Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

Updated: Coastal Hiking Trail and White River Paddling Route

Coastal Trail and White River Paddling Route Closures to Allow for Construction and Upgrades

Coastal Hiking Trail and White River Paddling Route
Coastal Trail and White River Paddling Route
© Parks Canada

Large-scale investments have been made in Pukaskwa National Park to replace two suspension bridges and upgrade visitor facilities along the Coastal Hiking Trail. These investments will enhance the visitor experience in Pukaskwa National Park for generations to come. This work reflects a commitment from Parks Canada to ensure the Coastal Hiking Trail will remain one of Canada's premier backpacking experiences.

To ensure your safety as bridges are removed and rebuilt, Parks Canada has closed the Coastal Hiking Trail and a portion of the White River Paddling Route through Pukaskwa National Park while crews, aircraft and equipment finish the work.

The Coastal Hiking Trail and White River Paddling Route will re-open July 15, 2011. Reservations are now being accepted. Please contact the park for more information or assistance in planning your trip, call (807) 229-0801.

Campsites at Playter Harbour, Morrison Harbour, and the mouth of the White River all remain open to watercraft access. Other visitor facilities, including the Hattie Cove Campground, Visitor Centre, day hiking trails, the Coastal Paddling Route and Pukaskwa River Route all remain open.

Click here for Coastal Hiking Trail and bridge construction updates!

Thank you for your support and understanding.

Contact us!

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

Piste côtière et parcours de canotage de la rivière White

Fermeture de la Piste côtière et du parcours de canotage de la rivière White aux fins de construction et d’amélioration

Coastal Hiking Trail and White River Paddling Route || Piste côtière et parcours de canotage de la rivière White 
Piste côtière et parcours de canotage de la rivière White
© Parcs Canada

D’importants investissements ont été réalisés dans le parc national Pukaskwa en vue de remplacer deux ponts suspendus et d’améliorer les installations le long de la Piste côtière. Ces investissements permettront de rehausser la qualité de l’expérience du visiteur dans le parc national Pukaskwa pour des générations à venir. Ces travaux démontrent l’engagement de Parcs Canada à veiller à ce que la Piste côtière demeure une destination de choix au Canada pour les amateurs de grande randonnée pédestre.

Afin d’assurer votre sécurité pendant l’enlèvement et la reconstruction des ponts, qui sont réalisés par des équipes de travail à l’aide d’aéronefs et d’équipement, Parcs Canada a fermér provisoirement la Piste côtière et une partie du parcours de canotage de la rivière White qui passe dans le parc national Pukaskwa.

La Piste côtière et le parcours de canotage de la rivière White rouvriront le 15 juillet 2011. Nous acceptons dès maintenant les réservations. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou de l’aide pour planifier votre séjour, veuillez appeler au parc au 807-229-0801.

Les emplacements de camping situés au havre Playter, au havre Morrison et à l’embouchure de la rivière White demeureront accessibles aux embarcations. Les autres installations destinées aux visiteurs, y compris le terrain de camping de l’anse Hattie, le centre d’accueil, les sentiers de randonnée diurne et les parcours de canotage le long de la côte et de la rivière Pukaskwa, demeureront ouvertes.

Nouvelles sur la piste côtière et la construction des ponts - cliquez ici!

Nous vous remercions de votre appui et de votre compréhension.

Contactez-nous!