Common menu bar links

Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Weather

Up-to-date weather information is available from Environment Canada .

Point Pelee lies within a climatic zone classified as humid continental. Rapid and non-periodic weather changes are characteristic of the zone that is strongly influenced by seasonal conflict between polar and tropical air masses. The climate of Southwestern Ontario is one of the most variable in Canada.

Surrounding Lake Erie greatly modifies the climate of the Park and exerts a stabilizing effect. In autumn, lake waters cool more slowly than the land and in spring, the land warms faster than the water. The influence of the lake is most evident during winter when low temperatures are raised above the average lows further inland. The mean January temperature of Leamington and Pelee Island is -3°C, (27°F) the warmest in Ontario.

Essex County has been jokingly called Canada's "banana belt." The label is probably an attempt to convince other Canadians, and maybe some Americans, that because Essex County doesn't have winter. Weather reports show however, that in an average year Windsor has 28 hours of blowing snow. Surprisingly, this is 13 hours more than Edmonton. So Essex County does have its winter, but on the whole it is shorter and milder than in most other areas of Canada.

The July mean temperature of 23°C (73°F) is the highest in Ontario. Lake Erie increases humidity in the region and humidity in the Park is probably greater than that experienced by the rest of Ontario.

Southwestern Ontario does not receive a large amount of precipitation (average 81 cm or 32 in.) annually. The Pacific coast receives 250 cm. (100 in.), and the driest part of Canada receives 18.8 cm.(7.4 in.). Point Pelee and Pelee Island record the fewest days receiving precipitation in the province - 75. The position of the Park, surrounded by lake waters, partly determines the amount of precipitation. Less rainfall is recorded over lakes and low-lying areas adjacent to lakes than is recorded inland.

Wind at Point Pelee prevails from the west at about 11-16 km/h (7-10 m.p.h.), however, because of the location of southern Ontario on cyclonic storm paths, winds are highly variable.

In southwestern Ontario, cloudiness reduces the amount of bright sunshine reaching the ground by about 50 percent of the possible total hours. In winter, the number of bright sunny days at ground level is reduced by 75 percent of the total possible.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Météo

Conditions météorologiques récentes avec Environnement Canada .

Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée se trouve dans une zone caractérisée par un climat continental humide. Cette zone fortement influencée par le choc saisonnier des masses d'air polaires et tropicales est marquée par des changements brusques et irréguliers du temps. Le sud-ouest de l'Ontario connaît l'un des climats les plus variables au Canada.

Le lac Érié modifie énormément le climat du parc, exerçant un effet stabilisateur. En automne, les eaux du lac se refroidissent moins vite que la terre et au printemps, la terre se réchauffe plus rapidement que l'eau. L'influence du lac est plus visible en hiver, alors que les températures minimales sont plus élevées que les minimums moyens enregistrés plus à l'intérieur des terres. La température moyenne en janvier à Leamington et à l'île Pelée est de -3 °C (27 °F), soit la plus chaude en Ontario.

On a surnommé à la blague le comté d'Essex la " ceinture de bananes du Canada ". Cette étiquette vise probablement à convaincre les Canadiens des autres provinces et peut-être même quelques Américains que le comté d'Essex n'a pas d'hiver. Cependant, d'après les observations météorologiques, chaque année Windsor subit en moyenne 28 heures de poudrerie. Fait surprenant, il s'agit de 13 heures de plus qu'à Edmonton. Le comté d'Essex a donc effectivement ses hivers, mais force est d'admettre qu'ils sont plus courts et plus doux que presque partout ailleurs au Canada.

La température moyenne en juillet est de 23 °C (73 °F), soit la plus élevée en Ontario. Le lac Érié augmente l'humidité dans la région et le taux d'humidité dans le parc est probablement plus élevé qu'ailleurs en Ontario.

Le sud-ouest de l'Ontario ne reçoit pas beaucoup de précipitations annuelles (81 cm / 32 po en moyenne). À titre indicatif, la côte du Pacifique en reçoit 250 cm (100 po) tandis que la région la plus sèche du Canada n'en reçoit que 18,8 cm (7,4 po). La pointe Pelée et l'île Pelée enregistrent le plus petit nombre de jours de précipitations dans la province, soit 75. Le fait que le parc soit entouré d'eau détermine en partie la quantité des précipitations, car on sait qu'il pleut moins au-dessus des lacs et des basses terres adjacentes qu'à l'intérieur des terres.

Les vents dominants à la pointe Pelée viennent de l'ouest et leur vitesse varie entre 11 et 16 km/h (7-10 mph); cependant, parce que le sud de l'Ontario se trouve dans la trajectoire des tempêtes cycloniques, les vents sont très variables.

Dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario, la nébulosité réduit l'insolation effective au sol d'environ 50%. En hiver, le nombre de jours ensoleillés au niveau du sol est réduit de 75%.