Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

We're in This Together: First Nations Interpretation at Pukaskwa National Park

Written by Charles Wilkins

The October sky is a dense mass of gun metal clouds, and an impatient breeze sweeps up from Lake Superior, scouring the headlands near Hattie Cove in Pukaskwa National Park. Proddy Goodchild makes his way gingerly over weathered granite to the crest of the park's Southern Headland Trail. His gait is slowed by knees that have absorbed too many body checks on the outdoor rinks of his past, and his fingers have been reinvented by decades of work in the bush. But his gaze is as true as a child's as he stops at the trail's summit and surveys a spread of land and water that he has known for more than sixty years.

There is evidence that Goodchild's ancestors, the local Anishinabe, have known the same land and water for some thirty centuries. And as Goodchild moves off down the trail, he muses on relations between the Anishinabe and a world that has too often misunderstood their way of life: "People of different cultures have always had different ways of doing things," he says quietly (he says everything quietly). "What you have to realize is that at heart we're not different, we're the same! We all have to make a living; we all need food; we all need shelter. The creator gives my people something to use, something to eat, he gives other people something else. But everybody gets something. The message I try to get across in the park is that we're one big family doing the best we can to survive, and that we have to work together."

Goodchild stops at a balsam tree, stunted by Superior's fabled wrath and examines its needles. A pair of fellow hikers stops beside him on the trail. In response to their questions, he tells them what he knows of how spruce and balsam boughs were used to cushion and insulate the floors of the wigwams and shelters of the past. Besides making things cosy, he explains, the boughs kept out "spiders, frogs, snakes, mice, chipmunks -- anything that didn't like the sharpness of the needles."

Asked about native use of spruce root and bark, he reflects for a moment and says, "I don't know about those things". Suddenly he is laughing. "I guess I could say just about anything , and you might be convinced. But if you really want to learn about something you can't rely on what people say. You have to observe, be patient, try to understand."

Protheus "Proddy" Goodchild is a member of the Pic River First Nation at Heron Bay, Ontario about halfway between Sault Ste. Marie and Thunder Bay, and he sees as much of nearby Pukaskwa National Park as just about anyone. As a boy during the 1940s, he and his brothers hunted, trapped and picked berries with their father on what would eventually become park land. Two years after Pukaskwa was created in 1978, he joined the park staff, one of a dozen or more aboriginal employees. Among varied responsibilities, he worked with others to create a 60 km hiking trail along Superior's rocky coastline. He spent months in the woods cutting a break along the park's 90km land boundary, work that echoed his days as a timber cutter for the pulp and paper company in nearby Marathon.

Then last summer he was invited to join Pukaskwa's First Nations Interpretation program. "I was really excited when Proddy started working with us," enthuses Nancy Wawia, head of Native Interpretation at Pukaskwa, "because I knew him as a person who, even in casual conversation, always had something really good to share."

One of the main purposes of the Native program, according to Robin Heron Promaine, the park's chief interpreter, is to demonstrate to visitors that Anishnabe culture is "alive, not static, not just something from the past. It's still a vital, spiritual and social way of life."

Proddy Goodchild
Proddy Goodchild
© Parks Canada / Pukaskwa National Park Collection

During the summer of 1996, Goodchild appeared at scheduled interpretive programs at Hattie Cove in the northwest corner of the vast park, which takes in nearly 2000 square kilometres of undisturbed boreal forest. "Proddy's such an eloquent speaker," says Wawia. "I'd be amazed because we'd never rehearse anything for these sessions. I'd just say 'Talk about whatever you want, or 'Why don't you bring something you own and use it as a lesson? That's all I'd have to say. He'd come and everything would just flow. The people were so respectful of him, had such a keen interest. They'd ask really good questions."

One morning, Goodchild brought his ceremonial drum to the beach. "He sang a song his dad had taught him about beaver," says Wawia, "and we talked about the drum, the importance of the circle--we see our whole culture in terms of circles. The seasons. Life and death. The spirit. The songs themselves are significant--the oral message passed down from generation to generation."

Like all true teachers, Goodchild conveys his messages most effectively when he can do so by example. "That's the way my father taught," he says. "He wouldn't push; he'd just show you, and then it was up to you."

