukaskwa National Park’s boreal forest ecosystem using fire, a natural process essential for maintaining biodiversity in the park.

The fire will be set by helicopters equipped with an aerial ignition device, but ground crews using hand-held drip torches may also be called upon. Planning for the fire takes into consideration all the precautions necessary to contain the fire in the prescribed fire boundary. Fire control will be maintained using trained and experienced fire management staff.

For safety reasons the general public will not be allowed near the burn area.

GEOGRAPHIC LOCATION OF THE PRESCRIBED FIRE:

  • Tip Top Mountain
  • 85 kilometres west of Wawa
  • 65 kilometres southeast of Marathon
  • 70 kilometres from White River
  • 8 kilometres from Lake Superior

PRESCRIBED FIRE at Pukaskwa National Park
Click here for more information about Prescribed Fires at Pukaskwa

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

Restaurer le feu au parc National Pukaskwa

Vue aérienne de la limite ouest du site de brûlage dirigé  près du mont Tip Top Vue aérienne de la limite ouest du site de brûlage dirigé près du mont Tip Top
© Parcs Canada
Derek Bedford, opérateur du dispositif d'allumage aérien, observe le feu à partir de l'hélicoptère. Le contenant de métal contient les boules d'allumage qui servent à déclencher le feu
Derek Bedford, opérateur du dispositif d'allumage aérien, observe le feu à partir de l'hélicoptère. Le contenant de métal contient les boules d'allumage qui servent à déclencher le feu
© Parcs Canada

Les flammes envahissent les épinettes dans la forêt mixte du site de brûlage dirigé près du mont Tip Top Les flammes envahissent les épinettes dans la forêt mixte du site de brûlage dirigé près du mont Tip Top
© Parcs Canada

UN BRÛLAGE DIRIGÉ EST ALLUMÉ AU PARC NATIONAL PUKASKWA

HERON BAY (ONTARIO), 12 septembre 2011 – Le personnel de gestion du feu du parc national du Canada Pukaskwa a déclenché un brûlage dirigé aérien près du mont Tip Top sur une période de trois jours – les 10, 11 et 12 septembre. Le feu est maîtrisé et il n’y a pas eu de feu échappé au-delà de la ligne d’arrêt. Le personnel du parc continu de surveiller le brûlage dirigé près du mont Tip Top.

Le feu s’étend graduellement dans le sous-bois de la forêt dans l’aire restreinte et se poursuivra jusqu’à ce que des précipitations importantes surviennent. Le brûlage dirigé près du mont Tip Top couvre une surface de 1 200 hectares dans une forêt mixte d’épicéa et de bouleau, située à environ 85 kilomètres à l’ouest de Wawa et à 65 kilomètres au sud-est de Marathon. Jusqu’à ce jour, le brûlage dirigé a été appliqué à quelque 500 hectares de l’aire visée.

L’objectif principal de ce brûlage est d’améliorer la santé et la structure de l’écosystème de la forêt boréale du parc national Pukaskwa à l’aide du feu, un processus naturel essentiel au maintien de la biodiversité du parc.

Dans la planification des brûlages dirigés, toutes les précautions nécessaires sont prises pour éviter que le feu ne se propage aux zones environnantes. Le maintien du feu à l’intérieur des limites établies se fait de diverses façons, dont des obstacles naturels et des conditions météorologiques favorables. Le contrôle du feu est assuré par du personnel entraîné et expérimenté dans la gestion des incendies.

Pour des raisons de sécurité, le grand public n'a pas accès au lieu où est mené le brûlage.



Un feu dirigé est prévu près du mont Tip Top

HERON BAY (ONTARIO), 9 septembre 2011 – Entre les 10 et 30 septembre, si les conditions météorologiques le permettent, l’Agence Parcs Canada prévoit procéder à un brûlage dirigé sur 1200 hectares près du mont Tip Top dans le parc national Pukaskwa.

Le brûlage dirigé près du mont Tip Top couvre une superficie de 1 200 hectares dans une forêt mixte d'épicéa et de bouleau, située à environ 85 kilomètres à l'ouest de Wawa, à 65 kilomètres au sud-est de Marathon.

Le but global de ce brûlage dirigé est d’améliorer la santé et la structure de l’écosystème de la forêt boréale du parc national Pukaskwa à l’aide du feu, un processus naturel essentiel au maintien de la biodiversité du parc.

Le feu sera allumé par hélicoptères munis d’un dispositif d’allumage aérien, mais on pourra faire appel à des équipes au sol utilisant des lance-flammes portatifs à action localisée. Dans la planification de ce brûlage dirigé, toutes les précautions nécessaires ont été prises pour éviter que le feu ne se propage aux zones environnantes. Le contrôle du feu sera assuré par du personnel entraîné et expérimenté dans la gestion des incendies.

Pour des raisons de sécurité, le grand public n'aura pas accès au lieu où est mené le brûlage.

EMPLACEMENT GÉOGRAPHIQUE DU BRÛLAGE DIRIGÉ :

  • Mont Tip Top
  • 85 kilomètres à l’ouest de Wawa
  • 65 kilomètres au sud-est de Marathon
  • 70 kilomètres de la rivière White
  • 8 kilomètres du lac Supérieur 

 

Le brûlage dirigé du parc national Pukaskwa
Le brûlage dirigé au parc national Pukaskwa