Point Pelee National Park of Canada

The Arrival of Migrants

The autumn migration of birds at Point Pelee is probably the most impressive in Canada.

Generally, migration takes place on a broad front and many migrants can be found over much of the countryside. In very few places will they become concentrated as at Pelee. It is usually at such places that we become aware of the very large numbers of birds taking part in migration.

Although the autumn migration is seemingly a more leisurely one than that of spring, these migrants generally, but not always, arrive at Pelee in intermittent waves. Observations at dawn (especially at the Tip) will disclose whether a wave of birds has arrived during the night.

High-flying nocturnal (night-time) migrants do not use landscapes as guides for navigation and undoubtedly a great number of these birds fly right over Pelee without seeing it or being attracted to it.

As a general rule, an hour or so before dawn, flying nocturnal migrants descent to a low altitude where they use landscape features as guides. It is during this predawn period that we observe the greatest bird movement, when arrivals are searching for suitable habitat for feeding and resting.

The diurnal (day-time) migrants arrive at Pelee in a different manner. They apparently come south until they reach Lake Erie, and then turn westward or eastward and follow the curvature of the shoreline to arrive at Pelee. There is good reason to believe that the majority of these birds are coming from the east.

By using Point Pelee as a stop-over station or a migration route the diurnal migrants gain certain important advantages. The use of Pelee, shortens slightly the flight across Lake Erie and defers for a time the necessity of flying over open water.

When the diurnal migrants arrive at Point Pelee they proceed down the and continue directly across the lake, or they may stay on the Point for varying lengths of time, depending on weather and other local conditions. From August through November, you can stand at the terminal area of Point Pelee National Park and actually see the diurnal migrants leaving the Point for their southward journey across Lake Erie and beyond. Experience has shown the best day for birds leaving the Tip (especially during August) are those with light south winds, high humidity, and generally hazy or overcast conditions. When winds are northerly or westerly, with associated clear skies, flights off the tip are more restricted, generally occurring from sunrise to about 9:00 a.m.; for the remainder of the day the birds are more concerned with feeding and resting. These early morning flights off the tip are, partially, the "tail end" of the previous night's migration.

Not all diurnal migrants fly south off the tip of Point Pelee. Although we see many broad-winged hawks, blue jays and bobolinks, for example, the vast majority nonetheless fly westward across the base of Point Pelee or further inland, to go around, rather than across, Lake Erie.

Blue jays, in particular, rarely cross the lake due to their vulnerability over water. The tens of thousands of jays, filling the skies at the tip in October, nearly all head northwest along the shoreline seeking a safer route. This dead-end phenomenon provides a puzzle to the unprepared observer!

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Arrivée des migrateurs

La migration automnale des oiseaux à la pointe Pelée est probablement la plus impressionnante au Canada.

En général, le front migratoire est très étendu et on peut observer des migrateurs dans toute la région. Toutefois il y très peu d'endroits où les concentrations sont aussi élevées qu'à la pointe Pelée et c'est en de tels lieux qu'on se rend compte du nombre incalculable d'oiseaux qui prennent part à la migration.

Bien que la migration automnale semble beaucoup moins frénétique que celle du printemps, les migrateurs de l'automne arrivent à la pointe Pelée en général, mais pas toujours, par vagues intermittentes. Les observations faites à l'aube (surtout à la Pointe) permettront de confirmer si une vague d'oiseaux est arrivée pendant la nuit.

Les migrateurs nocturnes de haut-vol ne se guident pas sur le relief et nombre d'entre eux passent au-dessus de la pointe Pelée sans même la voir ou sans y être attirés.

En règle générale, une heure ou deux avant l'aube, les migrateurs nocturnes descendent en basse altitude et se guident alors sur le relief. C'est pendant la période précédant l'aube que l'on peut observer le plus d'activité, lorsque les arrivants cherchent un habitat convenable pour se nourrir et se reposer.

Les migrateurs diurnes procèdent différemment. Ils se dirigent apparemment vers le sud jusqu'à ce qu'ils arrivent au lac Érié, puis bifurquent vers l'ouest ou vers l'est et suivent la courbe du rivage jusqu'à la pointe Pelée. Nous avons de bonnes raisons de croire que la majorité de ces oiseaux arrivent de l'est.

En se servant de la pointe Pelée comme escale ou comme couloir de migration, les migrateurs diurnes profitent de certains avantages importants. Le passage par la pointe Pelée raccourcit légèrement le vol au-dessus du lac Érié et retarde le moment où ils devront voler au-dessus d'une grande étendue d'eau.

Lorsque les migrateurs diurnes arrivent à la pointe Pelée, ils volent jusqu'à la pointe et traversent directement le lac, ou s'arrêtent à la pointe pour des périodes plus ou moins longues, selon le temps et d'autres conditions locales. Du mois d'août au mois de novembre, on peut se poster au bout du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée et voir les migrateurs diurnes quitter la pointe pour traverser le lac Érié et poursuivre leur voyage vers le sud. L'expérience a démontré que les meilleurs jours pour observer les départs de la pointe (surtout en août) sont ceux au cours desquels souffle un léger vent du sud, où l'humidité est élevée et où le ciel est voilé ou couvert. Lorsque les vents soufflent du nord ou de l'ouest et que le ciel est clair, les départs au bout de la pointe sont moins nombreux, et se produisent habituellement du lever du soleil jusque vers 9 heures; pendant le reste de la journée, les oiseaux sont occupés à se nourrir et à se reposer. Les envolées matinales au bout de la pointe sont composées en partie des retardataires de la migration de la nuit précédente.

Ce ne sont pas tous les migrateurs diurnes qui s'envolent vers le sud en passant par la pointe Pelée. Bien qu'un grand nombre de petites buses, de geais bleus et de goglus empruntent ce passage, la grande majorité d'entre eux volent vers l'ouest en traversant la pointe Pelée ou entrent davantage dans les terres, pour contourner le lac Érié plutôt que de le traverser.

Les geais bleus en particulier traversent rarement le lac en raison de leur vulnérabilité au-dessus de l'eau. Les dizaines de milliers de geais qui remplissent le ciel à la Pointe en octobre volent presque tous vers le nord-ouest le long du rivage à la recherche d'un parcours plus sûr. Ce phénomène de cul-de-sac est souvent un mystère pour les observateurs non avertis!