Robin Heron Promaine recalls an afternoon on which she and Goodchild led a group of local children on an interpretive hike in the park woods. She says, "We wanted to show them some practical skills and at the same time talk about traditional values--self-esteem, humility, that sort of thing." At one point, she explains, Goodchild showed the children how to set a rabbit snare then later how to make camp and get a cook fire going. "Through the whole thing, he didn't really say much," says Heron Promaine. "He just went about his business, and the kids kind of gravitated to what he was doing. They were amazed when he pitched camp-- one moment there was nothing, the next he had his shelter up, his stuff all spread out, his little kitchen going."

"I can't tell anybody anything," says Goodchild. "To learn from me or from anyone else, people have to want to know; to watch; to listen."

Those who do want to know something about Anishnabe culture and values -- even to set a snare or get a cook fire going-- could certainly do worse that to watch and to listen to Proddy Goodchild.

(...Charles Wilkins is a writer living and working in Thunder Bay. He prepared this article in cooperation with the staff of Pukaskwa National Park...)

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

« Nous sommes tous solidaires » L'interprétation des premières nations au Parc National Pukawskwa

Par Charles Wilkins

Sous les nuages plombés du ciel d'octobre, une brise impatiente souffle du lac Supérieur, balayant les hauteurs près de Hattie Cove, dans le parc national Pukaskwa. Proddy Goodchild avance à pas prudents sur le granite désagrégé, jusqu'à la crête du sentier Southern Headland. Ses genoux, qui ont absorbé trop de mises en échec sur les patinoires extérieures de sa jeunesse, ralentissent sa marche, et ses doigts déformés témoignent des longues années qu'il a passées à travailler dans les bois. Mais, lorsqu'il s'arrête au sommet du sentier, c'est un regard d'enfant qu'il pose sur cette étendue d'eau et de terre qu'il connaît depuis plus de soixante ans.

Les ancêtres de Goodchild, les Anishinabes, ont laissé des traces dans cette région où ils ont vécu pendant quelque trente siècles. Tandis qu'il redescend le sentier, Goodchild médite sur les relations entre les Anishinabes et un monde qui s'est trop souvent mépris sur leur mode de vie : « les gens de cultures différentes ont toujours eu des façons différentes de faire les choses, » dit-il doucement (il n'élève jamais la voix). « Il faut bien comprendre qu'au fond, nous ne sommes pas différents, nous sommes tous pareils! Nous devons tous gagner notre vie; nous avons tous besoin de manger; nous avons tous besoin d'un abri. Le Créateur donne à mon peuple de quoi se servir, de quoi manger; aux autres, il donne autre chose. Mais chacun a sa part. Ce que j'essaie d'expliquer au parc, c'est que nous formons tous une grande famille qui fait de son mieux pour survivre, et que nous devons coopérer. »

Goodchild s'arrête près d'un sapin baumier rabougri, victime des vents cruels du lac Supérieur, et en examine les aiguilles. Deux autres randonneurs le rejoignent sur le sentier. Répondant à leurs questions, il leur raconte comment on utilisait jadis les branches maîtresses des épinettes et des baumiers pour recouvrir et isoler le sol dans les wigwams et les abris. En plus d'apporter du confort, explique-t-il, les branches éloignaient « araignées, grenouilles, serpents, souris, tamias ... tout ce qui n'aimait pas le piquant des aiguilles. »

Quand on lui demande comment les Autochtones utilisaient les racines et l'écorce de l'épinette, il réfléchit un moment avant de répondre « Je ne sais pas. » Soudain, il éclate de rire. « Je pourrais vous dire n'importe quoi, et vous me croiriez. Mais si vous voulez vraiment apprendre, ne vous fiez pas à ce que les gens disent. Observez, soyez patients, efforcez-vous de comprendre. »

Protheus « Proddy » Goodchild fait partie de la Première nation de la rivière du Pic, à Heron Bay, Ontario, à mi-chemin environ entre Sault Ste. Marie et Thunder Bay. Il connaît le parc Pukaskwa mieux que quiconque. Dans les années 1940, alors qu'il était encore enfant, il s'adonnait avec ses frères à la chasse, au piégeage et à la cueillette des baies sur les terres qui sont plus tard devenues parc national. Deux ans après l'établissement du parc Pukaskwa, en 1978, il s'est joint au personnel du parc, qui comptait plus d'une douzaine d'employés autochtones. Il a entre autres collaboré à l'aménagement d'un sentier de randonnée de 60 km le long de la rive rocheuse du lac Supérieur. Il a passé des mois dans les bois à défricher un couloir le long des 90 km formant la limite intérieure du parc, un travail qui lui rappelait sans doute l'époque où il était bûcheron à l'usine de pâte et papier de Marathon, tout près.

