Common menu bar links

Pukaskwa National Park

Recreation

Picnicking

Pukaskwa's day use area, by the Visitor Centre, is a nice place to have lunch with the family beside the sparkling waters of Hattie Cove. This area is open and sunny and has several picnic tables. While in the area, explore the fire circle and Anishinaabe Camp spaces. The washroom facilities are also conveniently nearby. Stroll onto the shoreline or hike the Southern Headland Trail for a nice view of the cove!

Paddling

Hattie Cove is a great place to spend the day paddling. Bii to bii gong is the Anishinaabe name for Hattie Cove and means water between two rocks. This protected cove, even on Lake Superior’s roughest days, remains calm for beginner and expert paddlers alike. Pack a picnic lunch and explore the Hattie Cove wetlands or simply float around for an afternoon! If you are looking for a greater paddling challenge, on a calm day, venture out to Pulpwood Harbour, located just outside Hattie Cove. Pulpwood Harbour is a stunning place full of islands and inlets to explore. When considering this adventure, be sure to check weather conditions and be prepared for Lake Superior’s changing moods.

Canoe/Stand-Up Paddle Board (SUP) Rentals

Rent a canoe or SUP from the park Kiosk, available in full day or half day increments. Full day (more than 5 hours) costs $41 and half day (5 hours or less) costs $20.50. The rental fee includes 1 paddle for the SUP and 2 paddles for canoes, a safety kit and life jackets for all persons in the rental party. To rent a canoes/SUPs you must be 18+ years of age. All persons under age 18 must be accompanied with an adult. Visitors are welcome to reserve a canoe ahead of time at the park Kiosk. For more information, please download our Canoe/SUP rental program booklet.

Fishing

Drop a line and test out your angling skills! Pukaskwa’s clean and fresh waters are a great place to fish for pike, walleye (pickerel) and trout. When fishing, make sure your line is clean and consider catch and release using barbless hooks.

Fish, worms, leaches or other live bait may not be used or possessed to be used as bait in Pukaskwa National Park. Lead sinkers and other lead materials are also prohibited from use.

Ontario Fishing Regulations apply in Pukaskwa National Park. Fishing licences can be purchased in the local community of Marathon. For more information, please visit www.mnr.gov.on.ca.

Halfway Lake has naturally high levels of mercury. Eating fish caught in Halfway Lake is not recommended.

Boating

Sailing and boating are popular activities on Lake Superior. Fees must be paid by all boaters who plan to come ashore in Pukaskwa National Park. All boaters within Park waters are encouraged to register-in and register-out with the park office. Phone (807) 229-0801.

Motor boats are only permitted in areas accessible from Lake Superior. Motor boat access passed the Visitor Centre in Hattie Cove is not permitted. Overnight mooring is not permitted in Hattie Cove. To ensure shoreline protection and the safety of other boaters and paddlers, the White River is a no wake zone.

Pukaskwa is a remote area with no refuelling opportunities. Know the limits of your equipment since help can be far away. Being self-reliant is your key to a safe, enjoyable experience.

Cycling and Mountain Biking

Cyclists can travel on Highway 627 and on the campground roads. Bicycles are not permitted on any trails in Pukaskwa National Park.

Parc national Pukaskwa

Loisirs

Pique-niquer

Située à côté du centre d’information, l'aire de fréquentation diurne de Pukaskwa est un merveilleux endroit où pique-niquer en famille en bordure des eaux étincelantes de l'anse Hattie. Cette zone ouverte et ensoleillée compte plusieurs tables de pique-nique. Explorez-y le cercle de feu et les espaces du camp anishinaabe. Les toilettes se trouvent tout près. Baladez-vous sur le rivage ou sur le sentier de la Pointe Sud, où vous aurez une vue magnifique de l’anse!

Pagayer

L'anse Hattie est un excellent endroit où passer la journée à pagayer. Bii to bii gong, l'appellation anishinaabe de l'anse Hattie, signifie « eau entre deux roches ». Même lorsque le lac Supérieur se trouve à son plus haut niveau d'agitation, les eaux de cette anse protégée demeurent calmes autant pour les pagayeurs débutants que pour les pagayeurs aguerris. Explorez les zones humides de l'anse Hattie tout en pique-niquant ou voguez sur celle-ci le temps d'un après-midi! Si vous souhaitez vous attaquer à un défi de plus grande envergure, par temps calme, aventurez-vous sur le havre Pulpwood, situé tout juste à l'extérieur de l'anse Hattie. Le havre Pulpwood est un endroit d'une beauté saisissante où vous pourrez explorer d'innombrables îles et passages. Avant de vous lancer dans cette aventure, vérifiez les conditions météorologiques et préparez-vous à faire face aux humeurs changeantes du lac Supérieur.

Location de canots et de planches à rame

Louez un canot ou une planche à rame pour une journée ou une demi-journée, au kiosque du parc. Le coût de la location s'élève à 41 dollars pour une journée complète (plus de 5 heures) et à 20,50 dollars pour une demi-journée (5 heures ou moins). Les frais de location comprennent une pagaie pour la planche à rame et deux pagaies pour le canot ainsi qu'une trousse de sécurité et des gilets de sauvetage pour toutes les personnes du groupe effectuant la location. Il faut avoir au moins 18 ans pour pouvoir louer un canot ou une planche à rame. Toutes les personnes qui ont moins de 18 ans doivent être accompagnées d'un adulte. Les visiteurs peuvent réserver un canot à l'avance au kiosque du parc. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez télécharger le livret du programme de location de canots et de planches à rame.

Pêche

Lancez la ligne et mettez vos talents de pêcheur à l'épreuve! Les eaux douces limpides du parc national Pukaskwa s'avèrent idéales pour pêcher le brochet, le doré jaune et la truite. Assurez-vous que votre ligne est propre et utilisez des hameçons sans barbe pour la pêche avec remise à l’eau.

Il est interdit d'utiliser des poissons, des vers, des sangsues ou autres êtres vivants comme appâts ou d'en avoir en sa possession en vue d'une telle utilisation, au parc national Pukaskwa. Il est également interdit d'utiliser des articles en plomb (p. ex., des poids).

La réglementation régissant la pêche en Ontario s'applique au parc national Pukaskwa. Des permis de pêche sont en vente dans la collectivité locale de Marathon. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site www.mnr.gov.on.ca.

Le lac Halfway contient de fortes concentrations de mercure d'origine naturelle. Il n'est donc pas recommandé de manger du poisson pêché dans celui-ci.

La navigation de plaisance

La navigation de plaisance est une activité populaire sur le lac Supérieur. Tous les plaisanciers qui accostent au parc national Pukaskwa doivent payer des frais. Tous les plaisanciers qui naviguent sur les eaux du parc sont invités à s'enregistrer à leur arrivée et à leur départ, au bureau du parc. Téléphone : 807-229-0801.

Les bateaux à moteur ne sont autorisés que dans les zones accessibles à partir du lac Supérieur. Ils ne sont pas autorisés au-delà du centre d’information de l'anse Hattie. L'amarrage de nuit est interdit dans l'anse Hattie. Pour assurer la protection du rivage et la sécurité des autres plaisanciers et des pagayeurs, le sillage est interdit sur la rivière White.

Bicyclette et vélo de montagne

Les cyclistes peuvent rouler sur la route 627 et sur les routes du terrain de camping. Les vélos sont interdits dans les sentiers du parc national Pukaskwa