Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park of Canada

Winter Exploration

Winter Exploration at Pukaskwa National Park
Winter Exploration at Pukaskwa National Park
© Parks Canada

Looking for a winter adventure? Pukaskwa’s waiting for you! Park at the winter gate located two kilometres before the campground and hike, ski, or snowshoe your way into the park.

Looking for a winter adventure?  Pukaskwa is waiting for you! Looking for a winter adventure? Pukaskwa is waiting for you!
© Parks Canada

Visitor Centre

Soak in the spectacular views of Hattie Cove, tap into the free Wi-Fi, and sip a cup of coffee all from the warmth of the Visitor Centre. The Centre is open for special events during the winter. If you’re interested in bringing a group for a winter adventure, please call the park at 807-229-0801.

Cross-Country Ski

A four kilometre, groomed loop starts at the winter gate and winds towards Hattie Cove and the Visitor Centre.

Snowshoe

Explore the park’s trails and beaches under the cover of snow. Follow the tracks made by fox, snowshoe hare, muskrat, and otters that play here year round.

Camp

Go for it – with a little bit of work, you can have the whole campground to yourselves! Register and leave your vehicle at the winter gate before making your way down to the campground for a spectacular adventure. The water is off, but electricity and portable toilets are available. 

Exercise caution regarding exposure to the elements. The park is a cold environment prone to rapid weather changes. Be aware of the effects of hypothermia, dehydration, and over-exertion. Know your limitations and take the necessary precautions. Remember - you are responsible for your own safety.

During week days, feel free to drop by the Park's Administration Office to chat with Park staff.  They can help you plan your outing, update you on conditions, and would love to hear of your experience before you head home.

Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa

Exploration hivernale

Exploration hivernale au Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa
Exploration hivernale au Parc national du Canada Pukaskwa
© Parks Canada

Vous êtes à la recherche d’une activité hivernale captivante? Pukaskwa vous attend! Garez votre voiture à la barrière située à deux kilomètres avant le terrain de camping puis explorez le parc à pied, en skis ou en raquettes.

Vous êtes à la recherche d’une activité hivernale captivante? Pukaskwa vous attend! Vous êtes à la recherche d’une activité hivernale captivante? Pukaskwa vous attend!
© Parks Canada

Centre d’accueil

Admirez la vue imprenable de l’anse Hattie, profitez de l’accès Wi-Fi gratuit et sirotez un café dans le confort du centre d’accueil. Ce dernier est ouvert pour la tenue d’activités spéciales l’hiver. Si vous aimeriez amener un groupe vivre une aventure hivernale dans le parc, appelez au 807-229-0801.

Ski de fond

Une boucle entretenue de quatre kilomètres débute à la barrière du parc et serpente jusqu’à l’anse Hattie et au centre d’accueil.

Raquette

Explorez les sentiers et les plages couverts de neige. Suivez les pistes laissées par les renards, les lièvres d’Amérique, les rats musqués et les loutres qui s’amusent dans le parc en toutes saisons.

Camping

Allez-y, essayez-le! Un peu de travail et vous aurez le terrain de camping à vous seuls! Inscrivez-vous et laissez votre véhicule près de la barrière avant de partir à l’aventure dans le terrain de camping. Il n’y a pas d’eau courante, mais vous aurez accès à l’électricité et à des toilettes portatives.

Soyez attentif lorsque vous vous exposez aux éléments. Le parc est un milieu froid sujet à de rapides changements de température. Soyez conscient des risques d'hypothermie, de déshydratation et d'épuisement physique. Sachez reconnaître vos limites et prenez les précautions nécessaires. Rappelez-vous – vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité.

En semaine, n'hésitez pas à vous présenter au bureau de l'administration du parc et à entamer une conservation avec le personnel du parc. Les employés peuvent vous aider à planifier votre promenade et vous fournir les dernières conditions météorologiques. Ils  seront heureux d'entendre parler de votre expérience avant que vous ne retourniez à la maison.