Puis, l'été dernier, on l'a invité à participer au programme d'interprétation autochtone de Pukaskwa. « J'étais vraiment très excitée quand Proddy a commencé à travailler avec nous, » affirme Nancy Wawia, chef des services d'interprétation autochtone à Pukaskwa, « car je savais que, même dans les échanges les plus courants, il a toujours quelque chose de vraiment intéressant à partager. »

L'un des buts principaux du programme autochtone, d'après Robin Heron Promaine, interprète principale du parc, est de montrer aux visiteurs que la culture anishnabe est « vivante, et non statique, qu'elle n'appartient pas au passé. Elle correspond toujours à un mode de vie actif, spirituel et social. »

Proddy Goodchild
Proddy Goodchild
© Parcs Canada / Collection parc national Pukaskwa

Durant l'été de 1996, Goodchild a participé à des séances d'interprétation à horaire fixe sur la plage Horseshoe, près de Hattie Cove, dans le coin nord-ouest du parc, qui compte près de 2000 km² de forêt boréale intacte. « Proddy est si convaincant, » dit Wawia. « J'étais ébahie, car nous n'avions jamais rien répété pour ces séances. Je disais simplement "Parle de ce qui te tente", ou "Pourquoi n'apporte-tu pas quelque-chose qui t'appartiens et ne t'en sers-tu pas pour donner ta leçon?" C'est tout ce que j'avais à dire. Il venait et tout se passait comme par magie. Les gens avaient tant de respect à son égard, ils s'intéressaient tant à ce qu'il disait. Ils posaient aussi de très bonnes questions. »

Un matin, Goodchild a apporté son tambour de cérémonie à la plage. « Il a chanté un chant sur le castor, que son père lui avait appris, » dit Wawia, « et il a parlé du tambour, de l'importance du cercle -- toute notre culture est basée sur des cercles. Les saisons. La vie et la mort. L'esprit. Le tambour est un élément important de nos cérémonies. Les chants eux-mêmes sont importants -- ce sont des messages oraux, transmis de génération en génération. »

Comme tous les bons maîtres, c'est par l'exemple que Goodchild transmet le mieux son message. « C'est ainsi que mon père m'a appris, » dit-il. « Il n'exerçait aucune pression; il se contentait de montrer. Il fallait simplement suivre son exemple. »

Robin Heron Promaine se rappelle un après-midi où elle et Goodchild dirigeaient un groupe d'enfants anishnabes de la région lors d'une randonnée d'interprétation dans la forêt du parc. « Nous voulions leur enseigner quelques techniques et leur parler en même temps des valeurs traditionnelles -- estime de soi, humilité, ce genre de choses. » À un moment donné, explique-t-elle, Goodchild a montré aux enfants comment poser un collet à lièvre, puis comment monter un camp et allumer un feu. « Pendant tout ce temps, il n'a pas beaucoup parlé » dit Heron Promaine. « Il a fait ce qu'il avait à faire, et les enfants se sont mis à graviter autour de lui. Ils étaient stupéfaits lorsqu'il a monté le camp -- un moment il n'y avait rien, puis tout à coup, son abri était installé, son feu allumé, son matériel sorti, sa cuisine en place. »
« Je ne peux pas dire aux gens quoi faire, » dit Goodchild. « Pour apprendre de moi ou d'un autre, il faut vouloir apprendre; observer; écouter. »

Tous ceux qui veulent apprendre à connaître la culture et les valeurs anishnabes -- même pour poser un collet ou allumer un feu -- ont certainement intérêt à observer et à écouter Proddy Goodchild.

L'auteur, Charles Wilkins, vit et travaille à Thunder Bay. Il a rédigé cet article en collaboration avec les employés du parc national Pukaskwa.