Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

Gichi waawaabganonjii (Big Mouse) , the Sun and Anisbnaba, the Snare-Setter

There was once an anishnabe village full of anisbnaba people. One day, one anisbnaba told his family that he was going out to set some snares. So, he went out to set his snares.

The next day, it was time for daylight but no daylight came. The anishnabe village people knew something was wrong. The sun did not come up. It stayed dark. The anishnabe who had set snares the day before said, "I will go and look for my snares in the dark. Maybe I got something on my snares." So, he set out in the dark.

When he came to one of his snares, he said to himself, "Yes, I did get something in my snare!" He saw that he had caught the sun in his snare! Now, how could he free the sun? It was too hot to go cut the snare where the sun was caught, so the anishnabe went back to the village people.

"What happened," he said to them,"is that I caught the sun in my snare. That is why the sun cannot come up." They called a meeting, and everyone was asked to come. Even the animals and birds were called to the meeting. Everyone was told that someone had to go and free the sun.

Well, there was one mouse, this mouse was a big mouse. He was the biggest animal, and he was asked if he was willing to free the sun. He also had very sharp teeth, and he would have to chew the snare wire to free the sun.

"Okay," said the big mouse, "I will go and free the sun." So, he went. He came to the snare where the sun was caught. He started to chew the snare wire. Even though he was burning, he did not give up. He just kept on chewing snare wire until the sun was free. He was able to cut through the snare wire before he was all burned up.

Finally, the sun was free and it was daylight again. The tiny mouse we see today, it is the mouse that freed the sun from the snare. He was a big mouse. That is how much he burned from before he was able to free the sun. Now he is the smallest animal there is. The rainbow that we see, that is the anishnabe's snare that caught the sun.

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

Gichi waawaabganonjii (Grosse souris), le soleil et Anisbnabe, le poseur de collets

Il était une fois un village anishnabe où vivaient de nombreux Anisbnabes. Un jour, un Anisbnabe dit à sa famille qu'il sortait tendre des collets. Il sortit donc tendre ses collets.

Le lendemain, à l'heure où le jour devait apparaître, il n'y eut pas de jour. Les habitants du village savaient que quelque chose n'allait pas. Le soleil ne se levait pas. Il continuait de faire noir. L'Anishnabe qui avait installé des collets la veille dit : «Je vais aller voir mes collets dans le noir. Peut-être ai-je attrapé quelque chose.» Alors, il sortit dans le noir.

Arrivé à un de ses collets, il se dit : «Oh, mais j'ai vraiment attrapé quelque chose avec mon collet!» En effet, il avait attrapé le soleil! Comment faire pour le libérer? Là où le soleil était pris au collet, la chaleur était trop forte pour que l'Anishnabe puisse couper le collet, alors il revint vers les gens de son village.

«Voici ce qui est arrivé,» leur dit-il, «j'ai attrapé le soleil avec mon collet. C'est pour ça que le soleil ne peut plus se lever. » Ils décidèrent de tenir une réunion à laquelle tous furent convoqués. On demanda à chacun de venir. Même aux animaux et aux oiseaux. On leur dit qu'il fallait que quelqu'un aille libérer le soleil.

Or, il y avait une souris, une grosse souris. C'était le plus gros des animaux, et on lui demanda si elle voulait aller libérer le soleil. La souris avait des dents acérées et pouvait gruger le collet pour libérer le soleil.

«D'accord,» dit la grosse souris. «Je vais aller libérer le soleil.» Alors, elle partit. Elle arriva au collet dans lequel le soleil était pris. Elle se mit à gruger le collet. Même si ça brûlait, elle continua de gruger. Elle grugea la collet jusqu'à ce que le soleil soit libre. Elle réussit à gruger le collet avant d'être complètement consumée par le feu.

Au bout du compte, le soleil fut libéré et le jour put se lever. La petite souris qu'on voit aujourd'hui, c'est celle qui a libéré le soleil de son collet. Avant, elle était grosse, mais elle a fondu avant d'arriver à libérer le soleil. Maintenant, c'est le plus petit animal qui existe. L'arc-en-ciel, lui, c'est le collet qui avait servi à capturer le soleil.