Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Hazards and Safety

Ticks and Lyme Disease

The black-legged tick has become firmly established at Point Pelee. This creature, which has spread to areas throughout North America, can carry a bacterium, which causes the Lyme disease.

Research to date suggests the risk of contracting Lyme disease at Point Pelee is very low. Through annual monitoring, the bacterium has now been detected at Point Pelee in a small percentage of the tick population.

Stages of Black-legged Tick (Actual Size)
Stages of Black-legged Tick (Actual Size)
© Parks Canada

While Lyme disease is not deadly, it can cause health problems if left untreated. To ensure that your risk of infection is minimized, make sure you and your pet remain on the designated trails. In addition, look for ticks on your body after a visit to any natural area. An infected tick can give you the disease if not removed within 24 to 48 hours.

Natural areas throughout North America which carry the risk of this disease continue to be enjoyed by millions of visitors each year. Play it safe when visiting Point Pelee and these other sites by simply using common sense.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Risques et sécurité

Les tiques et la maladie de Lyme

On a signalé une présence marquée de la tique occidentale à pattes noires au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Cette bibitte, maintenant répandue partout en Amérique du Nord, peut porter une bactérie qui cause la maladie de Lyme.

Les recherches menées à ce jour confirment que le risque d'attraper la maladie de Lyme à la pointe Pelée est très faible. Au cours de la surveillance annuelle, nous avons découvert qu'un petit pourcentage de la population de tiques du parc était affecté par la bactérie.

Stades de la tique occidentale à pattes noires (taille réelle)
Stades de la tique occidentale à pattes noires (taille réelle)
© Parks Canada

Bien que la maladie de Lyme ne soit pas mortelle, elle peut causer des problèmes de santé si elle n'est pas traitée. Pour minimiser les risques d'infection, ne quittez pas les sentiers balisés et ne permettez pas à votre animal domestique de s'en éloigner. De plus, examinez-vous après un passage dans une aire naturelle (cherchez des tiques.) Une tique infectée peut vous rendre malade si elle n'est pas retirée de la peau en moins de 24 à 48 heures.

Chaque année, des millions de visiteurs continuent de fréquenter des aires naturelles en Amérique du Nord entier où ils sont susceptibles de contracter la maladie. Soyez prudent lorsque vous visitez le parc national de la pointe Pelée et d'autres endroits.